Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful children's book -- for children of all ages
This is a wonderfully illustrated and charming book, sure to amuse children of all ages. I love it, and recommend it highly.
Published 14 months ago by Penelope Dale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tuesday
very cool book, kind if a weird story, no real meaning of the story. Great story to read if you have a good imagination and like to let it run wild. Not too many words,about a 5 year old reading level.
Published on Dec 11 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful children's book -- for children of all ages, Feb. 21 2013
This review is from: Tuesday (School & Library Binding)
This is a wonderfully illustrated and charming book, sure to amuse children of all ages. I love it, and recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tell your own story, Dec 27 2007
By 
Ian J. Miller (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tuesday (Hardcover)
Although there are very few words included with the wonderful illustrations, I have a pretty standard version of the story which my kids expect to hear whenever we read the book. The illustrations contain so many humourous details that the story can be subtly varied in each telling to help keep the story teller amused.

If you are not sure about making up stories for your kids, this book might provide an excellent template--just describe what you see in the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monday you can fall apart. Tuesday, Wednesday break my heart, April 21 2004
By 
E. R. Bird "Ramseelbird" (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tuesday (Hardcover)
We've all heard the stories of the skies, for whatever reason, raining frogs on innocent town travelers. This natural occurrence of the wild is one of the great weirdnesses of life. So how much odder is it, really, to consider frogs flying? They have all the self-possession required of such a task. Frogs are a uniquely calm species. Confident even. In Dave Wiesner's essentially wordless book "Tuesday", amphibian folk are given the unexplained power of floatation. In his tale, Wiesner considers what exactly frogs would do with the gift of flying if it was granted them.
One of the best pictures in this book is on one of the first pages. There, a turtle cowers into its shell as black eyed pupil-less frogs rise on their lily pads out of the water. The frogs descend, so to speak, on a nearby suburb, and proceed to wreak some minor havok. They disturb a man pausing to eat a late night sandwich. They disturb laundry and enter old ladies' homes to watch a little telly. And they take a great amount of pleasure in scaring a dog that would undoubtedly eat them if it had the chance. As the book ends, the frogs are relieved of their otherworldly powers and hop back to the swamps, leaving only their lily pads behind them. The next Tuesday, at the same time, we're given a hint of how a more porcine animal will handle flight.
Wiesner is a genius at the visual gag. His illustrations are simple watercolors, well-detailed and in-depth. Wiesner knows when to give an animal human expressions and when to leave it looking particularly froggy. He gets every single one of those frogs' spots down , and can manipulate his illustrations in such a way that you never doubt for a moment the ridiculous things you're seeing. To top it all off, the man's a master at conveying light. I'm particularly attached to a scene of flying frogs watching t.v., a wary cat crouching in the background. The old lady asleep in the chair is wearing glasses that are reflecting the light of the television perfectly. On top of that, this is exactly what a room lit only by a single screen looks like. Wiesner's details are marvelous. Make sure to notice the frog appreciatively eyeing the old lady's painting of the forest.
There aren't that many wordless picture books out there these days though Wiesner has made a name for himself by specializing in this area. After reading "Tuesday", you can understand why he deserves this honor. Both witty and perverse, this author/illustrator lets you see into worlds you never could have imagined existed before he came up with them. You'll be thankful that he did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, Aug. 25 2010
By 
Reflection Haiku "Lily Wang, Author" (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tuesday (Paperback)
Many great things can be communicated without words and this book is an utter proof. Lotus and frogs have been spiritual symbols in Eastern culture and Haiku tradition(Basho: At the ancient pond/A frog jumps into/ The sound of water) and they have taken central stage in this magical and good-humored book. I was excited to share this book with my children and it turned out they alredy read it and had much to say about this book. "We love TUESDAY! First the frogs are flying. Then the pigs start flying." My son quickly went to his favorite part where the dog chased one frog and ran away when he saw a whole army of frogs coming. He made special sound effects, laughed out loud with his sister and ended up doing his book report on it. TUESDAY is a book that will give inspirations to readers of all ages; a fantastic book that you can't miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wordless, yet eventful Plot, Nov. 8 2003
This review is from: Tuesday (Paperback)
David Wiesner's, almost wordless, book, "Tuesday," gives the reader a vivid story about a group of frogs who take their lily pads for a ride. Their lily pads fly through the air and through the neighborhood. The frogs' adventure ends when the sun begins to rise. However, the next Tuesday, another animal gets to take a similar adventure.

In the book, "Tuesday," David Wiesner uses watercolor on Arches paper for the illustrations. The illustrator uses dark colors to represent the time of night in this story. The dark colors also give the viewer a sense of mystery as they flip through the pages. However, the illustrator also uses light colors to represent the light from a house, the glow from a television set or the time of day. David Wiesner uses line to show the action of the frogs, by guiding the viewers' eye through the frogs' adventure on their lily pads. Wiesner's choice to make the frogs in the book, "Tuesday," makes the frogs seem friendly and happy.
My favorite aspect of the illustration was that color. The light and dark differences found throughout the book made the story seem very real, even though the plot is very, "magical." The use of blues and grays make the frogs flying through the air seem mysterious. While the fluorescent lights of the kitchen give a very drastic change to the frogs flying in the night outside. I also think that it was very cute for the frog to be waving at the man in the kitchen. I think that is a minor detail that a child will most likely pick up on and appreciate.
The lighting of the television room was another favorite for me. I like how the artist let the glow of the television shadow the frogs and the old woman. I enjoyed the fact that the frogs made themselves at home with the remote control and the cat looking on, in the background.
I think this is a book that a child would definitely enjoy to, "read," especially since they do not have to read. The child is free to let their imagination do the storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An imaginative award-winning journey, July 26 2003
By 
Reginald D. Garrard "the G-man" (Camilla, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tuesday (Hardcover)
I discovered this classic over a decade ago when working on my Master's. One of my required classes was a course in children's literature and it turned out to be my favorite. Having long been an avid reader, I was reintroduced to forgotten pleasures and presented with new (at that time) works that were totally fascinating.
"Tuesday" is in the latter category. It is short on prose but makes up for it with engrossing illustrations. The minimum of words allows the "reader" to create a different script with each visit.
My three-year-old niece "eats" the book up every time that either her mom, her grandfather, or even her dotting uncle takes a shine to pull it off the shelf and share it with her. Our respective interpretations of the pictures are limitless, making this a book that will live long after others have faded into obscurity.
Even the book's end allows the child to ponder the events of "Wednesday" and even hypothesize about the events of subsequent days.
Any book that plays on a child's natural tendency to dream is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tuesday, July 24 2003
This review is from: Tuesday (Hardcover)
I am a student at West Virginia State College, and I was required to read a Caldecott Award winning book for my summer Childrens Literature course. I chose the 1992 Caldecott Medal winner, Tuesay. Without knowing anything about the book I went to the public library and checked it out. To my surprise it was a picture book. The pictures in this book are amazing. They are so realistic and the thought of flying frogs really interests kids. This is a beautifully illustrated book and I would highly recommend this book for children of all ages. All you need is a great imagination to interested in this book. This book rightly bears the Caldecott Medal. I would like to thank my stupendous teacher Roger Samples for this fun and exciting assignment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now my kids read to ME!, May 21 2002
By 
Geoffrey Mack "CD Shop-a-holic" (San Rafael, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tuesday (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful, fanciful children's story. The artwork on this book is stunning, and the story is very sly and humorous. The book has almost no words -- the story is told by the pictures in the book. My kids and I spend some wonderful time together each time we read this book. Each picture tells a story, and we take turns telling the story, describing what we see on the page. It's really something. I highly recommend this book for all kids 7 and under. And even adults would enjoy this book... It'd be an interesting coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars to be read EVERY Tuesday, May 19 2002
This review is from: Tuesday (Hardcover)
In the inside of the cover, Wiesner claims these events actually happened one Tuesday and... "all those in doubt are reminded that there is always another Tuesday." Beginning at 8:00pm, we see a three-part picture of a pond that changes perspective to focus on an alarmed turtle. Frogs on lilypads have taken flight and begin to chase after birds, intimidate a dog and confuse a man eating midnight snack. As morning approaches, the frogs return to their pond, leaving their lilypads and the curious detectives behind. The story ends with the words, "next Tuesday" and the shadow of a flying pig.
I've used this book in primary classrooms. It is a very cute story with only a few words. It also provides a wonderful opportunity for children to tell or write their own words. This enables students who cannot read yet to engage in a literate activity.
Why 5 stars?:
This book tells a cute fantasy story with very few words. It lends itself to having children make up their own text, which will support their emerging literacy skills. The illustrations are incredibly lifelike and it is no wonder it won a Caldecott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You make the story, April 19 2002
This review is from: Tuesday (Hardcover)
With the few words and the wonderful pictures who can resist but to fill in the blanks and write the rest of the story. Me and my four year old daughter change the story a little every time we read it. It makes you wonder what and why things are happening...why not let your child make up the answers to those very questions. Great to stretch your child's imagination. My personal favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8086c6c)

This product

Tuesday
Tuesday by David Wiesner (Paperback - Sept. 27 2011)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews