Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Moral
In this Fable there are two mouse couples. One couple lives in the town the other in the country. One day the two mice cross paths and decide to switch homes because both couples have always wanted to live in the opposite place. After a short while in the town the country mice decide that rather than being refined and interesting it is way to loud and busy. They are...
Published on March 12 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
I generally love Jan Brett's work and "Town Mouse Country Mouse" is no exception. As with all of Brett's stories, there is the title story and usually one or two going on in the margins. The title story was superb and beautiful. However, the margin story of the cat and the owl I disliked. I understand they were necessary as an element of suspense when they...
Published on Dec 29 2001 by Jessica Cameron


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Moral, March 12 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Town Mouse Country Mouse (Hardcover)
In this Fable there are two mouse couples. One couple lives in the town the other in the country. One day the two mice cross paths and decide to switch homes because both couples have always wanted to live in the opposite place. After a short while in the town the country mice decide that rather than being refined and interesting it is way to loud and busy. They are so scared by the town. Meanwhile in the country the town mice are going crazy with the dirt and the noise of nature, after all they expected it to be peaceful. The Town mice come across an owl and are so frightened that they decide to leave so they run as fast as they can. The town mice end up bumping into the country mice that are running from a scary cat they met up with. In a hurry the two couples exchange comments and return to their original homes and have never been so happy to be there.
I loved this story. It well told with vivid pictures that immediately catch the eye. This is a great story because there is a lesson to be learned. The author wants to illustrate the importance of appreciating where you are. Although it may not be perfect, it is always better then somewhere else. Also things are not always what they seem or as easy as they seem. I really enjoyed reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully illustrated, inspired presentation...., Aug. 5 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Town Mouse Country Mouse (Hardcover)
This is the first book I've seen by Jan Brett. The story was so well written that my daughter, aged 4, and I would have thoroughly enjoyed the book even without the pictures. But those pictures! Each time we read the book, we find some new aspect of the illustrations to focus on and enjoy. We checked this book out of our library, and will have to return it soon. But my daughter will receive her own copy for her birthday this December. If you want to present your child with excellent story-telling, as well as beautiful artwork, this one's a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, March 19 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Town Mouse Country Mouse (Hardcover)
THE BOOK WAS VERY EXICTING AND YOU NEVER KNEW WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT. THERE WERE EXCELLENT DRAWINGS. I HAVE SIX OF HER BOOKS SUCH AS TROUBLE WITH TROLLS,THE HAT, THE MITTEN,COMETS NINE LIVES, ,BERLIOZ THE BEAR AND COUNTRY MOUSE TOWN MOUSE. I COLLECT HER BOOKS FOR THERE DETILES AND WRITING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, Dec 29 2001
By 
Jessica Cameron (Decatur, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Town Mouse Country Mouse (Hardcover)
I generally love Jan Brett's work and "Town Mouse Country Mouse" is no exception. As with all of Brett's stories, there is the title story and usually one or two going on in the margins. The title story was superb and beautiful. However, the margin story of the cat and the owl I disliked. I understand they were necessary as an element of suspense when they entered the title story, but they detracted not only from the presentation of the book but the actual fable as well. I like this book, but Brett's "The Hat," "The Mitten," or "Beauty and the Beast" are much more unified in coherance between the title story and the margin stories. Happy Reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SWITCHING PLACES =), Nov. 28 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Town Mouse Country Mouse (Hardcover)
A good moral book. I agree! It talks about how these mouse familys switch places to see how eachother lives and to see what it is like to live like eachother! A GOOD BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PEEKING ENCOURAGED, April 17 2004
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Town Mouse Country Mouse (Hardcover)
Children often hear "No peeking!" A clever book designer encourages them to peek in this story of two mice cousins who temporarily trade residences.
Cleverly placed peepholes encourage youngsters to peek and see what new adventure awaits each mouse before turning the page.
Not only is this a fun book, but there's also a moral to the story: There's no place like home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, Oct. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Jan Brett's books, and this is another example with a sweet story and beautiful illustrations. My twin five year old girls love these stories and enjoy looking through the books on their own too, enjoying the pictures and retelling the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Town Mouse Country Mouse
Town Mouse Country Mouse by Jan Brett (Hardcover - Jan. 11 2002)
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews