Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best book I've ever read
Practically everyone who knows me has heard me rave on and on about this book. I read it for the first time about 4 years ago, after picking it up while browsing through the bookstore. I read the excerpt at the front recounting the Vietnamese general's final moments and I was hooked. I recently finished it again, and it was even better this time. Everything that happens...
Published on June 7 1997

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject but not as good as it could have been
I'd heard of Carlos Hathcock and his sniping skills for quite a while now and finally got a chance to read this book. I was disappointed in many ways, the author mentions having trimmed a 700+ page manuscript down, this book seems to still need something done to it. I wasn't expecting a how to manual on becoming a sniper, and this isn't one, but I'd like more about the...
Published on Feb. 18 2002 by A. Burchfield


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best book I've ever read, June 7 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes (Mass Market Paperback)
Practically everyone who knows me has heard me rave on and on about this book. I read it for the first time about 4 years ago, after picking it up while browsing through the bookstore. I read the excerpt at the front recounting the Vietnamese general's final moments and I was hooked. I recently finished it again, and it was even better this time. Everything that happens to Hathcock seems like something out of a movie; something no mortal man could survive. I learned to respect the discipline and will-power of a well-trained Marine, and was left in awe of the effectiveness of the sniper. Charles Henderson does his part, too. He not only tells Hathcock's incredible story, but makes it an immersive, addictive one to read. Through his clear and descriptive writing, the reader is transported back in time to the dark "Charlie"-filled jungles of Vietnam, where he lies beside the sniper known as "Long Tra'ng" and experiences not only the satisfaction of a well-placed shot, but also the emotional struggles that a man must deal with when he takes the life of another one. Undoubtedly a timeless classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, May 28 2004
By 
This review is from: Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes (Mass Market Paperback)
Marine Sniper by Charles Henderson is one of the most gripping books I have ever read. It is the story of Carlos Hatchcock, the forefather of the Marine Sniper program. This book tells of his epic adventures in the jungles of Vietnam. His deadly accuracy and stealth abilities earned him 93 confirmed kills. It tells of his struggles and bravery in the field of battle. It relates account after account of how Carlos stalked the enemy for days on end and used his excellent marksmanship skills to deliver deadly shot after deadly shot. Charles Henderson's purpose in writing this book is to tell the forgotten story of Carlos Hathcock. Once you start this book, you won't be able to put it down; it puts you on the front line with the brave snipers who gave their all. Marine Sniper gives true testament to the struggles and triumphs of the snipers of Vietnam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, April 22 2004
By 
Randy Given (Manchester, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is excellent and better than most fiction along these lines (truth is stranger/better than fiction). The writing does an excellent job of getting to know the sniper. There is a fair amount of jumping around in time, but it never leaves the reader lost. It seems to lose some consistency when Hathcock comes home the first time, almost as if there was a change in authors (perhaps it was done at a later time). Still, definitely a book worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marine Sniper, Great Read, March 9 2004
By 
I originally bought this book a year ago and read it cover to cover in a day. I simply could not put it down, it was that good. Charles Henderson tells the story of Carlos Hathcock from the time he was a little boy and on through him becoming the most famous sniper in history, and even after the war. If your interested in Vietnam and how snipers were used there, this book is a must read. Also check out the sequel, Silent Warriors, it is also a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, Feb. 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book i recomend it to anyone who is into the art of marksmanship and sniping. this book is true motivAtion until the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Book!, Feb. 2 2004
By 
This review is from: Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes (Mass Market Paperback)
This is perhaps the best book I have ever read. It is brilliantly told and gives one a real sense of actually being there. The story takes one through his life starting as a child and shows how he became such a great marksman. This book shows you how Vietnam was for the soldiers and what they had to contend with every day. It covers everything from the good times and funny events to hearing the screams of a fellow soldier being tortured.
Thats what is great about this book it shows one what is happening and draws you into the moment as if you are standing right with them. You feel their pain, their ambitions, and their desires. This book has you holding on by the seat of your pants every page to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The man, the myth (not), the legend (definitely), Jan. 28 2004
By 
William Simmons (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes (Mass Market Paperback)
This book should be required reading for any military buff or anyone interested in sniping either from a historical or practical context. CH is an American hero in so many ways. Not only did he save thousands of American lives in Viet Nam by killing 93 of the enemy, he went on to teach many future snipers to do the same. You will not regret reading this book.
As for the book itself, I think Henderson did a good job of conveying what Hathcock went through. Some parts are a little slow, but on the whole you can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, Dec 19 2003
By 
Ken (Wichita,KS) - See all my reviews
I felt that these books were great they went into a lot of description about the missions and his personal life which I thought gave the book good foreshadowing showing that he was not a sadistic murderer. I feel however, that this book has been misunderstood. Some think that there should be more on the killing and in reality that is the least important part of the snipers job. This book does tribut to Carlos Hathcock by showing exactly what he did as he would see it. Other have said that there needs to be more information on the missions and this part could be true. Unfortunately, at the time that the book was first published many of the missions were still classified. The sequel however, cleared that all up as the missions were no longer classified. I think that the author did a great job showing what one would go through if they were in his position. Just a warning that you can't read the first book without the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the view, Nov. 18 2003
By 
George (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes (Mass Market Paperback)
the book was full of real life action since it was actually based on a true story. The book flowed well. You could sense the chaos and desire to be at other locations. The most interesting section was when a North Vietnamese sniper was trying to kill him and failed. Well worth the time reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book but.........., Oct. 14 2003
By 
This review is from: Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was great it told the story of Carlos Hathcock. That was the problem he was great and all but he seems to be this big hero that everyone knew. I know a few people from Vietnam and havent even heard of him or anything related to what he did. Also the book goes from his home life to his tour in nam. I didnt like that because one minute he zapped 3 [enemies] and then he's holdin his son in his front yard. It jumps around a lot. Silent Warrior was much better if you want to know about his tour more than his home life. But all and all it was a great book and I think you should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes
Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes by Charles Henderson (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 6 2002)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews