Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!
One of Robin cook's best book, it's a medical thriller like almost of his books.
there are a lot of action and suspense.
The story is exciting, you never get bored.
It's sometimes boring because Jack Stapleton is .
The story: one day one "patient" of Jack has the pest and then three others strange disease appeared. Jack investigates in the Manhattan...
Published on July 25 2003 by H. Georges

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book
This is a book about a forensic pathologist, who moves to new york for a job after his home practice was taken over by a major corporation. Soon after he starts work, 3 rare diseases kill several patients. It is up to Jack, the forensic pathologist, to find out if this is a coincidence that healthcare's sickest are dying rare deaths, or is it something more sinister...
Published on April 12 2002


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, July 25 2003
By 
H. Georges (montréal, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
One of Robin cook's best book, it's a medical thriller like almost of his books.
there are a lot of action and suspense.
The story is exciting, you never get bored.
It's sometimes boring because Jack Stapleton is .
The story: one day one "patient" of Jack has the pest and then three others strange disease appeared. Jack investigates in the Manhattan General hospital. There they don't like him and try to kill him.
Jack wants the truth so he continue to investigate.
If you want to know more read the book!
sometimes, the medical jargon in Robin Cook's novel does not make it difficult reading. Most of the medical terminology is explained sufficiently for the reader to understand the significance of the medical find.
This is the first time we hear of Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery. We hear of them again in Chromosome 6 and Vector. Robin tells you in more detail about Jack and Laurie then now the latter on. There is the plane crash that takes the life of Jack's family and how he leaves being a eye doctor to be a legist Doctor.
I Highly recommended it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars contagion, July 24 2003
By 
H. Georges (montréal, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
One of Robin cook's best book, it's a medical thriller like almost of his books.
there are a lot of action and suspense.
The story is exciting, you never get bored.
It's sometimes disgusting because Jack Stapleton is a legist doctor.
The story: one day one "patient" of Jack has the pest and then three others strange disease appeared. Jack investigates in the Manhattan General hospital. There they don't like him and try to kill him.
Jack wants the truth so he continue to investigate.
If you want to know more read the book!
sometimes, the medical jargon in Robin Cook's novel does not make it difficult reading. Most of the medical terminology is explained sufficiently for the reader to understand the significance of the medical find.
This is the first time we hear of Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery. We hear of them again in Chromosome 6 and Vector. Robin tells you in more detail about Jack and Laurie then now the latter on. There is the plane crash that takes the life of Jack's family and how he leaves being a eye doctor to be a medical examiner.
I Highly recommended it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, GOOD, BUT HE SHOULDN'T HAVE....., June 20 2002
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
I was entertained and educated. In light of Anthrax, this book is almost required reading. There was one error in judgement in my opinion. Cook shouldn't have divulged the deal made between the two gangs. That scene could have been left out completely, and I would have been in the dark with regard to the conclusion. Another mistake, & really this isn't too many mistakes, is the last sentence. "But don't worry; I'll explain it later." That sentence just grated. I hated it. I guess it's the "don't worry."
Aside from those minor flaws, I was reading late into the night & thoroughly enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, April 12 2002
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
Robin Cook's Contagion is a medical thriller. It starts off with a mystery of how a patient died. This patient dies from a disease which no one knows what it is. A doctor than believes that it could be caused from a plague. When they found out that it came from a plague people begin to panic and try to find out where it came from.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone that likes reading medical thrillers. It a really good book with some mystery and keeps you wanting to read more. I had no dislikes on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book, April 12 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a book about a forensic pathologist, who moves to new york for a job after his home practice was taken over by a major corporation. Soon after he starts work, 3 rare diseases kill several patients. It is up to Jack, the forensic pathologist, to find out if this is a coincidence that healthcare's sickest are dying rare deaths, or is it something more sinister.
pros-Good plot, samples of all different genres.
cons-The story starts out rather slowly.
I would reccomend this book to anyone who likes medical thrillers, this is one of the best books in this genre that i have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars robin cook the master of medical thrillers, March 16 2002
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
This was not the first book by Robin Cook that I read nor will it be the last. It was a page turner. This is the first time we hear of Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery. We hear of them again in Chromosme 6 and Vector. Robin tells you in more detail about Jack and Laurie then now the latter on. There is the plane crash that takes the life of Jack's family and how he leaves being a eye dr to be a medical examiner. And from what Robin tells us how jack looks it seems that he is describing himself. For Robin was a dr at massachusetts eye and ear infirmary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, Feb. 21 2002
By 
"jnj1" (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
This is another of Robin Cooks books that brings along Jack Stapelton. Such an involved character! As always the action never stops when Jack is involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars another slow-moving Cook book with awful dialogue, Feb. 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
I can't believe these are best-selling books! Imagine how much better they'd be written by Crichton. Cook does not have a knack for lively dialogue. Although his 'Year of the Intern' was riveting, his mass-market fiction is written in an unbelievably awkward style. Cook finds marvelous, intriguing themes and makes them virtually unreadable. I've tried three of his books and only one hits the mark (noted above). I don't think I'll bother with the rest. Disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good Despite Slow Points, Dec 7 2001
By 
Brennan (Lafayette, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
When I was first told about this book by my school's librarian, it didn't sound like something that I would really like. However, I had to read a book so I began Contagion.
The book was a bit difficult to comprehend at times because there are a lot of very technical, medical terms used throughout the entire book. I definitely would not recommend this book to people who are not fairly familiar with biology.
Once one can get past the medical language, this is a pretty good novel. Cook does an excellent job building up tension and the book has an excellent climax. Once the plot of conspiracy and murder began to finally take shape, the book becomes very difficult to put down.
Despite some slow points and repetition at the beginning, Contagion has turned me on to Cook's style and I definitely plan on reading more of his books. He combines the thrill of a Grisham novel with the medical expertise that only a doctor could possess. Contagion is well written with a shocking conclusion. I would recommend this medical thriller to anyone who enjoys books of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT SOMETHING'S MISSING, Oct. 27 2001
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contagion (Mass Market Paperback)
I find Robin Cook's books very good reading and he has a way of combining medical knowledge with thrilling plots. In "Contagion," a maverick pathologist, Jack Stapleton, is convinced that a series of three different types of epidemics is being purposely caused by a large HMO, AmeriCare. When attempts are made on his life, and when one young lady who has tried to help him, is brutally murdered, Jack is pretty sure something fishy is going on. Is it the conglomerate health care organization, or could there be someone else?
The book opens with three mini-chapters in which we meet characters who will later "converge" and flesh out the plot. The key character in the first scenario is pretty well camouflaged by Cook's writing; a clue----watch for nicknames or surnames; in the other two, we meet Stapleton and the lovely advertising executive Teresa Hagen. Add to this some nasty gang members, and you have the recipe for an intriguing, if somewhat heavy-handed plot.
The book is long, but it moves well enough; I liked Stapleton's inter-relations with the African-Americans who let him play basketball with them after he buys lights and buys new equipment. Warren is a particularly enjoyable character. Also, Jack's relationship with Laurie is a nice one, and you can almost see how this relationship will determine the outcome of his relationship with the aforementioned Terese.
My main disappointment with this novel is its denouement. The villain is completely unexpected, at least on my part; and the last scenes in a deserted Catskill cabin border on maudlin melodrama.
One big hole is exactly what the role of the HMO really was in the epidemics; why did Dr. Martin Chavereau fire Beth, really? And why had he ordered plagues from the plague catalogue company?? And when the plot ends, we don't know how these important plot pieces fit the whole puzzle.
I would have given it more stars if these puzzling questions hadn't been left unanswered.
But, in spite of that, I recommend the book. It is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbf979594)

This product

Contagion
Contagion by Robin Cook (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 11 2002)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews