Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 39 Clues for Adults
"Listen, I tell you a mystery: . . . ." 1 Corinthians 15:51

If you enjoy watching the Great Race television show and like intellectual puzzles, you'll enjoy Spartan Gold. But other than having bad guys trying to do in the good guys (and gals), this book won't feel very much like a Dirk Pitt thriller. I've been enjoying the adolescent series, the 39 Clues,...
Published on Sept. 16 2009 by Donald Mitchell

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning, this is ghostwritten or smells like it
Clive Cussler puts out some great books. This isn't one of them. In fact it feels like he wrote an outline on a napkin and then the co-author wrote the book. It's not bad, but it isn't Cussler either.
Published on Oct. 11 2009 by D. R. Chevalier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 39 Clues for Adults, Sept. 16 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spartan Gold (Hardcover)
"Listen, I tell you a mystery: . . . ." 1 Corinthians 15:51

If you enjoy watching the Great Race television show and like intellectual puzzles, you'll enjoy Spartan Gold. But other than having bad guys trying to do in the good guys (and gals), this book won't feel very much like a Dirk Pitt thriller. I've been enjoying the adolescent series, the 39 Clues, recently and I found Spartan Gold to be an adult version of that entertaining saga.

As the book opens, Napoleon is crossing the Alps to begin his second Italian campaign in winter. While there, something amazing is discovered that becomes the mystery that is solved in Spartan Gold. The book then shifts to the present where two wealthy archeologists and treasure seekers, the married couple Sam and Remi Fargo, are searching for a rumored stash in a swamp. They find something quite different from what they expect and are soon caught up in an obsessive criminal's search for items related to his presumed roots. In the process, they stumble on clues that are hard to solve and take them quickly from one country to another . . . usually just a few minutes ahead of the competition.

How much you like this book depends a lot on how much you like Sam and Remi as characters. Their dialogue and tastes reminded me of Nick and Nora Charles, but their ability to mix it up with baddies is more like Charlie's Angels. Sam and Remi rely more on thinking, deception, and martial arts than on brute force . . . but they can shoot straight when they have to. I found that they grew on me as the book went along. I think that the authors didn't do enough to establish their backgrounds in the book's beginning. By the time a second novel comes out in this series, I'm sure I'll like them better. As a new type of Cussler story, Spartan Gold lacks the high-flying technology that can make the Dirk Pitt and Oregon Files books so fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True couples' adventure, July 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spartan Gold (Audio CD)
This story adventure from the Cussler franchise was a truly enjoyable one, as it gave a new direction to Clive's adventure novels. This first book with the husband and wife adventure team of Sam and Remi Fargo got things off with an excellent story with lots of twists and turns. A definite good read, and the next editions are even better, as the characters are well developed and written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Clive Cussler. The Fargos are great. They certainly have great chemistry and their quick wit is very entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First book of a new serie, Feb. 11 2010
By 
Vesperatus (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spartan Gold (Hardcover)
This is a rock solid start for those new characters and new settings. I cant wait to read more.

The 2 new characters are really great and the story is really well paced.

This is a really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spartan Gold was an amazing read!, March 3 2010
By 
Tamara A. Macdonald (Mount Stewart, PE, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartan Gold (Hardcover)
This book arrived in almost perfect condition! The shipping was extremely reasonable and arrived in a very short time. I will absolutely be ordering from Amazon again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning, this is ghostwritten or smells like it, Oct. 11 2009
This review is from: Spartan Gold (Hardcover)
Clive Cussler puts out some great books. This isn't one of them. In fact it feels like he wrote an outline on a napkin and then the co-author wrote the book. It's not bad, but it isn't Cussler either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae78c210)

This product

Spartan Gold
Spartan Gold by Clive Cussler (Hardcover - Sept. 1 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews