Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing you can say but AMAZING
Once again I was pleased to read a book that is both interesting and fast-paced. John Sandford is the master of his genre and Davenport is the ultimate lead character.
Published on Nov. 15 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 'man-hunt' for Clara Rinker
Clara Rinker was the female assassin Lucas Davenport met in an earlier book, Certain Prey. She managed to escape both him and the FBI, and have been hiding in Mexico. Something terrible happens down there, and Clara is forced to go back to the States to seek revenge. While Clara gets aquainted with old friends and foes, Davenport and the FBI figures out, that because of...
Published on June 20 2004 by Louise


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 'man-hunt' for Clara Rinker, June 20 2004
By 
Louise (Copenhagen V, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Clara Rinker was the female assassin Lucas Davenport met in an earlier book, Certain Prey. She managed to escape both him and the FBI, and have been hiding in Mexico. Something terrible happens down there, and Clara is forced to go back to the States to seek revenge. While Clara gets aquainted with old friends and foes, Davenport and the FBI figures out, that because of the incidents in Mexico, they should begin looking for Clara in the States again. Soon dead bodies start to turn up, and there is no doubt in Davenport's mind that it is Clara's work. But neither he nor the FBI can find her. Lucas is helping out the feds, but it is not before he starts investigating on his own, with the help from a couple of retired cops, that he starts to find the rigth track. Question is, will Clara succeed in escaping this time as well?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing you can say but AMAZING, Nov. 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mortal Prey (Hardcover)
Once again I was pleased to read a book that is both interesting and fast-paced. John Sandford is the master of his genre and Davenport is the ultimate lead character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pull up a Comfortable Davenport, March 7 2004
By 
tertius3 (MI United States) - See all my reviews
Looking through the 'scope, this novel features exotic locales for Lucas Davenport, well outside his usual Twin Cities ambit, and a new treat for the reader. Perhaps these varied settings presage a wider field of action as Davenport moves to a new, state job in the next novel. Viewed from the other end, I didn't find the excessive personal tensions and psycho-logical horror that he often encounters in his earlier cases. Although numerous changes are impending in his life, they play little role here. This is a stroll for Lucas, who leads all the work, and contributes all the leads, at a comfortable yet rapid pace. A nice vacation from fear for the reader, too, since the killer's hits are on people you won't particularly like. Incidentally, this could be a good book for retirees, who would be proud of the retired St. Lou gum-shoes who do good work (ALL the work, one might say, since the FBI seems only good for looking up 'phone numbers :).
Davenport's quarry is once again the memorably endearing professional of CERTAIN PREY, Clara Rinker, coming back into Lucas' conflicted life. Clara is ingenious and constantly surprising, ruthlessly efficient and creative. She is as confident as ever and bent on multiple revenges, less enigmatic in aims than Sandford's usual psychos but as devious in means as ever. Stalking her ends up much deeper than you initially suspect. I found very little was extraneous to the plot, despite a high page count. Numerous characters come and go, some stereotyped for the plot, but each each well and contrastively characterized. There are two developments in Davenport's slowly progressing family life. Lucas shows he is one in a long line of sentimental detectives in literature, but very close to the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prey that Carla Rinker doesn't come looking for you!, March 4 2004
By 
Christian Dorr "cdorr_1977" (Davenport, IA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mortal Prey is the story of Clara Rinker and her search for revenge for the killing of her baby and her future husband. Rinker knows who probably hired the hit on her so she heads for them immediately. Along the way we get to see more of what Rinker has done in her past and almost feel sympathy for her.
Davenport is called in by the FBI to help track Rinker down because he's the only one thats survived dealing with her (I've not read Certain Prey yet) in the past. In addition to tracking down Rinker, Davenport is burdened with building a new house, getting ready for a wedding and a new baby.
The setting for this book is mostly in St. Louis but some parts take place elsewhere. Characters from past books also show up in this book.
I found this book to be less dark than some of the other four books in the Prey series that I've read. Reading the other books in the Prey series are not necessary to enjoy this book, but they would help in understanding who Davenport is and how he does what he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sandford delivers consistently in the Prey series., Jan. 11 2004
By 
Sheri in Reho (Rehoboth Beach, DE) - See all my reviews
I have now read 6 or 8 of the novels in the Prey series and I have to give it to John Sandford for consistently delivering satisfying and entertaining novels. This one, in fact, has one of the more satisfying endings of any novel in recent memory (anti-climactic perhaps, but nonetheless satisfying).
Whereas most of the Prey series takes place in or near Minneapolis, Lucas Davenport's home base, and includes a predictable cast of characters (Weather, Marcy, Del, Anne Marie), this novel takes place mostly in and around St. Louis, where Lucas takes the FBI's offer to help track down the notorious contract killer, Clara Rinker. Most of the usual characters play a very lowkey role in this book but that's okay, because there is a new and interesting cast to supplant them.
Deep within himself, Lucas respects how flawlessly Clara is able to pull off her jobs and still evade the authorities. Like many of the law enforcement officials he works with on the case, he really wants to bring down Clara Rinker. Unlike most of his colleagues, he sees her humanity. He knows where she comes from...what kind of haunted life...and he can't help but feel sorry for the kind of childhood that led her to this.
This is a little different side of Lucas...more introspective...less of the ladie's man and the joker. I really liked it...it was a nice change of pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Davenport- playing by his own rules, Sept. 16 2003
This review is from: Mortal Prey (Hardcover)
John Sandford brings a previous antagonist back in this, the 13th book in his series.
Clara Rinker was one of Lucas Davenport's most dangerous foes. While Davenport is facing fatherhood, his wedding, rebuilding his home and some career challenges. All these things must go on without him as he is suddenly yanked from his "normal" life when Clara Rinker resurfaces. After a lengthy disappearance and an attempt on her life, she is threatening to kill a list of individuals. Since Davenport is one of the few people to have dealt with her and survived, the FBI calls him in to assist them on their investigation. Davenport proceeds in his usual manner to assist them, ie. he plays by his own rules and is not drawn in to the standard methods of investigating.
The characters ring true and the pace of the novel is rapid, driven by revenge, love and justice. John Sandford manages to keep his Davenport series strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a literary cramp, Sept. 7 2003
By 
Daniel J. Connelly "djconnel" (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"The pain pushed through the sleep like an arrow, and he rose to the surface and tried to tried to stretch his right leg, but the cramp held on and got deeper, and Lucas groaned, "Man, man, man-o-man-o-man," and tried to knead it out, but the cramp held on for fifteen seconds, twenty, then began to slacken.
Thus chapter 12 opens with perhaps the most convoluted, ill-formed run-on sentence I've ever read in published literature. This is just the most egregious example. Elsewhere, action scenes are described unclearly, often requiring rereading to clarify the flow.
So on the local scale, the book falls short. Clearly it lacks the level of editing and revision expected from a professional work. But on the global scale, it also fails. The book has the feel of being written on a page budget, the plot development dictated by the page number rather than by events and circumstances. After clumsy middle-chapter plodding, things are wrapped up with remarkable efficiency as the magic number of 400 is approached.
The problem here is that Sandford, like so many best-selling authors, has gone to writing two books per year instead of the still-challenging one. Compromises must be made, quality must suffer, but profit justifies all. "Mortal Prey" rings with but an echo of the magic of such classics as "Winter Prey". It's not a total loss -- the echo, at least, is still there. But why settle?
Unfortunately for me, this is the second consecuting Prey book which has missed the target, after "Easy Prey". So I am afraid I must now move on. My strong recommendation -- start with Rules of Prey and go through the series. The early books shine where these late works fail. Don't fall "prey" to the "best seller" syndrome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding local research, excellent story, July 9 2003
By 
ArchGuy (Creve Coeur, Mo United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mortal Prey (Hardcover)
When I grabbed the book to read, it was the story description that sold me. I was surprised, therefore, to discover that the tale takes place almost literally in my own back yard, since I live in the metropolitan St. Louis area. Sandford's research was excellent. I wasn't really able to spot anything I could fault him on. For a local, this made the read even more interesting since I was able to visualize everything much more easily.
The story itself initially was a bit disjointed in the setup, but came together quickly. I found Clara Rinker to be a sympathetic villainess, and at times I was even pulling for her, much to my surprise. Her motivations and who the real bad guys were at times were a bit complex.
There were things to tug at the heart, and at times you had to wonder "why are there so many pages left?" because it seemed so likely the story had to close soon. Sandford found a way to turn the tables, of course.
I was very pleased with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding local research, excellent story, July 9 2003
By 
ArchGuy (Creve Coeur, Mo United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mortal Prey (Hardcover)
When I grabbed the book to read, it was the story description that sold me. I was surprised, therefore, to discover that the tale takes place almost literally in my own back yard, since I live in the metropolitan St. Louis area. Sandford's research was excellent. I wasn't really able to spot anything I could fault him on. For a local, this made the read even more interesting since I was able to visualize everything much more easily.
The story itself initially was a bit disjointed in the setup, but came together quickly. I found Clara Rinker to be a sympathetic villainess, and at times I was even pulling for her, much to my surprise. Her motivations and who the real bad guys were at times were a bit complex.
There were things to tug at the heart, and at times you had to wonder "why are there so many pages left?" because it seemed so likely the story had to close soon. Sandford found a way to turn the tables, of course.
I was very pleased with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rinker (hitwoman) redux, June 12 2003
By 
David W. Nicholas (Van Nuys, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
John Sandford's Prey series has a strong following now, and this isn't the book (despite the blurb inside the cover) to start the series with. But if you're already into the series, this is a very good novel with a number of plot twists and interesting characters.
The action starts in Mexico, where Clara Rinker (the escaped killer in Certain Prey) is almost killed by an assassin, who escapes only to be killed by an accomplice. You're never certain why she was shot at, or who prompted it, but she seems fairly certain that it was prompted by old acquaintances from her days in St. Louis, MO, and so she returns to try and track them down. When it becomes apparent what's going on, the FBI calls on Lucas Davenport to help find her.
The plot goes from there, and I won't tell you anything more. Suffice to say, the action is pretty evenly paced, throughout, and enough happens to keep you interested for the length of the novel. This is a very good book, worth the time you're going to spend on it, unless you've not read the previous one that involves the lady killer. If that's the case, you should read that one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mortal Prey
Mortal Prey by John Sandford (Hardcover - May 3 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews