Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Pony for the Language-Learner
The nice thing about the Pantheon edition is that the translation tends to be quite literal, so it's a very good one for someone learning German to use side-by-side with the original. (Plus the stories are great!)
Oh, and by the way: The Brothers Grimm were not folklorists, but linguists (besides making a huuuge German dictionary, they were the ones showed that...
Published on July 31 2001 by Cinna the Poet

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stories okay, but book poorly made
IMPORTANT POINTS TO CONSIDER: The stories presented by the Brothers Grimm were the results of a scholarly investigation into Germanic folklore. Readers must understand the scholars never intended their research to serve as bedtime stories for children ... obviously many have missed that point. Also, it must be made clear, the Brothers did not invent these stories; they...
Published on Oct. 28 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Pony for the Language-Learner, July 31 2001
By 
Cinna the Poet (Zeeusche Uytkyk, Svalbard) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales (Paperback)
The nice thing about the Pantheon edition is that the translation tends to be quite literal, so it's a very good one for someone learning German to use side-by-side with the original. (Plus the stories are great!)
Oh, and by the way: The Brothers Grimm were not folklorists, but linguists (besides making a huuuge German dictionary, they were the ones showed that German, English, Dutch, etc. are related to Greek and Latin). The reason they collected folktales is because they were looking for dialect-specimens and this is an old linguists' trick--you get a much purer version of speech in the (linguistically) relaxed folktales than you do in interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality, Fantasy & Science Fiction in Fairy Tales, June 19 2003
By 
This review is from: The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales (Paperback)
Much has been written about the content of the stories and comments regarding violence and harshness have been discussed. Today's "wordly-wise" young people see this sort of thing on television and in the movies. Reading classics written years ago, as fairy tales is both educational and enlightening. Not for the very young, but certainly stories pre-teens and young teens can find interesting. I read them as a pre-teen and they still linger on today. Don't be afraid of Grimm's Fairy Tales. They are enduring classics through the ages!
Evelyn Horan - author
Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl Books One - Three
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairy tales, rated PG 13, Feb. 19 2003
By 
MPR (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales (Paperback)
Standing in a children's book store, I read my first Grimm's fairy tale and I was hooked. I was attracted by how odd the stories were to my modern eyes - I never knew that the wicked sisters' feet were cut up, and their eyes pecked out in the real Cinderella! Obviously the tales can be violent and gory, some of them have also been marked anti-semetic. This may not be a book for small children, but it is over 800 pages of wonderful storytelling. These are fairy tales that will live on forever in your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stories okay, but book poorly made, Oct. 28 2003
By A Customer
IMPORTANT POINTS TO CONSIDER: The stories presented by the Brothers Grimm were the results of a scholarly investigation into Germanic folklore. Readers must understand the scholars never intended their research to serve as bedtime stories for children ... obviously many have missed that point. Also, it must be made clear, the Brothers did not invent these stories; they documented pre-existing folktales. The Brothers' efforts to put to paper what had previously been an almost solely oral tradition was, despite successful sales figures, panned by many critics, and such criticism was not entirely unjustified; the reader may be frustrated by the inexplicable actions of the characters, the endless plot-holes, and the underdeveloped, if not banal narrative. Or the reader may simply take them at face value.
CAUTION: COLLECTORS BEWARE. This edition can only be described as 'cheaply' made. The pages are thin, as is the spine, which gives easily. Due to the thickness of the book in relation to the flimsy spine, there is bound to be trouble with this inferior assembly from Random House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimm Reality, Jan. 28 2004
By 
Stephanie Johnson (Shelbyville, Kentucky) - See all my reviews
I received this book as a gift from my sister. Upon reading the reviews she was skeptical to buy it, thankfully she bought the book regardless.(Thank you, Thank you!!!)
I don't see the poor quality that many have discussed.The pages are thin of paper but thick with words and quality to captivate a Fairy Tale lover. Oral story telling has been a tradition for centuries, and this book keeps that alive. These stories are definately memorable and after you've read them you can tell them over and over.
I remember many of these stories from my childhood. They're rich with imagery. Maybe many of them were never intended for small children... but if you can look past the grim images of some stories you will find a deep lesson. I even see some religious symbolism in some of the tales which border on same idea lines as Biblical stories.
I disagree with the negativity and poor ratings this book has gotten. I think it is a must have for the Literature and Fairy Tale collectors (if not for the quality of the book, then definately the quality of the stories therein). Considering that early versions of the book were written in 1812 and its still sold widely today, there must be something about it that causes people to wonder about those brothers Grimm.
Give this book a second glance!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life lessons in child friendly format., Feb. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would say that this book is equivalent to bible in some of the lessons that it teaches. It is an amazing book, with great amount of wonderful stories, and the lessons that it teaches are very important in life also. This book definitely has to be read to your child, or to the child within you numerous times. Don't think twice and get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure for Pleasure & Scholarly Readers Alike, April 10 2000
This review is from: The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales (Paperback)
Even if your not a scholar, this tremendous read-aloud reaches all the way back to the voices of the oral tradition, whose rich language and images will transport you to a magical state of being. The Frog King begins "In olden times when wishing still helped one, there lived a king whose daughters were all beautiful, but the youngest was so beautiful that the sun itself, which has seen so much, was astonished whenever it shone in her face." Try that at dusk or by candle light, and see if an awed hush doesn't fall over your listener(s)!
For those with a more serious bent, this is perhaps the most accurate English translation of the Grimm's recordings of the oral tales. The complete collection lets you compare the patterns and rhythms of language and story line. The introduction by Padraic Colum and end commentary by Joseph Campbell (some 30 pages) are an added treasure. This version is frequently used by Waldorf teachers, and is "must have" for all primary teachers and families with children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MIXED FEELINGS, March 27 1998
By A Customer
I loved the old fashioned illustrations but it wasn't "genuine Grimms" in my opinion and the stories themselves had been rearranged from their original order. A common mistake, but I prefer the stories as they were meant to be arranged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes monotonous, usually disturbing, yet fun, June 21 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales (Paperback)
I just finished reading this book a couple days ago, and I found it to be quite entertaining. However, many of the storylines in the different tales are quite similiar and so reading this book can feel a bit monotonous at times. In some cases, the storylines can completely veer off from where you think they're headed and can end with totally different characters and environments than were present in the first half of the tale. The writing can seem unfocused, unsolid, and inconsistent (within each separate tale, that is). Also, I personally found most of the characters to be, in a certain aspect, quite annoying, because at least half of the major characters in this book at some point or another in each tale acts almost completely without any rationality. My favorite example of this is in the first couple short paragraphs of the story "Sweetheart Roland", in which an evil witch has two daughters, one bad and biological, and the other foster and good. The bad sister tells her mother that she wants the good sister's apron, and so the mother basically says "well then, I'll go chop off your sister's head while she's asleep tonight and you shall have the apron tomorrow morning." Similiar types of behavior by the characters in these stories is the norm. I personally would hesitate to read these stories to children, because themes of inter-family homicide (usually by parents against children), torture, and cannibalism are prevalent in this book. But as adult entertainment, they're quite fun to read, in a way similiar to The Adventures of Sinbad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great compendium., Dec 2 2011
This review is from: The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales (Paperback)
Great compendium. A must have for any a fan of fairy tales. Gives a great background for a lot of culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2a41b4c)

This product

The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales
The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales by Grimm (Paperback - Sept. 12 1976)
CDN$ 22.95 CDN$ 16.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews