Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Primer On Many Aspects Of Addictive Substances
I am a health care professional who just started working with patients in a hospital detox setting. This book was exactly what I was looking for as a review and primer on the effects different drugs had on the brain and body. The book is in two parts. Part one is basically a quick reference to the different classes of addictive substances, how they affect the brain, how...
Published on Sept. 8 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars You can buy better
the Psychedelics Encyclopedia is so much better than this book, even though this book covers psychoactive substances other than Psychedelics, I find drug war propoganda in here. But what are they charging like ($) so in that case i suppose you might as well buy this.
Published on Sept. 14 2002 by TripS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Helped me as an EMT-A, July 14 2009
This review is from: Buzzed 3e (Paperback)
This book serves equally well as a quick reference guide as it does a learning tool. I used this book to refresh my knowledge of street drugs, their affects, and the slang associated with them. This is a good, mostly un-biased read for those in the health care field as well as those just curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Book That Breaks Through the Chaff, June 30 2004
By 
Bruce Gilliz (Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buzzed 2e (Paperback)
As my review title states, this book targets an audience - one that wants to be well informed about drugs that are used and abused in our society.
What sets this book apart from so many others (most notably government-issued literature about recreational drugs) is that its language isn't dry, bureaucratic, and unappealing. Instead, the authors have successfully made their points about the uses and abuses of recreational drugs without boring the reader into submission. A book of this nature that is actually entertaining and enlightening to read is a breakthrough!
My one qualm with the book was with its lack of relevant informaton on steroids, which are definitely a drug that have been, and will continue to be, highly abused by many people the world over. The chapter on this drug class was brief and should have included more information about steroids from a user's point of view. However, it's worth noting that my library-issued copy was the 1998 version of the book, which has since been updated.
So, I have given this book a strong reveiw because, frankly, it deserves it; I was able to read the book cover to cover in about a day and a half without feeling any boredom. As a result I feel better informed and more confident with my knowledge about recreational drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You can buy better, Sept. 14 2002
By 
TripS (CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buzzed (Paperback)
the Psychedelics Encyclopedia is so much better than this book, even though this book covers psychoactive substances other than Psychedelics, I find drug war propoganda in here. But what are they charging like ($) so in that case i suppose you might as well buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good basic book, Sept. 9 2002
By 
TripS (CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buzzed (Paperback)
This is a great book to learn the basics of psychoactive substances. However you cannot hear about the basics and think you know everything, you must learn from experience. I have found minor misinformation in this book and feel that it is slightly biased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Primer On Many Aspects Of Addictive Substances, Sept. 8 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buzzed (Paperback)
I am a health care professional who just started working with patients in a hospital detox setting. This book was exactly what I was looking for as a review and primer on the effects different drugs had on the brain and body. The book is in two parts. Part one is basically a quick reference to the different classes of addictive substances, how they affect the brain, how the body disposes of them, the type of withdrawl someone will experience, etc. Part two covers some basics of neuropharmacology which you will need to understand some of the technical info in part one, and also goes into things as varied as the addictive process and social and legal issues involved with drug use. There is a good bibliography and a great index with many of the common street names for a variety of drugs and drug related activities.
I would highly reccommend this to anyone in health care, education, or any type of drug counseling or rehab. Great tool for patient/client/student education about drugs that is factual and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, unbiased information on recreational drugs, Oct. 24 2000
By 
"bonesman" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buzzed (Paperback)
I read this book as a casual user of marijuana, alcohol, and nicotine. This book has made me come to the realization that I will never use another illegal drug other than marijuana. I never knew the drugs that my classmates were using so carelessly were so destructive. What I like most about the book is the fact that the information is completely unbiased, and is just focused on giving you the straight facts. Information that you get from other, unreliable sources, such as Internet web sites, is so completely biased towards telling you how horrible drugs are, you begin to pick up that you are not being given the whole truth but rather what anti-drug people want you to believe. "Buzzed" gave me more incentive to never do hard drugs than those "unreliable" sources would ever have, even with their terrible drug horror stories. People are smart....just give them the information they need about something, and they will decide their actions from there. I reccomend this book to anyone taking any drugs (including marijuana, alcohol, or nicotine), or anyone considering taking a potentially dangerous recreational drug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant referance book, Aug. 4 2000
By 
Peter A. Connaughton "PeteC" (Woonsocket, RI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buzzed (Paperback)
Dispells some of the illusions about illegal and legal drugs without being preachy. For instance, while alchohol does not actually kill brain cells, its still not the breakfast of champions. A great book for those who want the unfettered truth about drugs and their dangers to your body. No slant, no guile, no horror stories. Just the hard facts. The interesting thing is that these are more than enough to keep most people off drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drug Recognition Experts should find it invaluable, March 29 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Buzzed (Paperback)
As a police officer (and Drug Recognition Expert), I found this book excellent. It provides real insight on both the scientific level and street use/abuse of some of the most common drugs. Each drug category is covered and special emphasis is given to particularly common drugs found on the street.
It breaks down each of these and discusses numerous aspects of the drugs: brief history, common/slang names, discussion on who the typical user would most likely be and in what setting, addictive potential, description of effects, potential side effects and overdose information. The authors write in a good style that ANYONE can relate to (without being talked down to). It does it in a style that is not judgemental but tries to remain nuetral for informational purposes.
Very insightful and highly recommended for anyone wishing to be better informed about drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book -- it could save your life, March 23 2000
This review is from: Buzzed (Paperback)
In a time where literature on illegal substance is usually limited to propaganda either for or against drugs, their legalization, etc.., this book provides a refreshing, unbiased account. The knowledge it provides on a drug's different effects on the body, the brain, one's emotional well-being, and its addictive potential prove to be invaluable. This is not a crusade against the use of substances, but it does not seek to glorify their use. Anyone planning on experimenting with any drug should at least read this book first. It allows an individual to weigh the risks from a more educated point of view as it dispels myths and delivers what it says it will: the straight facts.
I would urge everyone involved in this area from policy makers to other students to buy this book and read it. I finished it in two days, and I'm a better-informed, more careful thinker because of it.
Don't go to a party without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Job, March 21 2000
This review is from: Buzzed (Paperback)
Its really hard to find a good introduction to the effects of abused drugs on the bookshelf. They're either too broad and general and more adsorbed in stastics and rhetoric then scientific details. This book is scientific enough yet comprehensible to a general audience. Superb Job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa54a81c8)

This product

Buzzed 2e
Buzzed 2e by Wilkie Wilson (Paperback - Sept. 30 2003)
CDN$ 20.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews