Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great boot for beginners to intermediate
Of all the Cantonese books I've seen, I find this one to be clearly the best. No funky pinyin - this one is the same as found in most other Cantonese books - clear focus on spoken language only - don't even think of beginning to learn reading or writing with this ! - but very practical, progressive, pedagogical and clear, modern and even (sometimes) funny !
Published on May 24 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR BEGGINERS
THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL BECAUSE IT'S ACCOMPANIED BY TAPE THAT GOES WITH IT. HOWEVER THIS BOOK GOT ME QUITE FRUSTRATED BECAUSE IT'S REALLY MORE SUITABLE FOR THE ADVANCE. FOR YOU WHO HAD JUST LEARNED TO SAY 1 TO 10 IN CANTONESE, TRY PLIMSEUR... IT'S A GREAT HELP.
Published on Jan. 15 2001 by dewi kartika kurniawati


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great Beginner Book, July 22 2003
By 
brooklyngirl "jnettie77" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Colloquial Cantonese (Paperback)
This is a good book if you really want to learn the language and have alot of time. It organizes everything by subject (time, shopping, etc.) with a list of vocabulary and dialogues. There are complete translations for any new phrases, plus they explain grammar so you really understand what you are saying and can apply it later on with new words you learn. The exercises are a little difficult until you really have a handle on the new words and phrases. You may not like this if you are going to Hong Kong and want to learn fast. This also teaches Hong Kong dialect, so there are some differences from Mainland Cantonese (my boyfriend's family is from Canton) but there is nothing that won't be understood anyway. It really explains the tones and I have been told by native speakers that my pronounciation is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to understand!, June 30 2002
I didn't know anything cantonese when I picked up this book and tape set, and like another reviewer, after having spent quite some time with it all I remember is the word mango (an English cognate). I eventually gave up in frustration mainly because I couldn't figure out how to pronounce the words; They're book includes a pronunciation key that is frustatingly useless. If you still want to try it, good luck with colloquial cantonese!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great boot for beginners to intermediate, May 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Colloquial Cantonese (Paperback)
Of all the Cantonese books I've seen, I find this one to be clearly the best. No funky pinyin - this one is the same as found in most other Cantonese books - clear focus on spoken language only - don't even think of beginning to learn reading or writing with this ! - but very practical, progressive, pedagogical and clear, modern and even (sometimes) funny !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great boot for beginners to intermediate, May 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Colloquial Cantonese (Paperback)
Of all the Cantonese books I've seen, I find this one to be clearly the best. No funky pinyin - this one is the same as found in most other Cantonese books - clear focus on spoken language only - don't even think of beginning to learn reading or writing with this ! - but very practical, progressive, pedagogical and clear, modern and even (sometimes) funny !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great boot for beginners to intermediate, May 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Colloquial Cantonese (Paperback)
Of all the Cantonese books I've seen, I find this one to be clearly the best. No funky pinyin - this one is the same as found in most other Cantonese books - clear focus on spoken language only - don't even think of beginning to learn reading or writing with this ! - but very practical, progressive, pedagogical and clear, modern and even (sometimes) funny !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cantonese for beginners and experienced alike., Feb. 6 2002
By 
E. Wu (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Knowing a little cantonese only, it was great to learn a TON more! My sister knows NO cantonese, and this helped her a lot! The CDs are great - great replay value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only for the Ambitious, July 24 2001
By 
Magnus Lewan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You should NOT buy this book if: 1) you are going to Hong-Kong for a week, and want to get the basics of the language. 2) you already know Mandarin or any other language using Chinese characters.
Why? The first 10 or so words you learn are different kinds of fruit. You have to memorize all these to be able to go on to the exercises. This may be fine if you intend to get a huge vocabulary, but for most beginners, 10 different fruits are not the most urgent need. The book goes on in the same way with chunks of specialised but not necessarily useful words.
The next problem is that hardly any Chinese characters are used, so you get little or no help from your possible previous knowledge of Chinese or Japanese. I bought the book, because it provided CDs with the text, and I still think that's its main advantage. I still haven't learnt Cantonese very well, but I've started using another book (Teach Yourself) in parallel, and that helps a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, June 17 2001
By A Customer
This program is very impratical....Cantonese people, especially from Hong Kong do not talk like they do on the cassettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR BEGGINERS, Jan. 15 2001
THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL BECAUSE IT'S ACCOMPANIED BY TAPE THAT GOES WITH IT. HOWEVER THIS BOOK GOT ME QUITE FRUSTRATED BECAUSE IT'S REALLY MORE SUITABLE FOR THE ADVANCE. FOR YOU WHO HAD JUST LEARNED TO SAY 1 TO 10 IN CANTONESE, TRY PLIMSEUR... IT'S A GREAT HELP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars recommended for advanced-beginner, Feb. 8 2000
By 
K. Okada (Bay Area, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book + CDs after I finished another Cantonese text for beginners. If you already have some knowledge on Cantonese, this book really helps you learning more words and colloquial expressions.
One thing I don't like about this book is that all the Cantonese sentences are written only in alphabet. If you already know Chinese characters, it is much easier to remember words and expressions if written in Chinese characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colloquial Cantonese
Colloquial Cantonese by Gregory James (Audio CD - April 17 1997)
CDN$ 37.51 CDN$ 31.38
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews