Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Pony for the Language-Learner
The nice thing about the Pantheon edition is that the translation tends to be quite literal, so it's a very good one for someone learning German to use side-by-side with the original. (Plus the stories are great!)
Oh, and by the way: The Brothers Grimm were not folklorists, but linguists (besides making a huuuge German dictionary, they were the ones showed that...
Published on July 31 2001 by Cinna the Poet

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad for these reasons...
1. Very thin paper used. (recycled?) If this is for environmental purposes, I support it. If it is just to save on production costs, I don't.
2. Ugly, crowed typesetting that would be more at home in a newspaper.
3. Jumbled illustrations by different artists with different styles, none of which are credited, and many are placed out of synch with the...
Published on Feb. 1 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Pony for the Language-Learner, July 31 2001
By 
Cinna the Poet (Zeeusche Uytkyk, Svalbard) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales (Paperback)
The nice thing about the Pantheon edition is that the translation tends to be quite literal, so it's a very good one for someone learning German to use side-by-side with the original. (Plus the stories are great!)
Oh, and by the way: The Brothers Grimm were not folklorists, but linguists (besides making a huuuge German dictionary, they were the ones showed that German, English, Dutch, etc. are related to Greek and Latin). The reason they collected folktales is because they were looking for dialect-specimens and this is an old linguists' trick--you get a much purer version of speech in the (linguistically) relaxed folktales than you do in interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad for these reasons..., Feb. 1 2004
By A Customer
1. Very thin paper used. (recycled?) If this is for environmental purposes, I support it. If it is just to save on production costs, I don't.
2. Ugly, crowed typesetting that would be more at home in a newspaper.
3. Jumbled illustrations by different artists with different styles, none of which are credited, and many are placed out of synch with the corresponding stories. Very few of the illustrations are worth a second glance.
4. Weakly bound. Will fall apart with regular reading.
5. The prose is dreadful. Or is that the stories sound better in their native German???
6. My copy arrived covered in inexplicable dark smudges.
7. Not for collectors, or those who like quality books.
8. Note: If you are buying for your children, they will probably be bored by the stories, or not understand them. As one reviewer pointed out, they were never complied for children in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality, Fantasy & Science Fiction in Fairy Tales, June 19 2003
By 
This review is from: The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales (Paperback)
Much has been written about the content of the stories and comments regarding violence and harshness have been discussed. Today's "wordly-wise" young people see this sort of thing on television and in the movies. Reading classics written years ago, as fairy tales is both educational and enlightening. Not for the very young, but certainly stories pre-teens and young teens can find interesting. I read them as a pre-teen and they still linger on today. Don't be afraid of Grimm's Fairy Tales. They are enduring classics through the ages!
Evelyn Horan - author
Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl Books One - Three
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimm Reality, Jan. 28 2004
By 
Stephanie Johnson (Shelbyville, Kentucky) - See all my reviews
I received this book as a gift from my sister. Upon reading the reviews she was skeptical to buy it, thankfully she bought the book regardless.(Thank you, Thank you!!!)
I don't see the poor quality that many have discussed.The pages are thin of paper but thick with words and quality to captivate a Fairy Tale lover. Oral story telling has been a tradition for centuries, and this book keeps that alive. These stories are definately memorable and after you've read them you can tell them over and over.
I remember many of these stories from my childhood. They're rich with imagery. Maybe many of them were never intended for small children... but if you can look past the grim images of some stories you will find a deep lesson. I even see some religious symbolism in some of the tales which border on same idea lines as Biblical stories.
I disagree with the negativity and poor ratings this book has gotten. I think it is a must have for the Literature and Fairy Tale collectors (if not for the quality of the book, then definately the quality of the stories therein). Considering that early versions of the book were written in 1812 and its still sold widely today, there must be something about it that causes people to wonder about those brothers Grimm.
Give this book a second glance!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stories okay, but book poorly made, Oct. 28 2003
By A Customer
IMPORTANT POINTS TO CONSIDER: The stories presented by the Brothers Grimm were the results of a scholarly investigation into Germanic folklore. Readers must understand the scholars never intended their research to serve as bedtime stories for children ... obviously many have missed that point. Also, it must be made clear, the Brothers did not invent these stories; they documented pre-existing folktales. The Brothers' efforts to put to paper what had previously been an almost solely oral tradition was, despite successful sales figures, panned by many critics, and such criticism was not entirely unjustified; the reader may be frustrated by the inexplicable actions of the characters, the endless plot-holes, and the underdeveloped, if not banal narrative. Or the reader may simply take them at face value.
CAUTION: COLLECTORS BEWARE. This edition can only be described as 'cheaply' made. The pages are thin, as is the spine, which gives easily. Due to the thickness of the book in relation to the flimsy spine, there is bound to be trouble with this inferior assembly from Random House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OKAY STORIES, OKAY COPY, June 25 2001
Not all the stories in this book are winners, and you can take a LONG time reading all of them. For the longest time I'd been hearing that Disney's version of these Grimm classics are much cleaner. No kidding. But being a hardcore fantasy reader, I like all the violence and dark senses of humor that the Grimm brothers have. Generally, for every 10 stories you read, you might find two that you like and one that you REALLY like. As for the actual book, the pages are apparently NOT acid-free, which means that it was cheaply made. It is still hardback, though. I'm not a HUGE Grimm fan, but there were enough illustrations for my taste. Along the same lines, I don't care if the works are out of order--what matters is that they're translated decently. I still hold that there is--somewhere--a better Grimm's book to be found--hence the 3 stars. Apart from all that, this is a good bargain bin book--which is where I found it. My favorite stories--so far--are The Frog Prince, Cinderella, The Three White Snakes, and The Youth Who Could Not Shiver and Shake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure for Pleasure & Scholarly Readers Alike, April 10 2000
This review is from: The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales (Paperback)
Even if your not a scholar, this tremendous read-aloud reaches all the way back to the voices of the oral tradition, whose rich language and images will transport you to a magical state of being. The Frog King begins "In olden times when wishing still helped one, there lived a king whose daughters were all beautiful, but the youngest was so beautiful that the sun itself, which has seen so much, was astonished whenever it shone in her face." Try that at dusk or by candle light, and see if an awed hush doesn't fall over your listener(s)!
For those with a more serious bent, this is perhaps the most accurate English translation of the Grimm's recordings of the oral tales. The complete collection lets you compare the patterns and rhythms of language and story line. The introduction by Padraic Colum and end commentary by Joseph Campbell (some 30 pages) are an added treasure. This version is frequently used by Waldorf teachers, and is "must have" for all primary teachers and families with children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't buy this..., March 27 2000
By A Customer
I haven't and won't be buying this or the companion book (Anderson). It's nice to have all the stories together agreed but not if they are scrambled about in the wrong order. As I've heard from other people on this site, the pages are thin and cheapy and illustrations are few. It's plain to me that this woman is just ripping off the Grimm's name. Not doing justice to the stories at all. Until a definitive Grimm's book becomes available pick up a classic copy from ebay or a second hand bookstore..I just bought one for 10 dollars..published in 1945. It's in excellent condition too. It only has 55 stories but all the favourites are there and the drawings are great! You get a much more "old world" feeling when reading the stories when it's an old copy too..the smell of old paper..it just makes it more special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MIXED FEELINGS, March 27 1998
By A Customer
I loved the old fashioned illustrations but it wasn't "genuine Grimms" in my opinion and the stories themselves had been rearranged from their original order. A common mistake, but I prefer the stories as they were meant to be arranged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This book is a classic, meaning old values apply., Oct. 6 1999
By 
Millicent J. Kelly "M. Kelly" (Jupiter, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At the age of nine, I was given this book as a gift and remembered reading it intensely, which is why I purchased this book so I could read the stories to my child as he gets older. What I didn't remember, however, was the underlying dark themes to these stories. They all seem to be plagued by a reference to death, violence, and sex discrimination in one way or another. My intentions were to read these stories at bed time, which I can only imagine would create nightmares. In addition, the translation done may be a little difficult to understand since references are often made in old English. I still like the stories, but would not recommend them as reading for a child under the age of nine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales
The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales by Grimm (Paperback - Sept. 12 1976)
CDN$ 22.95 CDN$ 16.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews