Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (90)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THAT AWAY COOK
AGAIN: ROBIN COOK DOES IT WELL
ALWAYS ON TOP OF THE HEALTH CARE WORLD.
THIS COULD REALLY HAPPEN.
THIS AUTHOR(COOK) IS ALWAYS IN THE FOREFRONT OF MEDICAL/HEALTH CARE MYSTERIES:
LIKE IN "CONTAGION" AND E-COLI
IN THE NEWS NOW
"HARMFUL INTENT" AND BIO-WARFARE AS CURRENT AS TODAY'S NEWS.
ROBIN KEEP ON WRITING,AS A HEALTH...
Published on Oct. 14 2001 by redshoesjet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Robin Cook's Best
Just finished SHOCK, a medical thriller by Robin Cook, the doctor turned novelist. I've enjoyed soem of his earlier books like COMA and TOXIN, but this one not nearly as good.

A slow start and muddled plot about two Harvard graduate students who try to solve their financial problems by becoming egg donors at an exclusive private infertility clinic in Boston...
Published 14 months ago by James A. Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not Robin Cook's Best, Feb. 18 2013
By 
James A. Anderson "Author" (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shock (Mass Market Paperback)
Just finished SHOCK, a medical thriller by Robin Cook, the doctor turned novelist. I've enjoyed soem of his earlier books like COMA and TOXIN, but this one not nearly as good.

A slow start and muddled plot about two Harvard graduate students who try to solve their financial problems by becoming egg donors at an exclusive private infertility clinic in Boston. Later curiosity about their donated eggs prompts them to get employment at the clinic and they discover some horrifying secrets.

These two characters may be Harvard graduates but unfortunately act more like Laverne and Shirley. I don't find them very endearing.The book gets bogged down with too much medical detail in places. I wish the author would just get on with the story.

Consider it worthy of only 3 stars. Just OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars REPRODUCING REPRODUCTION, Oct. 28 2001
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shock (Hardcover)
Deborah Cochrane and Joanna Meissner, two graduate students answer an ad in their campus newspaper to be egg donors. Egg donors were paid $45,000.00 and the women saw this is as the ideal opportunity to ride the gravy train.
The first stop the train makes is in a former asylum which has been converted into a fertility clinic. The place boasts of a farm, livestock and a very shadowy past and equally shadowy present.
Both women participate as egg donors and, with their newly earned largesse, spend a year in Italy completing their dissertations. When they return to Boston, they are determined to discover the fate their eggs have met.
Genetic experimentation, cross breeding and other reproductive horrors await the women upon their return. The clinic itself is a rather gothic institution, replete with guards and other questionable personnel. The ending was a scene straight out of Dodge City.
Although the story was riveting, it was very disturbing and certainly not up to Dr. Cook's usual high caliber. This was not good FROM HIM because he is capable of so much better than this.
Skip this one. Read "Mutation," "Toxin," "Vector" or "Fatal Cure" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THAT AWAY COOK, Oct. 14 2001
By 
"redshoesjet" (CHARLOTTESVILLE,VIRGINIA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shock (Hardcover)
AGAIN: ROBIN COOK DOES IT WELL
ALWAYS ON TOP OF THE HEALTH CARE WORLD.
THIS COULD REALLY HAPPEN.
THIS AUTHOR(COOK) IS ALWAYS IN THE FOREFRONT OF MEDICAL/HEALTH CARE MYSTERIES:
LIKE IN "CONTAGION" AND E-COLI
IN THE NEWS NOW
"HARMFUL INTENT" AND BIO-WARFARE AS CURRENT AS TODAY'S NEWS.
ROBIN KEEP ON WRITING,AS A HEALTH PROFESSIONAL IS IS IMPERATIVE TO HAVE AUTHORS' LIKE YOU PUSHING THE STATUS QUO..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One of the most ineptly written books of all time, Dec 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Shock (Mass Market Paperback)
Simply put, this book should never have been published. (It ranks up--uhh, I mean DOWN--there with Patricia Cornwell's "Isle of Dogs" as an example of how a "name" author can churn out drek and and get it published. I realize that they have "quotas" of so many books per year they have to write, so quality is of little concern.) The dialogue lumbers and is completely unrealistic, for starters. "I guess we'll have to spoon," says one young woman when the two heroines get in a small car trunk. I stopped counting the number of times that one woman "rolled her eyes for the other's benefit." Just awful, awful, awful. And the more than abrupt ending leads one to think that we'll be faced with "Shock, Part II." Thank god I got this book from the public library and didn't spend any money. Sorry, Dr. Cook....I used to love your books, but no more. You--and your editor--should be ashamed for foisting this inane drivel upon your readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A new low for Robin Cook, Nov. 19 2003
By 
steve (Sycamore, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shock (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read most of Robin Cook's earlier novels and enjoyed them immensely, despite his tendency to send protagonists on foolish, "Nancy Drew"-style amateur investigations. This one, sadly, is far below Cook's usual standard. If a lesser-known writer had produced this, it would never have been published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Shock - ingly Bad!, Nov. 18 2003
By 
This review is from: Shock (Mass Market Paperback)
The title Cook gave this novel was "Shock". The title should have been "Laverne & Shirley Meet Dr. Frankenstein". If this novel was translated to the screen without major dialog modifications, I suggest it be done as a comedic farce. The female lead characters are at once Ph.D. candidates yet devoid of any common sense, planning ability or street smarts. At no time was this reader ever concerned about either heroine [the gene pool would have improved without these two ditzes in it]. The "menacing" staff at Wingate were uniformly two-dimensional and about as scary as last year's Halloween costumes. To make up for the stringy and fragile plot, Cook bores the reader incessantly with long-winded descriptions of barely relevant scene, building and equipment details. {A Reader's Digest condensed version of this novel would contain half the words without degrading this story.} I hadn't read a Cook novel for years and the contrast between this one and, for example, Coma is striking. Cook needs a new editor who will prod him to write well again or suggest he take a sabbatical or try a new career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly bad !, Oct. 20 2003
By 
Beverley Strong (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shock (Mass Market Paperback)
This is quite possibly the worst book that I've ever read. The dialogue is 1930's English schoolgirl stuff--eg. "my word" said bt a grown, educated woman in her 20's, plus many other equally inane phrases. The story involves crooked doctors at a private clinic cloning babies from donor ovaries, sometimes harvested illegally--eeugh!! I have another book by Robin Cook, waiting to be read-"Yector". I can only hooe that Dr. Cook was having a few bad days when he wrote "Shock".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I cannot believe this book ever got printed, Oct. 7 2003
By 
David McIlfatrick (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shock (Mass Market Paperback)
Facile, predictable and badly written. This possibly the worst book I have ever read. A poorly educated teenager with a medical dictionary could have done a better job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast reading, Sept. 25 2003
By 
Jorge Frid (Mexico City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shock (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a fast book to read, is not exactly a medical thriller until the last third of the book but it will keep you interested in the story, the way that Joanna and Deborah solve their problem at the end of the book was a little bit naive, but you have another end?
If this book could be real or not is not the problem, the problem is that I really know women that can't have children and they do anything to have them without thinking the consequences, and if a woman can have some money that she really needs maybe she will give some of her "eggs" with out thinking that maybe the doctor will do something to her body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This robin's nest should be cooked., Sept. 10 2003
This review is from: Shock (Mass Market Paperback)
Shock was terribly terribly sad. What a waste of trees. I can't believe that there is a supposedly sequel to this story that went from bad to worse and ended terribly. This was my second Robin Cook misfire. I will not repeat this mistake again. I'm sure there are people who enjoy his books, but I am not one of them. What a waste of time and energy. I love to read and was therefore gravely disappointed. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1670c90)

This product

Shock
Shock by Robin Cook (Hardcover - Jan. 14 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews