Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars48
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 25, 2004
the story was great! Yes, I wanted to skip part one of the book just to get to Eve, Roarke, Peabody, etc. but I endured just to make part two make sense as far as the mystery goes.
Part one was interesting as a romance/mystery but as far as romance goes, I didn't feel like Laine and Max actually fell in love. Lust, yes. But love? (Let me put it like Roarke would say, "Hmm.") And, yes, I do believe that love at first sight can be pulled off but not in this story. While saying all that, I still like the story. It was intense about the diamonds and all. And of course there is a parallel between Laine being the criminal like Roarke and Max being the cop/PI like Eve. If all four had actually sat down and talked, that would have been interesting.
Now, part two did not disappoint me! No J.D. Robb mystery has yet disappointed me! Sharp dialogue, kick a** scenes, mystery, and of course love, hey-- you can't go wrong. One thing I was waiting on was for Eve or Roarke to buy a replacement goldfish for Samantha. And another thing I was waiting on was for the deep meaning about how that lunatic was the lunatic's grandson. The lunacy skipped a generation. So... don't you think Eve and Roarke would wonder about their own, as yet to be talked about in great detail, kids? Personally, I can't wait to read about Eve pregnant AND moody with more attitude than what she already has! New York murderers, beware! And wouldn't it just be a kick in the head if she had twins? They do run in the family...
I flat out love this series. And if you haven't heard, according to Nora Robert's website, the In Death series is optioned for screenplay. Interesting to see who they will get to play these characters if it does make it to film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2004
I think that this book was great for introducing Nora Roberts' fans to J.D. Robb. I only recently started reading Roberts but I've read all of her newer romance/mistery books and really liked them. I was a little wary of trying Robb and "Remember When" was a great crash course into the series. The problem with introducing non-Robb fans to the series this way is that they loose so much of the history of the characters and are a little lost at first with the unfamiliar slang for things that we don't have yet. The second half was so good though, and so different from the normal Roberts stuff that it made me want to read the series, which I immediately did. I definately thought that the Robb part was better than the Roberts part. That is probably because I'd burned myself out on Roberts and the plot was a little simple, but I think that was because both stories were shorter than her normal lengths and there wasn't enough area to develop the best plots. I really love Roberts, but I love Robb more and if you have read this book and didn't like Eve or didn't like the characters it is probably because you haven't read more of the series and haven't had time to fall in love with her enough. Eve is a great character, but if you come into the middle of the series, you loose how much heart she has (and she has a lot of heart).
Read Robb's other books before you give up on it all together.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2004
I have to agree with one of the other reviews on this book in regards to Part 2 not really involving the Samantha Gannon character. When I first started reading it I had assumed that Part 2 would be about Laine Tavish's granddaughter, but it wasn't. It only referred to the book Samantha was writing. Samantha was a big part of the first chapter of Part 2, but then that was it. The rest of Part 2 was about Eve and Roarke and being I haven't read any other J.D. Robb novels I can't say I understood their humor, marriage, or background nor did I really care for the character of Eve. I found Eve to be rude, obnoxious and down right nasty to the "little" people like waiters, doormen, security guards, receptionists. It appears Eve claims her rude personality is a privilege for her lieutenant position and thinks nothing of treating those in lower positions like dirt. She even encourages Peabody to do the same. As a prior receptionist and security guard, I can guarantee there are detectives and lieutenants that do not conduct themselves in this childish manner and still get what they need to do their jobs. I've always gone out of my way in order to help police personnel and never once was I treated the way Eve treated everybody. I guess I'm writing a book on this topic, but it's really the only thing that annoyed me in Remember When. I won't be reading any more J.D. Robb novels, but I will still read books by Nora Roberts. Overall, it was a good mystery, but I kind of figured out who the killer was after the second chapter in Part 2 which left me flipping pages on Eve and Roarke's awful sex scenes just to finish the book. Part 1 gets a 5, Part 2 gets a 3, overall a 4.
I think a mistake the author makes alot in her books is that she tends to give away vital information that takes away from the mystery of the book. Re: Hidden Riches among others. For example, in the part when Max and Jack O'Hara went into Ohio to see Alex Crews' ex-wife she should've taken out the fact the there was a son involved and that they supposedly moved to Florida. It ruined the whole mystery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2003
Laine Tavish, owner of a growing antique shop in tiny Angel's Gap, has struggled to put down roots and shed her past as Elaine O'Hara, daughter of a small-time crook. Building a comfortable life for herself, she covets her privacy almost as much as she values her friends. But all that she has worked for is suddenly threatened by an odd visitor to her shop, which is even more disturbing when she recognizes him (too late) from long ago, just seconds before he dies in her arms. He ran straight from his encounter with her into the street and the path of a car. The words he whispered as he slipped away made no sense to Laine. While she is puzzling over what it means, she encounters another stranger to her little town: handsome and charming Max Gannon. Laine wonders if he is a friend or a foe. Once she decides, her life becomes even more complicated.
Big Jack O'Hara, Laine's father, finally hit the big time with a diamond heist. Trouble is he hooked up with a very nasty fellow named Alex Crew, who never intended to split the take. Since Big Jack disappeared with the goods, Crew figures he has stashed them somewhere, and he's betting that somewhere is with Laine. He ransacks her home and her store, leaving her more angry than spooked. But he doesn't stop with just a wild search of her house. Fortunately, Big Jack taught Laine how to take care of herself. By the end of the first half of the book, almost everything seems well wrapped up. But there's more --- much more.
Over fifty years later Laine's granddaughter, Samantha Gannon, writes a book about the decades-old heist. Samantha's elation over the book's success is quickly overshadowed by the discovery of her house sitter dead in her apartment. When another body turns up, the police sniff out the connection and the investigation gets hot.
Lt. Eve Dallas lands the case and handles it with great aplomb. She tolerates no nonsense, tells it like it is, and commands a great deal of respect. She wants this guy --- bad. The murders are so cruel and violent, and Dallas believes that time is running out --- for her investigation and possibly for Samantha Gannon. She fears Sam just might be the next victim.
The 480 pages of REMEMBER WHEN virtually flash by. Once you get involved in Laine's life --- and the lives of her family --- you'll be kicked back in your easy chair for hours of relaxed enjoyment. Nora Roberts has hit on a winning combination.
--- Reviewed by Kate Ayers
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2003
For fans of either of the author's personas (Nora Roberts or J. D. Robb), Remember When is a truly entertaining and novel approach to the genre. What has always been Roberts' (and Robb's) strong point are present in this novel as well. We see very strong lead female characters that are able to balance their sensual sides along with their work lives, as well as the turmoil thrown at them unexpectedly.
The first part of the novel is Nora Roberts writing as herself--a romance that brings its duo together with a diamond heist and intrigue as backdrop. While the second half is J D Robb's turn to shine, as the story picks up about 50 years after the first half ends. We meet up with Robb's Lieutenant Eve Dallas as she comes across a murder connected to those diamonds from the first half. Characters from Roberts' half of the novel are only peripheral to the second half so each part is essentially a stand alone novel.
Roberts does both halves well; writing a sexy, fun, and fast-paced romance with some intrigue and plenty of steam and then follows it up with a much edgier who-dunnit with her very sexy (and wounded) Eve and Roarke. As far as characterization goes, the Robb half has the first half beat by far. This half has the benefit of reprising the "In Death" series characters. Eve and Roarke are a great pairing and each novel brings their relationship more depth (complimenting the sensual scenes well). While their motivation seems to be pretty one-dimensional, their quirks grow more endearing with each book. As for villains, well, they leave more to be desired. We only know them through short scenes and the protagonists' view points. So if you are looking for something that delves into the criminal mind, this isn't the type of novel you are looking for.
But what truly makes this novel is the approach to telling the story. There are two very distinct ways the two halves of the story are told. Nora Roberts fans who have never read a J D Robb novel should beware. Robb's stories are told with a lot more edge and violence. The strong female lead, the humor, the sensual nature are all carried through both voices, but Robb tells the story in very different language. The focus is not on Eve and Roarke, but on the crime and the solving of said crime. If you are a fan of both "authors" this is a must read, you will enjoy the continuity and the almost voyeuristic sneak peak in the characters from the Roberts half.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2003
I've been reading Nora Roberts for nearly as long as she's been writing, and have enjoyed seeing her talent grow as a writer. Here, she combines both her personas/aliases into one book. Part one is more standard romantic suspense; Part Two is the futuristic detective mystery featuring Eve Dallas. The entire story centers around a diamond heist, and the stones that were stolen. I found myself reading more for the mystery element and found the occasional bits of steamy hot sex to be mildly distracting. If you're familiar with Ms. Roberts work under either her own name or her pseudonym of J.D. Robb, you'll probably be satisfied with this book. If you've never read her before, this isn't one I'd necessarily recommend as a "starter" - Part Two relies heavily, I think, on prior knowledge of Eve Dallas and her world, and so some characters aren't as fully fleshed out in Part Two as they are in Part One.
While the mystery/suspense portions are fairly simple (I figured out who was the Big Bad fairly early in the book), the writing remains Ms. Roberts's typical style - that is, her characters act and talk like real people; she's not afraid to use pop culture to flesh out her world; the sex isn't written in such purple prose that you laugh out loud at the descriptions, nor is it so descriptively pornographic that you're offended [though this is definitely a PG-15 book with the descriptions of blood, violence, and sex]; and overall, it's a fairly enjoyable reading.
What I didn't like, and what keeps this from being a 5 star review, is the sheer length of the story. Some of the scenes dragged on too long, some of the descriptions for the characters were unnecessary (Peabody seemed to take more center stage than she should have, which I would find distracting if I didn't understand there's a story arc with her through the other Eve Dallas stories), and the Bad Guys were cardboard villians. Additionally, the ending felt flat, too Hollywood, and I didn't feel like anyone tried too hard to get anything. Nora Roberts did a much better job with thieves, IMO, in one of her older books, and writing as J.D. Robb, I think she did Eve Dallas better when Eve Dallas was newer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2003
What a great idea! Part 1 is a Nora Roberts romantic suspense. Part 2 takes the story in Part 1 into the future with a J. D. Robb "Eve Dallas" finale. 5 STARS for the setup alone!
As far as content goes, there is nothing new or exciting in the Nora Roberts half, although it is a still a good story. Most J. D. Robb fans will acknowledge that the last few Eve Dallas stories have been a little lackluster. We are hoping it is a buildup to new and better things for Eve and Roarke. 4 STARS.

This makes my average rating 4.5 stars. I had to go with 4 stars overall rather than 5, because the whole book lacks the tension or edginess that I like in a NR/JDR book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2004
For the longest time, many readers including myself did not know that Nora Roberts and J.D. Robb were the same the same person. This new book "Remember When" combines these two talents together. The book opens up the stealing of diamonds in 2004 and the love between a P.I. and the suspect daughter's The second takes us to the future where once again the diamonds are up for graps and Roarke and Eve Dallas are on the case.
I have to admitt that I enjoyed the second part of the book with Dallas and Roarke than the first half. The action in the first seem to drag and I couldn't wait to get the second half. This is a great book, but the first section did seem a bit slow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2004
This was a good story, but it was wrapped up a little too neatly at the end of each half. The characters in the first half were well-developed, but I wanted to hear more about them in part 2. Nora Roberts'/JD Robb's trashy sex scenes were prominent in both stories. I started scanning these sections when that got old, as it usually does for me with her books.
I really wanted to know more about Samantha in part 2. The villain in that half just made me want to slap him. Lots more character development could have been done.
Overall, a good story, but predictable ending.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2004
I find it amazing that so many people don't like the second part of the book. Please don't judge the second part as "boring". If you were a J.D. Robb Fan, you would understand the characters better. Eve and Roarke have been around for about 17 books so this book just continues their story. Please don't judge the characters until you get to know them in other stories.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse