Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perennial gumshoe novel
Farewell, My Lovely was my first Raymond Chandler experience, a novel I first read back in junior year of high school, and one that will forever be known to me as the novel that defines noir, hardboiled detectives and gumshoe novels.

In this classic, detective Philip Marlowe gets hired to recover stolen jewels, which in turn has him running into the rogue...
Published on Feb. 16 2007 by Paul Cocker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sorry, nutty characters and tough-guy talk ain't enough....
Farewell, My Lovely is one of several Philip Marlowe detective stories from Raymond Chandler known for their smokey, 1940s L.A. feel. Philip Marlowe is the private eye whom ladies love, but he seems to be more interested in solving extremely bizarre crimes (and not getting paid for his time) than in romance. Sometimes Raymond Chandler does a brilliant job in building a...
Published on Aug. 12 2002 by lazza


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perennial gumshoe novel, Feb. 16 2007
By 
Paul Cocker "pisceanpaul" (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farewell, My Lovely (Paperback)
Farewell, My Lovely was my first Raymond Chandler experience, a novel I first read back in junior year of high school, and one that will forever be known to me as the novel that defines noir, hardboiled detectives and gumshoe novels.

In this classic, detective Philip Marlowe gets hired to recover stolen jewels, which in turn has him running into the rogue gallery of gamblers, con men, crooked cops, and (of course) femme fatales. With this said, the story is completely character-driven, making it full of action and narrative. Just flip the book open to any page, and you'll clearly read slick, muscular dialogue and snappy comebacks. Chandler is a benchmark author for stories stripped of any literary fat.

Besides Dashiel Hammett, Chandler is the perennial writer of gumshoe detectives. And Farewell, My Lovely is the perennial gumshoe novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding., May 1 2004
By 
Michael G. "mikefromrochester" (Rochester, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Farewell, My Lovely (Paperback)
This is a great novel for so many reasons. The dialogue is clever without descending into cuteness. The supporting cast of characters is a truly fascinating one. The descriptions of places are vivid. Be they the homes of the obscenely rich or rundown slum dwellings. The intricate plot unfolds in a way that really holds the reader's interest with a couple of nice plump red herrings thrown in for good measure.
As always, Marlowe himself is tough as nails and completely hard-boiled. Except that towards the end of the book, he surprises us by becoming sentimental. This uncharacteristic sentimentality is not directed toward either of the two female love interests. But rather toward a tall, violet eyed boatman named Red who helps Marlowe in his hour of need. You really have to admire Raymond Chandler for knowing just when to interject the unexpected.
I would love to give Farewell, My Lovely 5 stars, but I have to deduct 1 star. The reason? I can't for the life of me understand what the killer hoped to gain by commiting murder in the first place.
If Mr. Chandler were still alive, I'm sure he would address that particular concern in the manner of a college professor talking to a kindergartener. I can just imagine him saying: "Reality is not straightforward. Only in the world of fiction are motives clearly defined and unambiguous. My writing is meant to reflect real life." {From The Big Sleep (1939)- "It had the austere simplicity of fiction rather than the tangled woof of fact."}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Punching, and shooting, and boozing -- oh my!, July 14 2003
By 
Andrew McCaffrey (Satellite of Love, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Farewell, My Lovely (Paperback)
Raymond Chandler was such a master at his style of prose that you only have to read the first two paragraphs of FAREWELL, MY LOVELY to know exactly what sort of story you're in for. Those two paragraphs perfectly set up the plot that follows: a thriller crossing in and out of the racial divisions of 1940's Los Angeles involving seedy speakeasies, and off-shore gambling, with double-crossing as far as the eye can see. Wonderfully gritty stuff.
This particular Chandler novel has a lot going for it. The hero, Philip Marlowe, is as entertaining as ever. The setting is the familiar scene of other Chandler stories -- alive, heavy and oppressively Los Angeles. The plot is logical, but jumps around a lot, which is not necessarily a bad thing. In fact, the more it moves around, the more room Chandler has to incorporate evil-doings; I quite lost track of exactly how many crimes are committed or alluded to during the course of the book. No matter how farfetched it is, Chandler's prose is utterly gripping and absorbing.
I think Philip Marlowe must drink his weight in cheap liquor several times over during the course of this adventure, but you can't help but like the guy. He punches, he shoots, he boozes. He even solves the case by the end. He sure takes a beating in this one, but he keeps coming back for more. He's everything a pulp detective should be - angry, arrogant, determined, and with just a hint of pathos to make him interesting enough to carry the story.
The book as a whole is just too appealing and entertaining not to be a fun experience. Chandler is pretty much the benchmark for these sorts of stories about guns, police, and corruption, so if you like the genre, you might as well read the man who invented it. Tough guys yelling, "Beat it!" at each other might not be everyone's cup of tea, but Chandler is so good as telling the story that any inadequacies in the conventions of this genre are wallpapered over with some slick dialog and snappy comebacks.
I read FAREWELL, MY LOVELY more for the great atmosphere and tone than for its overall plot. The fact that the storyline wraps up nicely at the end is merely a bonus. But the real way to enjoy this book is to just let the atmosphere, the characters and the prose just wash over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing writing of a difficult life, July 13 2003
This review is from: Farewell, My Lovely (Paperback)
In Raymond Chandler's second novel, Philip Marlowe gets embroiled in a complex plot involving murder and lost love.
Marlowe's on the wrong side of town when he gets drawn into watching a murder in a bar that blacks frequent. As usual for this day and age - this is decades before civil rights, remember - the white cops brush it off as meaningless. Only Marlowe shows some interest in what is going on, and the lug of a man that desperately misses his lost love.
Marlowe, pretty down on his luck and drinking hard, pries into the situation as much out of intellectual boredom as anything else. He's not after money, and indeed half the time he's not getting any. He's after making some difference in the world, no matter how small. He's after doing his part to help out those in need. These qualities of honor are taken up by many detectives who came after Marlowe, and are admired by millions of movie viewers who saw the movie version of this book.
The gritty world that Marlowe lives in, the desperate state that many of the characters are in, the racism and disregard for the poor and drug use were all harsh realities of Los Angeles in the 1940s. In that swamp of despair roamed Marlowe, barely keeping his own head above water, but determined to do the right thing. It's his doggedness and his adherence to his own rules that make him a man to be admired throughout the ages ... and it's Chandler's brilliant writing style that brings this world to life.
Those reviewers who cringe at the drinking, the despair and the racism should thank Chandler for bringing these realities into such clear view, instead of blaming Chandler for showing them a glimpse of a life beyond their air conditioned living rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Soused Private Eye Manages to Stay Alive Inspite of Himself, Dec 26 2002
This review is from: Farewell, My Lovely (Paperback)
A giant of an ex-con, bursting out of his costly, tasteless and ill-fitting clothes shows up at a nightclub one day, looking for his ex-girl, Velma, and takes Raymond Chandler's intrepid, wise-cracking detective, Philip Marlowe, along for a rather bumpy and dangerous ride, in this tale of crooked L.A. cops, gigolos, mediums, gamblers and gang betrayal. Moose Malloy is bigger then nearly everyone else and not overly bright but he is dead set on finding his Velma, last seen eight years before when Moose got turned into the cops for a bank job he pulled with some others. Marlowe witnesses Moose in action, while on a case, and gets sucked into the search for the big guy and his long lost honey by one cop while being warned off by another. But Marlowe is too bull-headed to do anything but keep pushing and, surprisingly, not particularly bright, since he keeps getting suckered and hit over the head and put at serious risk of his life. Situations he ought to see coming, as an experienced detective, he seems to persistently misread, perhaps because his liking for liquor has blurred his senses or maybe he just isn't a very good investigator. But, whatever the case, he stumbles on, from one life threatening situation to another. He also can't seem to get his arms around the fuzzy set of coincidences that follow hard on the heels of his run-in with Moose as he gets a job offer that anyone in his business with half a brain would walk away from . . . and then mishandles it badly. The seedy atmosphere of L.A. is very nicely handled and the characters sharply limned and convincing, but the perpetually soused Marlowe, with the self-defeating wise-cracks and nasty mouth is a little tiresome. I had a bit of trouble acclimating myself to the racist mindset that Marlowe and his cohorts present in this 40's milieu, too, since I thought it was somewhat gratuitous and even mean-spirited, but maybe that's how some folks thought in those days. More troubling was my profound sense that Marlowe was just not bright enough, or slick enough, to be a half-decent private eye. He seems, in this book, to have a death-wish, a bad trait for someone who hires himself out as bodyguard and investigator. He takes chances a green kid shouldn't take and never seems to see the blackjack coming. Still, he manages to stumble along, thanks to a combination of apparently undeserved good luck and just plain hard-headedness, until the cause of all his troubles unfolds itself before his and our eyes. Surprisingly, given his drink-induced obtuseness, he solves the mysterious set of coincidences that have led to so much murder and betrayal, and gets the girl who wants him though he's too tough to ever openly acknowledge wanting her. This was a very odd detective tale, if ever there was one, and yet, for all its irritations and flaws it kept me reading to a most satisfying conclusion that pretty much wraps the central problem up in an almost too-tight, neatly tied bow. Moose finds what he was looking for and Marlowe figures out how to find Moose and the killer of Marlowe's mysterious client is unmasked. Marlowe, of course, has another drink. -- SWM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sorry, nutty characters and tough-guy talk ain't enough...., Aug. 12 2002
By 
lazza (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Farewell, My Lovely (Paperback)
Farewell, My Lovely is one of several Philip Marlowe detective stories from Raymond Chandler known for their smokey, 1940s L.A. feel. Philip Marlowe is the private eye whom ladies love, but he seems to be more interested in solving extremely bizarre crimes (and not getting paid for his time) than in romance. Sometimes Raymond Chandler does a brilliant job in building a story around the Marlowe character, as he did with The Lady In The Lake. However he misses the mark with Farewell, My Lovely.
Why? Hmmm, let's see. Well certainly the story scores well on the bizarre-ness scale. Marlowe finds himself in a pickle complete with killers, boozers, psychopathes ... the usual lot. But Raymond Chandler does a poor job with building on these characters; there are simply too many of them with only cameo appearances. The author fails to give his Marlowe character much to do other than waltz into one improbable scenario to another. Naturally in the end the story comes together, sort of. But Farewell, My Lovely sadly falls into the "curious but forgettable" category of mystery novels.
Bottom line: Raymond Chandler on a bad day. Passable entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Improbable But Impressive Stuff, July 30 2002
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farewell, My Lovely (Paperback)
Raymond Chander's second novel is both more and less successful than his first. THE BIG SLEEP suffered from a plot that fell apart in midstream; FAREWELL, MY LOVELY, however, is much more consistent throughout. On the other hand, for all its twists and turns, THE BIG SLEEP was quite plausible; FAREWELL, MY LOVELY, however, is about as farfetched as you can get. But once again, such criticisms are almost beside the point: the great attraction is still Chandler's knock-you-flat prose, his tone of voice, his often imitated but seldom equaled style, and it is so powerful that it keeps you turning page after page after page.
In general, FAREWELL, MY LOVELY once more finds street-smart and super-savvy California P.I. Philip Marlowe sticking his nose where it has no business being--and when curiosity leads him to follow a massively built white man into a black nightclub he finds himself embroiled in a murder no one cares about solving... at least not until it begins to figure in what seems to be a completely different case with a high-society spin. And encounters with stolen jewels, a spiritualist racket, police corruption, and a gambling ship quickly follow.
Along the way Chandler again paints a gritty portrait of the seamy side of life. On this occasion, he takes a passing look at race, and makes the point that from a police point of view two standards apply: the authorities care nothing about the murder of a black man, but they treat a white man's murder very differently indeed. This portion of the novel is intrinsically controversial, for Chandler uses the slang and racial slurs common to the mean streets of his era--but it is worth noting that although Marlowe uses the same language, his attitude toward the blacks who appear in the novel is considerably different from that of the authorities, who could not care less about the murder of a black man who don't much care who knows it. And once again, Chandler graces his pages with dames and dandies, broads and bums--and he makes them live with remarkable vitality. The famous prose is as rich as ever, although noticeably less witty and quite a bit darker than that found in THE BIG SLEEP. We've stepped off the curb and into the gutter, Chandler seems to be saying, and we're walking in it all the way. Impressive stuff and a very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but I like Hammett better, June 5 2002
By 
J. Mullin (Plantation, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently listened to the unabridged version of this book narrated by Elliott Gould, and while Chandler's glimpse of 1940's era Los Angeles was surely entertaining, I still like Dashiell Hammett's "Continental Op" novels better. In Farewell, My Lovely, private dick Philip Marlowe starts out working for a barber on a minor job and unrealistically stumbles onto a murder by a hulk of an ex-con, looking for his old girl Velma in a club where she used to work. Marlowe then is mysteriously contacted out of the blue to provide security for a shady jewel transaction, in which a rich dandy is to attempt to buy back some precious jade from the thieves who stole it.
The novel moves at a brisk pace, and while some of the plot twists seem a little forced, they are entertaining nonetheless. One of my main problems with the story is that Marlowe seems to spend most of the novel putting his life in danger, getting knocked out, shot at or drugged, without much of an incentive to get involved. He often seems to be acting on his own, without a paying client, despite warnings from the police to stay away coupled with the obvious dangers. Hammett's continental op, in novels like The Dain Curse, at least had a paying client ordering him to snoop into the multi-layered mysteries, with significant insurance money at stake.
Ultimately, without giving away too much of the story, Chandler does a pretty good job of throwing a lot of balls in the air and wrapping up most of the loose ends by story's end. Some threads are left unresolved, like the whereabouts and motives of the mysterious doctor and psychic in Bay City, but most of the rest of the plot makes sense. LIke another reviewer said, at the end of the novel, while you may have enjoyed the ride, you are left with somewhat of an empty feeling.
As for the narration, I expected a little more from Mr. Gould, an accomplished stage and screen actor who seems to sleepwalk his way through the beginning of the book as if he was handed a copy of the novel, a microphone, and told to read. He later changes pace a little, adopting different voices for different characters, but I found the voices ill-suited to the characters and sometimes caricatures of policemen or gangsters, as if the novel was a scene from a "Bowery Boys" episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What a chauvinist detective, April 26 2002
By 
Elizabeth (Charlottesville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Farewell, My Lovely (Paperback)
In Farewell, My Lovely by Raymond Chandler, an everyday detective, Marlowe, gets wrapped up in a hermeneutic search that could eventually cost him his life. Everything he does affects what will be and, in turn, he winds up changing the course of his search as he becomes caught in its very tentacles. Leading from one murder and scandal to another, this mystery novel addresses corruption and deceit in all of its forms. While it is occasionally difficult to understand because of Chandler's creative habit of inventing new detection slang, it yet creates for an engaging read as it keeps readers in suspense and "in the dark" until the climax of the book, during which time everything is revealed. More than many other detection novels, this one follows a more Sherlock Holmesesque method of detection by revealing and explaining all in a very short, descriptive, "aha!" type of moment, which is exciting to the reader who has been trying to solve the mystery all along.

However, while the eventual mastermind turns out to be a cunning, selfish woman, the overall portrayal of women in this 1940's novel is daunting. Although often depicted as intelligent, they are also often depicted as needing and revering men. Furthermore, Marlowe's sarcastic confidence and desire to rescue women just gives an overall bad taste to the novel as he looks at women as burdens, sex objects, and inferior beings. In fact, he doesn't very highly esteem African Americans, either. In conclusion, while this book is an interesting read, it is too great a reminder of gender and racial inequalities to be enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Amazing Adventures of Philip Marlowe, April 21 2002
By 
Erin Hubbard (Charlottesville, VA) - See all my reviews
In Raymond Chandler's "Farewell My Lovely" we see the stereotypical detective, sitting in his detective agency, at his desk, looking out of a rain-streaked window, pondering something, something we will probably never figure out. The detective here is Philip Marlowe, Private Investigator, and he is presented with what seems like a simple jewelry theft case. Marlowe, with his wit and charm, instead confronts crooked cops, fraudulent psychiatric hospitals, blackmailers, con men, and beautiful and deadly women. Marlowe jumps, almost literally from situation to situation. Each scenario is highly entertaining, but a little difficult to believe. Either Philip Marlowe manages to fit thirty-four action-packed hours in one day or I don't know what. It's interesting how witty the character of Marlowe is and how unaffected he seems to be by all the events going on around him. Even when he is beat up, drugged, and almost killed, he gets up, and carries on. It is difficult to determine whether or not he does this solely for the money, or if he feels he has a personal investment, or perhaps desires the glorification. Chandler incorporates wonderful descriptions of sunny Los Angeles into his novel as we follow Marlowe around the city chasing after people, details, and a solution. He also uses a great amount of similes and metaphors, comparing everything to some strange seemingly unrelated object. Yet, when it comes down to it, this quintessential detective mystery fulfills all my requirements for a good book and left me guessing up until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Farewell, My Lovely
Farewell, My Lovely by Raymond Chandler (Paperback - July 12 1988)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews