Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of fresh air
This book was one of the most beautiful works I have ever read - it is definitely a modern classic. My feelings were really stirred up on this one - from an aching sadness on behalf of the players to laughing out loud. I recommend this to anyone who is seeking an easy but high quality read.
Published on Aug. 10 2005 by hlb

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars History of Love
I found this book to be confusing to read. I am in a book club and 3 out of the 5 present gave the book a 3 or 4 on 10, but the other two gave it a 7.5 - 8. It is one if those books I would need to read twice to really understand it. I was disappointed after having read all of the previous reviews that gave it a 5. Maybe I just missed the point of the book.
Published on May 18 2009 by M. Burke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of fresh air, Aug. 10 2005
By 
hlb (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History Of Love (Hardcover)
This book was one of the most beautiful works I have ever read - it is definitely a modern classic. My feelings were really stirred up on this one - from an aching sadness on behalf of the players to laughing out loud. I recommend this to anyone who is seeking an easy but high quality read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A profound and remarkable book, July 20 2006
By 
Road King (Muskoka, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: History Of Love (Paperback)
It's a rare book that puts the reader at a loss for adjectives: astonishing, brilliant, ground-breaking, are a few that come to mind. This book is not to be missed. You will read it more than once. It is simply a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible work of genius, Feb. 14 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: History Of Love (Hardcover)
Such a profound work of genius. It takes a brilliant author to write a book like this and Krauss does with grace and heart. Wonderful read - definitely a book for everyone to check out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through time, March 22 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: History Of Love (Paperback)
"He was a great writer. He fell in love. It was his life." While those are the final words of Nicole Krauss's illuminating second novel, "The History of Love," those three short sentences only highlight what I knew all along. This a unique book, haunting and quietly funny, and which leaves you thinking about memories, about death, and about love.

Leo Gursky has a weak heart, and may die at any moment. Virtually no one knows him, and his own son never even knew of him; he drops his change and buys things, just so someone might remember him when he dies. Sixty years ago, he fled Nazi-occupied Poland to pursue a childhood sweetheart to America, but she thought he had died, and married someone else.

Before that happened, Leo wrote a exquisite ode to her, called the "History of Love," a fictional look at love's origins, its milestones, and at a mysterious girl called Alma. A copy of that book found its way into teenage Alma's household, and she was named after that mysterious woman. Now, as her grief-stricken mother translates one of the few copies into English, Alma sets out on a journey of discovery -- about the mystery author, the person who wants the translation, and the mysterious original Alma.

Nicole Krauss writes much like her husband Jonathan Safran Foer -- she also takes a look at the past and present, at immigrants, and at the journies of our elders. And the insights she shows about the nature of love, and the intersections of life and literature, are startlingly deep. Many longtime authors can only dream of such delicate sensibilities.

The writing itself is surprisingly fluid, considering that Krauss changes narrators and timeframes several times, and sometimes refers to one character by different names. She also changes her style, depending on the narrator -- the old man has a more rambly style, while Alma neatly compiles her thoughts into numbered lists.

All the stories of death, loneliness and memories could be depressing. But Krauss injects them with gentle humor, such as Alma's brother Bird, who thinks he might be the Messiah (yeah, right, kid). There are also surprisingly poignant passages from the "History of Love" itself, which offer tiny insights into Leo's past love. Never sentimental, never maudlin. Just quietly, sadly romantic.

"The History of Love" is a truly exquisite piece of work, an insightful novel that is both heartbreaking and heartwarming. Definitely a beautiful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars deeply captivating, Nov. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A beautifully haunting tale of love, friendship, survival and finding one's place in the world. Deeply creative in tone, The History Of Love draws the transfer in like the scent of hot apple cider on a winter's evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it and keep it, May 7 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: History Of Love (Hardcover)
Somehow over the last few years (working in a bookstore will do it) I've learned to place relatively less credence in professional reviews and relatively more in reader reviews. Some of each are consulted in a quick search for a bottom line: will I like it, or won't I?
The short answer here is yes. The characters feel genuine, the story is touching, the writing literary and accessible at the same time. It is a search for people and books lost long ago, and refound, and I'm glad I found this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History Of Love (Paperback)
I love all the literary references and the convoluted plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talented wrier!!, Sept. 25 2009
By 
Wayne E. Stilling "aspirauthor" (Vancouver BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: History Of Love (Paperback)
This book is a book every aspiring writer should read. It is extremely well written and hard to put down. It made me cry and laugh all in a few paragraphs. A truly memorable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars absorbing characters, July 2 2007
By 
Marsha S (Brantford, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: History Of Love (Paperback)
I loved this novel. I especially enjoyed Leo Gursky, the main character, and all of the ways that he ensures that someone notices him each day.

I wish the author had used a more traditional narrative approach. I would have liked to know a lot more about each of the intertwining stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Oct. 18 2006
By 
This review is from: History Of Love (Paperback)
Not sure how I got interested in a book with this title, but it it such an amazing story and it kept me wanting to read more and more. It never got boring, it had the right amount of surprises, and the characters were so well-defined and interesting and unique. So sensible. I fell in love with the main character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

History Of Love
History Of Love by Nicole Krauss (Paperback - April 25 2006)
CDN$ 16.00 CDN$ 11.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews