Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best book I have ever read
One of the best book I have ever read. This is hilarious, witty and the point is this is not from any entertainer or comedian, but from on the most brilliant mind the world has ever seen. This book is inspiring. I am lucky to have on in my collection.
Published 21 months ago by Shanto

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for some
Not exactly hilarous in my opinion, as some have suggested, but entertaining in the way that such a brilliant man was in so many ways a normal everyday Joe. Wonderful stories about a colorful life and extraordinary circumstances outline his attempt to understand human nature and whole range of characters he has met. It's not Dave Barry meets Einstein, but it is...
Published on Sept. 12 2003 by T. Jester


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best book I have ever read, July 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman (Paperback)
One of the best book I have ever read. This is hilarious, witty and the point is this is not from any entertainer or comedian, but from on the most brilliant mind the world has ever seen. This book is inspiring. I am lucky to have on in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always a pleasure to read, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman (Paperback)
I always was facinated by this physicist. I read many times is classics on physics. But never have quite the time to read thos little book. Now, It is a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Interesting, July 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman (Paperback)
This book is exactly what I was expecting. Interesting life stories from a great character, written in a very funny manner. It's also really inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, June 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An interesting glimpse into the mind of a brilliant, straightforward and honest thinker. I wish I could have had him as a teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable man!, Feb. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman (Paperback)
This was a great read. Feynman is a remarkable man, calls it as he sees it and he is pretty darn perceptive. Loved this book, recommended it to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain hilarious!, July 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman (Paperback)
I can't see why so many idiots give Feynman's books bad reviews and say "the guy is OVERRATED man!" These people are probably just jealous because Feynman was UNDOUBTEDLY the coolest smart-person who ever lived. Moreover, this is the book which provides conclusive proof of that fact. Anyone who says Feynman was overrated is blatantly wrong -- In fact, I have been interning at the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab, where I met a man named Don Thompson who actually met Feynman when he did his post-doctoral work at Caltech. As Don says, "Feynman was just as funny, brilliant, and vibrant as all the books and accounts say he was." So, buy this book, and don't believe all the idiots who give it bad reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational fascinating compilation of greatness, Nov. 1 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman (Paperback)
A compilation of chronologically lined-up short stories about Feynman's life, this book cannot be called an autobiography; we just get the « greatest hits ». We discover a really smart man through his relations with authority, art, science, religion, psychology, music and more. Feynman worked as a physicist but you don't find the typical introverted lab-coat nerd personality; instead we get to know a curious man with passions from lock picking to drums. Feynman mentions scientific stuff he works on to give context, but no more; we often forget he's a physicist (one of the most important physicists of the 20th Century, no less!): the book thus can be enjoyed by anybody, especially... you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy editing, Dec 17 2005
This is a great book (please refer to the reviews for the print edition), and here in this 10-CD set Raymond Todd does a great job reading it. But not all of the 11 1/2 hours are quite that great because a number of mistakes was done in the audio editing - we have instances both with some skipped material (so that the story is not quite coherent), and with a few words that appear twice on the audio track. While these mistakes are rare, they are very annoying. And this means the book does not really appear in "unabriged" form here as promised - you'll still have to get the printed book if you want to know what happens in that skipped section. We can only hope that Blackstone Audiobooks will do their homework for a second edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feynman up close and personal, May 20 2004
To borrow the phrase from MTV this is Feynman unplugged.
I really enjoyed his commencement talk that is last chapter in the book. He exhorts his listeners to create real empirically supportable results in their research. There is a new kind of scientist in our midst that I feel Dr. Feynman would have detested. This kind of scientist is less interested in the reality of what is being studied and more interested in advancing a certain agenda. There is a great web site (junkscience^com) that catalogues many of these scientific gunslingers.
This book is a retrospective that begins at the beginning and finishes in 1974 (many years before his report on the Challenger accident). It describes his early years working in a hotel, going to MIT, working at Los Alamos, and teaching at Cornell and Caltech. There are many demonstrations of his wicked wit and quirky (quarky?) sense of humor. He is quick to seize the opportunity to use his wit as is shown when he hides a door in his fraternity house.
This is a fun read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most Interesting Read Ever!, April 19 2004
By 
Daniel Parrott "asmcoder8088" (Bartlesville, OK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman (Paperback)
This book contains by far the most astounding collection of stories I have ever read in a single work. The sentences move together smoothly, and every single one of them is interesting in some respect.
I usually do not read books because of the great deal of time involved in getting into the plot, but with this one, you can easily sit down and read a section and get right down into it. It's that well-written, with enough details to keep you intrigued and at the same time focused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb00a6780)

This product

Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman
Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman by Richard P Feynman (Paperback - April 1 1997)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews