Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Yum
Loved it. If civilization collapsed tomorrow, i would feel comfortable finding my own food. Drastic but true. It was very informative.
Published 19 months ago by Cassie

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware
Though still an excellent field guide buyers should be aware that this book is merely a rejacketed version of the 1977 edition. It has not been updated and the recommended reading list in the back does not contain material published past 1976. The September 1999 publishing date doesn't mean you are getting the most up to date field guide on wild edibles, just a new...
Published on Dec 30 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, Dec 30 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
Though still an excellent field guide buyers should be aware that this book is merely a rejacketed version of the 1977 edition. It has not been updated and the recommended reading list in the back does not contain material published past 1976. The September 1999 publishing date doesn't mean you are getting the most up to date field guide on wild edibles, just a new cover on an old reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars expected more, Oct. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
The content is good and descriptions but from a novices point of view I would have liked actual photos instead of pencil drawings and no colour
The cover is deceptive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yum, Dec 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
Loved it. If civilization collapsed tomorrow, i would feel comfortable finding my own food. Drastic but true. It was very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to take along on a hike, April 30 2012
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
With its clear information and illustrations about edible plants, this is useful book to take along on a hike or canoe trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have an older print, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Cym C. Mitch "roadkillontheinfohyway" (Middlesex, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
The only difference being the front cover has been updated.
This has a lot of very good line drawings and some photos. The information in it is very good.
But, I would suggest that people cross reference the plants they find with another field book before eating something.
The descriptions in the book are short, the emphasis is on the use of the plant and were you may find them. Remeber with out looking closely an untrained eye may mistake water hemlock (deadly) with water parsnip, cow parsnip, angelica, or wild raison at a quick glance. And that could be unfortunate to say the least. Other then that warning though I enjoyed this book and have had it a long time. It tends to be one of the books I carry with me when I go hiking and looking for plants and birds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book for beginners but has some problems, June 26 2000
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
This book contains descriptions and uses of hundreds of useful plants and is probably the most imporant book to have in your edible plant book collection. It also gives fair warning when some evidence suggests possible risks.

Despite these points, there are some things that make it hard to use. First, because they are trying to cram in as many plants as possible, they don't give enough attention to many plants that deserve it and give very breif descriptions, although they do point out some of the main identifying features. Second, the pictures, at least for the first half of the book, are simply recycled from the Peterson Guide to Wildflowers, which means that they often leave out important parts that you really need to see. Third, the book is organized for the most part so that you can't find a plant unless you know the color of the flower, which makes it really difficult to recognize plants unless you find them during the period they flower, which is usually pretty short. And did anyone notice that they switched the pictures of Nodding Wild Onion and Field Garlic on page 115?

Of course, the descriptions and drawings are better than most books on the subject, and it does have many useful features, so this book is definately worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How To Eat Nature, July 30 2001
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
If you're like me and you enjoy trying to eat leaves and berries that you find while hiking and wandering about in nature, this is a handy book to own. The Peterson who wrote this book (son of the Peterson of the many, many wildlife guidebooks writer) is also a forest forrager and details some other cool books to own in the Introduction (including Stalking Wild Asparagus..excellent). I searched for a while to find a guide that would not only easily ID edible berries, roots and leaves..but also give recipe-like tips on how to prepare said roots and leaves..and they do here. Who knew, for example, that one could make a cool and refreshing beverage from staghorn sumac? Crafty! Guide is sub-divided into several search methods: color, plant-type (berry, leaf) and includes many color plates along with ink drawings to help to be sure that Amanita spp. mushroom you're eating won't cause you trouble later! And, the final great feature of the Peterson guides is that the front and back covers are tough so that you can make your copy go camping with you over many moons and you won't wear out your book. Nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written., March 14 2003
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
This book is very well written. it contains over 400 drawings and 78 color photos, to help in the identification of the mentioned plants. Each entry contains information on habitat, when they flower, a description and the uses. Also conatins any applicable warnings. The line drawings are very accurate and are more than enough, when coupled with the descriptions, to be able to identify just about any plant. But if you have any doubts, check the color photos. Also, at the back of the book, it contains the various types of plants divided up into habitat, and then each habitat divided into what plants can be harvested there during various seasons. This book is a great resource for any survivalist's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, May 18 2000
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
I liked how it showed the simular plants bside each other. Like poisonius ones beside the safe ones/.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gift for friend, Dec 18 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America (Paperback)
My friend does a lot of hiking and is a health nut, loves this book. Not sure if he has actually done anything with it yet since we just purchased it a few weeks ago. Interesting photos in book, good quality book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America
A Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants: Eastern and central North America by Lee Allen Peterson (Paperback - Sept. 1 1999)
CDN$ 25.00 CDN$ 15.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews