Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Hamm approaches the student with respect...#1 book
"Drawing the Head & Figure" by Jack Hamm
'Practice the "rough"! Hamm writes. Jack Hamm's book is refreshingly straightforward. There's nothing here for the "drawing on the right side of my ambition"
crowd. Hamm's freehand illustrations are absolutely PACKED into this book, from 10 to 25 illustrations generally, on each and...
Published on June 30 2004 by Bruce Bain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but check everything
I'm an old guy that hasn't drawn for many years. Got the bug again & bought this book to help me get up to speed. So far it's been mostly helpful but when I was trying a profile using the divisions on page 27 it just didn't look right. So I took a digital photo of a profile & started dividing it up. As far as I can tell. the forehead needs to be a lot higher in...
Published on Dec 24 2002 by Bruce Ordway


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Hamm approaches the student with respect...#1 book, June 30 2004
By 
Bruce Bain "Romans 9:33/Remember Jackie Robinson" (Englewood, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
"Drawing the Head & Figure" by Jack Hamm
'Practice the "rough"! Hamm writes. Jack Hamm's book is refreshingly straightforward. There's nothing here for the "drawing on the right side of my ambition"
crowd. Hamm's freehand illustrations are absolutely PACKED into this book, from 10 to 25 illustrations generally, on each and every page with brief but concise text.
Hamm's presentation does not overwhelm the beginner because he does not use a confusing style of teaching. It's as though he took Stephen Peck's "Atlas of Anatomy for the Artist" and reduced it to its bare essential text, while at the same time, increasing the number of illustrations in the book. I'm truly amazed at how much good basic instruction Hamm has packed into only 120 pages. He is to be complimented.
$11.95 is the list price, but Amazon discounts that down to $9.56, and with the many clunky HOW-TO-DRAW books are approaching $20 and $30, this is one of the best bargains on the market.
Want to know how to draw the shoulder, the "six-pack" (abdomen), the pectorals, upper body and the neck? Hamm shows how better than 95% of the drawing books on the market today.
Hamm devotes an entire page each, to show how to draw lips, nose, eyes, etc. Likewise, there is an entire page to show closed hands, and another entire page to show the open hand. The Nose page shows 21 different styles of noses. And on page 41, Hamm shows the SIMPLIFIED FIGURETTE, with an Egg-shaped head, egg-shaped chest, egg-shaped pelvis, a couple of stick legs and arms, and illustrates its use in dynamic action poses. BRAVO!
Another feature I like about Hamm is that he has acheived clear mental focus. That is to say, when he offers a book on "drawing" there's nothing in there on Working With Color, or Painting, or Composition, or worse, attempts to burden the student by imposing metaphysical ideas. Hamm approaches the student with respect. When he titles his book "DRAWING" then drawing is exactly the subject he treats, and not other complicated and non-essential matters. By the way, Hamm does offer separate books on the subjects of:
"Still-Life Drawing and Painting" "How to Draw Animals"
"Drawing Scenery: Landscapes and Seascapes" etc. all at bargain prices.
Hamm reminds me of the working draftsmen of the Rennaissance era with his uncomplicated teaching method, and he's a teacher for the working day. If I could rate it higher, I certainly would. Jack Hamm's book belongs #1 of all beginner drawing books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed, Jan. 18 2007
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
This is how you write books; complete, detailed and also a good reference. This is a writer who actually wants to teach you something, even when it means for example that he has to draw 40-60 legs to get his point across. I write educational stuff myself and I know one thing that is important; details. Jack Hamm understand this and it's not without a reason why his books are still so popular after 44 years. Jack, if you can hear me; well done sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets you going...right away., Oct. 24 2001
By 
Ganapathy Subramaniam (Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
--
This is an excellent book for the beginner to get started on drawing the human body right away.
Pick up a pencil, charcoal or whatever (ballpoint pen is a real tool too!) and start drawing what Jack says. In no time you will be amazed at what you can draw.
The lessons are profusely illustrated but the text is very concise and hence one has to focus on what he says carefully.
It begins with the head, moves to the body , details the hand and goes on to clothing, dealing both the female and the male equally well. There are hundreds of *tips* that one can learn in this book.
For example the author talks about the 'T' technique. Using this very simple observational method one can capture the realism of an object in terms of how the edges of the objects are all made of different forms of the letter 'T'. And using this technique one can depict the 3 dimensional illusion on paper. Especially this helps is drawing the human body. (if you are wondering what the hell this is, pls take a look inside the book)
There are countless number of such practical tips, using which one can, not only start drawing right away, but also learn how to approach drawing the body on their own.
The secret of using Jack's book is to pick up a lesson, one at a time, follow the tips and practice that lesson until one can draw that particular piece without seeing. Also 'Read what he says very carefully', 'Pay attention to every word'.
A more personal approach and continuity in the conversation with the student as one progresses thru the pages and more 'exercises' and a note on how to use the book, which one takes a while to figure out would have earned it 5 stars.
But.. it has *practical* tips and techniques to make anybody with the desire, to draw a human body with ease and confidence......Right away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the anatomy artist beginner, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
Step by step instructions with good illustrations, make this one a must have for any anatomy beginner artist. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
I bought three books from Jack Hamm (landscape, animals and heads and figures) and they are all excellent. My only critic about this one is the fact that all figure are sexless, like angel. I don't want to draw organ details but somes nice natural woman drawn in a nice wild setting is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and sweet!, Dec 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
I love that book. It's pretty easy to understand the proportion and the body shape without take hours to read a lot of text. I like it in that way: understand with the eyes first, not with long text. It's a very complete book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete one-book reference on drawing head and figure., Jan. 18 2004
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
This book is a clearly written, easy to follow, detailed and concise handbook to drawing the head and figure by using several different approaches and understanding the anatomy of the human body from the outside without going deeper into its musculature or skeletal structure. This fully illustrated reference contains over 900 diagrams and illustrations and is structured into fourteen carefully organized sections that pack into one book, without leaving anything out, all the information that usually takes other authors 2 or 3 volumes.
The author covers general topics like figure and head construction, basic lines of the figure, head patterns, angles and comparisons, movements, proportions and simplified figures. He also goes into specific topics like facial features, hair, torso, neck and shoulders, arms, hands, legs, and feet. As an added bonus he includes not so common topics such as youth and age, and clothing, but as a warning, note that most fashion elements like clothing, hairstyles and makeup are from the 1960's since this volume is a reprint of a book originally published in 1963.
By studying this book as if it were a textbook on a course, doing all the exercises and reviewing each section afterwards, I have noticeably improved my drawings in a very short time.
If you are a beginner, this is the first book you should buy to understand the fundamentals of head and figure drawing before going into deeper, more complicated and not so thorough figure drawing books. If you are a seasoned or professional artist, get this book to discover new principles and techniques to experiment with. This book is a must for any artist's bookshelf.
--Reviewed by M. E. Volmar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, Feb. 24 2010
By 
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
If one can forgive the rather awkward and chaotic layout of the pages, I think the book is a rather interesting read. There are many many many examples that illustrate almost directly what the author writes about, so merely copying those drawings can already be very good exercise. There is a lot of detailed and precision talk involved in the drawings, but the language is fairly straightforward, so most people could understand and enjoy it. The drawing style is 'comic realistic', so if you like the more vintage comic book Superman kind of drawing, this book's definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best!, Oct. 24 2007
By 
Angela Williams "Entertainment Buzz" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
Att: Intermediate and advanced artists. When it comes to drawing the human body, this is the best reference book you'll ever need. It's diagrams and pictures are straight foward examples to learn from, for those who are more visual, like myself. All in all, everything I've ever needed to know through design school was in this book. It's a must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The #1 Best Figure Drawing Book, June 14 2004
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Figure (Paperback)
I've read several anatomy and figure drawing books and flipped through a bunch more. I think this is probably the very best figure drawing book of all. Anatomy books generally just throw a bunch of bones and muscles at you and teach you nothing about drawing them. You soon forget the names of most of the bones and muscles and you're not much better off. In the opposite extreme, Anthony Ryder's book gives you a few good drawing tips, but that's all. Jack Hamm's book is different and far better than the others. He points out the shapes of the human body in many different positions and shows you how they are defined by light and shadow. He tells you hundreds of details about how different parts of the human body look and should be drawn. He makes you aware of so many things that help you visualize and draw the human body. He gives you a much deeper understanding of the body. I wanted to be able to construct bodies from my imagination instead of being limited to copying what I see. This book helps you do both. You can draw something better if you understand it better. He teaches you what kinds of things to observe about the human body, so that you are able to observe and learn even more after you have finished reading the book.
And even though this book seems modern, by the time I finished it I got the feeling that this book taught me a lot of what the great old masters knew, before modern art took over the art world. This is the real book you should get if you want to be good at figure drawing, not that horrible hoax of a book "The Natural Way to Draw" by Nicolaides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawing the Head and Figure
Drawing the Head and Figure by Jack Hamm (Paperback - Jan. 17 2002)
CDN$ 16.00 CDN$ 11.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews