Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars One of Welsh's Best!
I would definitely recommend this to a fan of Irvine Welsh, it is magnificently gritty and hilarious. While it is an equally interesting read for newcomers of Welsh, prepare yourself for some heavy slang that you may not understand depending on where you are from. I had to research some of the frequently used slangs and expressions.
Published 10 months ago by Thomas de Gruchy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Do Some Research
As with most of Welsh's writing, Filth bucks and ripples with the heavy brogue of Scottish vernacular, with it's roots in Gaelic, Norse and Middle English, along with the occasional term borrowed from Jamaican immigrants and African American music.
This seems to annoy and confuse many readers still virgins to Edinburgh inner city slang. However, hope is in site. Look...
Published on Oct. 16 2001 by mike


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars One of Welsh's Best!, Aug. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
I would definitely recommend this to a fan of Irvine Welsh, it is magnificently gritty and hilarious. While it is an equally interesting read for newcomers of Welsh, prepare yourself for some heavy slang that you may not understand depending on where you are from. I had to research some of the frequently used slangs and expressions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Love Irvine Welsh.... Hated Filth, Jan. 20 2009
By 
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
Trainspotting is possibly my favorite novel of all time. Porno, although not as good was still an excellent read... but Filth was horrible. The characters are unbelievable, the dialog repetative and boring, and the story takes you nowhere and accomplishes nothing. Deeply disapointing from such a great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOOK EVER, Sept. 11 2006
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
No contest. Pure filth. I felt like I had been kicked in the kidneys by the end of it. Never had such an intense physical reaction to a book before. This has been my number one favourite book since it first came out and makes everything else I've read before or since look tame...and believe me I'm not into tame reading. Fabulous. I only wish all of Welsh's books had this intensity and gut-wrenching honesty. He writes about the things we often think but don't even like to admit to ourselves we think. A tip...find some Edinburgh scots & hang out with them for a few weeks before attempting to comprehend the phonetic Scottish style. You'd miss so much if you didn't understand alot of it. Totally worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, April 20 2006
By 
RB (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
Welsh's very best, in my opinion.
This novel takes us through the miserable life of a very dislikable lead character. Yet in spite of his repulsiveness, we are drawn to him through those things we can horrifyingly relate to in the darkest corners of our own character. He makes you feel - filthy.
However, the most accomplished and novel aspect of this book is the tapeworm. For those unfamiliar with such diseases, it is worth appreciating that it was well researched and the associated pathos was brilliantly orated as part of the narrative. While certainly an exploration of flawed humanity, on a much more sophisticated level it also contimplates the relationship between disease and self identity. Ultimately, this book is about relationships and the serendipitous, entangled ways in which they can both propagate and destroy an individual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Filthy, June 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
The entire first chapter is about a fart, I think. I had to try to read it over and over so many times because of the incomprehensible scottish slang. They replace words with rhymes, if that makes any sense. If you can get past the language, go for chapter 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a new direction for an under rated writer, May 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
While this book at times is basically shock value.the over all ambition of the novel is to profile a particular type of person who has lost all morality as a result of the life they have led.The novel achieves this to a very disterbing extent.Filth takes you inside the mind of the respectable psychopath while the comedy type worm serves as Welsh's device to explian how he sees a twisted individual like Robertson was created through social conditioning rather than nature.Forget the hype of trainspotting this is real Irvine Welsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to its name, March 28 2002
By 
Gordon Smith (san jose, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
I recently read Burroughs' Cities of the Red Night, so this is no longer the most disgusting thing I've read. But it still is the most satisfyingly filthy book I can think of. Welsh asks us to inhabit the mind of a charming, funny, if somewhat amoral police officer through his daily routine. We fall in league with the guy and may feel some of our sicker impulses surge as his deeds get more and more horrible. This book asks us how far we are willing to let this guy go before we start cheering against him. All but devoid of redeeming character, Filth is almost a struggle, but it makes it, time and again, on charm. Pig charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sick, twisted, deeply disturbing and ultimately brilliant., March 23 2002
By 
Elvis Christ (Atlanta, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
Welsh, in the grand tradition of authors such as William S. Burroughs and J.G. Ballard, uses his art like a scalpel to lay open for our examination some of the more unpleasant and socially unacceptable aspects of modern life. His portrait of DS Bruce Robertson is umcompromising in showing the brutality, venality and corruption of which one man is capable (especially when that man is nominally on the side of right and law and order)...and we also have some psychological/genetic insight into why he is what and who he is. At the end of the book I couldn't decide whether I hated Robertson, or felt sorry for him. Highly recommended (provided you're neither squeamish nor easily offended.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars his best by far, March 4 2002
By 
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
i read this book two years ago and haven't read it sice <i don't read books twice> but i intend to shortly. this book is disgustingly funny. the only book <besides the peculiar memories of thomas penman> to have me roaring with laughter. this book is a treat and has stayed with me since i read it. brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the squeamish....But a GREAT book!, Dec 1 2001
By 
J. Gilliam (Dallas Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Filth (Paperback)
I still can't get this book out of my mind, so much so that I am writing this review a year after reading it when admittedly I have better things to be doing at 1am. I am reading "Ecstacy", and have also read "Trainspotting." While great reads as well, I think Filth is tops.
Welsh is on my top 10 list for sure, not just for his brilliant style and insight into the depraved human condition, but his ironic humor and cunning linguistics (Welsh I'm sure would appreciate that one) leave me aghast with horror, albeit with a huge smile on my face. If you enjoy peering into the world of the deranged and enjoy being covered in muck once in a while (just because it's so damn *funny*!), BUY THIS BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Filth
Filth (Paperback)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews