Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Seuss provides his own special type of ABC book
In 1954 "Life" magazine published a report about the problem of illiteracy among the nation's school children and placed part of the blame on the fact that books that were supposed to teach children to read were boring ("See Spot Run. Run Spot run. Fetch the ball, Spot"). Theodore Geisel's publisher sent him a list of 400 words that the author was...
Published on April 25 2004 by Lawrance M. Bernabo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars whoa...SLOW down!
The music and reading is fun, but it is way too fast, my 3.5 year old twins can barely keep up...it doesn't give the child any time to look at the pages!
Published on April 7 2000 by Becky


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Seuss provides his own special type of ABC book, April 25 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Library Binding)
In 1954 "Life" magazine published a report about the problem of illiteracy among the nation's school children and placed part of the blame on the fact that books that were supposed to teach children to read were boring ("See Spot Run. Run Spot run. Fetch the ball, Spot"). Theodore Geisel's publisher sent him a list of 400 words that the author was to cut to 250 words, the number the publisher felt a first grader could absorb, and write a book. "The Cat in the Hat" uses only 220 words and made Dr. Seuss an instant success with beginning readers. Eventually he would go on to write almost four dozen books for children to read all by themselves.
Of course sooner or later Dr. Seuss was going to put out his own alphabet book for beginning readers and in 1963 this book was published. It is, as you would expect, more than a look at the twenty-six letters of the alphabet. Other books will tell you that "A is for Apple" and "Z is for Zebra," but not Dr. Seuss because this book stars with "Aunt Annie's alligator" and ends with a "Zizzer-Zazzer-Zuzz." Young readers will also enjoy the mix of rhyme and absurdity so much that they might not notice Dr. Seuss is also showing them the difference between the big and little versions of each letter.
As I was reading over "Dr. Seuss's ABC," a book that most definitely wants to be read aloud to be fully enjoyed, I was wondering if I should temper my enthusiasm by saying that this is not an ideal choice for a beginning reader's first alphabet book. After all, something simpler, in the traditional "A is for Apple" mode might be more appropriate. But I think there is something to be said for even beginning readers being confronted with the level of sophistication found in this book. After all, it promotes fun as much as reading and young children might never notice the degree to which they are being challenged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME Book!, May 23 2002
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Hardcover)
Welcome to the wonderful world of whimsical, wacky writing, and crazy, colorful caricatures - "Big Q, little q what begins with Q? The quick Queen of Quincy and her quacking quacker-oo." An excellent educational tool, "Dr. Seuss's ABC" is an inspired introduction to the alphabet, both upper and lowercase letters, and also reinforces letter sounds through alliteration. The rhythm is so musical, it's addictive, rendering it GREAT fun to read aloud.
I own the "adapted" board book edition as well, which is designed to appeal to newborns, and very young children with short attention spans who are not attentive enough for the full text versions. The text, format, and images have been adapted to accommodate board book standards; yet, the phrasing and prose still flow. That being said, the original is just that - ORIGINAL. It is more amusing, entertaining, and educational, but is appropriate for older children, 4 years and older. If your child is three or older purchase an original version, otherwise think of introducing your infant to the shorter, travel-anywhere format, and procure the original at a later date? The marvelous, magical magician, who was Dr. Seuss, is worth it! Four-years and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, May 18 2004
By 
John R. Stracke Jr. "bibliophiliac" (Outside Boston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Hardcover)
I had this book as a kid, and never forgot "X is very useful if your name is Nixie Knox. It also comes in handy for spelling ax and extra fox." I bought for my two-year-olds a couple of months ago, and they love it. It seems to be making an impression, too; last week I found that Arthur was able to recognize some of the letters in his name. And they're *constantly* quoting "Camel on the ceiling". :-)
Do not bother with the board book edition, though; it's been butchered. They've expunged Nixie Knox, for one thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABC, April 23 2004
By 
Sarah Sammis "Avid BookCrosser" (Hayward, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Hardcover)
I remember learning my ABCs with this book when I was a kid. Now I'm sharing my copy with my son. The illustrations are just as delightful now as they were when the book first came out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bright, fun, rhyming., Oct. 3 2003
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Hardcover)
This is another Dr. Seuss classic. The illustrations are bright and whimsical. Children love the rhyming of Dr. Seuss books.
This is another fun book for younger children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is to be sung, July 28 2003
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Hardcover)
One of many alphabet books. But this one has the whimsical rhymes and drawings of Dr. Seuss. Just remember that the book is better when sung. Yes, that's right, sing the book. Just sing it to the tune of the ABC song (also the same tune as Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, and Baa Baa Black Sheep).
The rhymes, the singing, the pictures, all come together to make this a wonderful book, one that really helped my daughter learn the alphabet.
With this book and Sandra Boyntons ABC book (Aardvark admiring, Beavers ballooning, Cats cleaning, etc.), learning the alphabet will be fun fun fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My two year old loves this, Jan. 25 2003
By 
C. Davis (TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Hardcover)
We have the book and the VHS. It has greatly aided us in teaching the alphabet to our son. It has what I have come to expect from a Seuss beginner book - fun to read and teaching my child the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, Dec 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Hardcover)
This book is a great way to learn how to read,instead of those books that try to pound it into your head. This book makes reading easy and fun. A must have for beginning readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for Kids and Adults alike, Nov. 16 2002
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Hardcover)
Dr. Seuss takes his wild imagination and fun and turns it into one of the better alphabet books for kids. Every letter includes several appropriate items. They can range from the ordinary, left leg for "L", to the humorous. My family can still tell you exactly what begins with "Q", and we haven't reread this book in at least 15 years.
Parents tired of the standard "A" is for apple, "B" if for ball book will find a breath of fresh air here, too. They'll be laughing at some of the sentences and enjoying the meter used throughout.
This book bills itself as an "I Can Read" book. I hesitate slightly only because Dr. Seuss does throw a few of his trademark unusual characters into the mix. A parent will need to be close by to help their child sound out the harder words.
Dr. Seuss was a master at making picture books fun for all ages. This is a classic example parents will enjoy reading time and time again, even if their kids ask for it every night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars �ABC� by Dr. Seuss, Nov. 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's ABC (Hardcover)
"ABC" by Dr. Seuss
This book contains all the letters from the alphabet and a bunch of zany, nonsense words that have some great humor in reading them out loud to a group of kids, or just having your child(ren) reading them alone, or out loud to someone else around them. As the book progresses it has some weird phrases and word combinations, like "Big Q, little q what begins with Q? The quick Queen of Quincy and her quacking quacker-oo." This is a real nice beginner, and not intermediate but still a low reading level, book for kids who have trouble with their letters and words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. Seuss's ABC
Dr. Seuss's ABC by Dr. Seuss (Hardcover - Aug. 12 1960)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews