Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loyalty in Death by J. D. Robb
This is one of her many in Death books. I have collected them all and so thoroughly enjoyed them that I have now got most of Nora Roberts (J. D Robb) books. This is a great series for those who like Nora Roberts book. Be sure to read the complete series.
Published on Aug. 30 2011 by Linda J. Leclair

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Average Novel in a wonderful series
After reading through the five star ratings, I felt compelled to add my own .02 cents. First, J.D.'s best is above average expectations, meaning that when she's average, she's still better than most. With that said, I've also read all of the previous "In Death" books and find that Loyalty in Death is just average. I skipped several pages, the ending was a...
Published on Jan. 30 2000


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loyalty in Death by J. D. Robb, Aug. 30 2011
By 
Linda J. Leclair "Good Book Reader" (Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Hardcover)
This is one of her many in Death books. I have collected them all and so thoroughly enjoyed them that I have now got most of Nora Roberts (J. D Robb) books. This is a great series for those who like Nora Roberts book. Be sure to read the complete series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm hooked!, July 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
One of my favorite authors!
She nailed it again in this fabulous book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An almost perfect mixture ..., Jan. 10 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Hanoi, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
"Loyalty in death" is the tenth book in J. D. Robb's "In death" series, and one of the best books in it at least so far. The series, as you probably already know, is a perfect mixture of futuristic whodunnit + action + romance, and it is set in 2059, in New York City. This book can be read by itself, but you will probably enjoy it much more if you read first "Naked in death", the first book in the series, and then the others that follow it.

In "Loyalty in death" Lieutenant Eve Dallas continues to fight crime, and has to face a dangerous terrorist threat that has its roots in the past. She has the help of her dependable aide Delia Peabody (who is a little distracted due to love problems and a visiting brother), and that of her "civilian" husband, Roarke (who will help her whether she wants his help or not). Both Eve and Roarke receive taunting messages from the terrorist group, that dares Eve to stop them, and makes targets out of Roarke's properties.

The question is, will Eve be able to find and stop the terrorists before they hurt innocent people?. If you want the answer to that question, and are eager to relax while reading a good book, give "Loyalty in death" a try. You won't regret it :)

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another "Death" series winner..., April 23 2004
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Jd Robb's 9th entry in her "Death" series has Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her husband Roarke receiving threatening letters from a terrorist group. Each letter brings about a public threat/bomb that threatens civilians, property and the city.
Like all the "Death" novels, the mystery and relationship between Eve and her husband are effectively blended. There is also a subplot involving Eve's police partner, Peabody and her brother. The main plot of the terrrorist threats and the subplot advance and blend seamlessly--until the end where they are eventually connected and intertwined. Its nice to get some background on Peabody and her life--each book in the series gives us more and more information on the secondary characters.
In the wake of 9/11, I found that the plot of the book hit all too close to home, as New York was again targeted by terrorists. It was almost painful to read about the bombs and chilling when they go off and harm innocent civilians. Loyalty in Death is definately one of the better novels in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family. Loyalty. War. Terrorists., May 10 2003
By 
JBogue (Spicewood, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
In the early dawn of the 21st century, a time of the Urban Wars, a group known as Apollo is blowing up buildings demanding an end to the corrupt government. After many ignored demonstrations of their power they finally go too far, and are systematically eliminated by the government. Fast forward to the present, 2059 and history seems to repeating itself.
Eve must stop this new terrorist group before they destroy her beloved city. Okay...I have to say that this book was written in 1999, and the eerie likeness to the events of September 11th, 2001 gave me chills. Despite the bad memories this book drags up, it is still GREAT! I finished it in under 24 hours. After the slower pace of CONSPIRACY IN DEATH, this book is like getting strapped into a roller coaster with no brakes. Wow, the action in LOYALTY IN DEATH in fast, intense and explosive!
As a bonus, this book focuses alot on Peabody. We get to meet her brother, Zeke, a free-ager visiting New York. She also continues to struggle with her love/hate relationship with McNab. Wow, that one is really heating up. Book #9, LOYALTY IN DEATH certainly does not dissappoint. It is a great, exciting addition to this series.
JBogue...Specializing in paranormal romance and fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, Oct. 26 2002
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
This series is the best books I have ever read I recomend for anyone to read these books. Even if you read a book out of order you will be a little confused but not to where you cant understand the book. This series will get you hooked so be prepared to want to read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner..., Aug. 22 2002
By 
L. S. Tucker (Port St. Lucie, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
What's not to like? You have Eve and Rourke's first real spat, you find out more about Peabody and McNab's sexual meltdown, you meet Peabody's brother and learn about her family, you have terrorists threatening New York (hope none of the Al Queda are readers...nah, not a woman writer with a woman character). All in all, a rollercoaster ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, March 10 2002
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the best "In Death" book so far! My friend got me to read 'Naked in Death' a few months ago and I have been a huge fan since. I'm only sad that there are only 5 left and I'll have to wait eagerly for the rest soon! Reading this now is a little bit sad, because even though it was written years ago, the plot about a terrorist organization bombing New York and DC landmarks really hits home.
On the flipside though, it's still a fantastic read. The plot is great and incorporates all of our favorite supporting characters, and introduces a few more- Peabody's brother Zeke, as week and Malloy, a fellow female cop who Eve admires and befriends. The passion and love between Eve and Roarke is as wonderful as ever, and Nora proves that she is the master of writing tasteful yet steamy sex scenes. My favorite subplot is the sexual tension of Peabody and McNabb finally coming to a serious head- can't wait for them to fall for each other hard in later books. Read this, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The "past" of this future is scary, Feb. 4 2002
By 
R. Kelly Wagner "bunrab@bunrab.net" (MD, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
In this volume of the "in Death" series, we learn far more about the "past" of the series - their past history, still in our future. The series is set in the 2050's; however, the events of this book flow from events thirty years in their past, in the 2020's. This gives us more of an idea of why the New York of Eve Dallas' time is the way it is.
If you are new to the series, you may find it helpful to read some of the previous books as well - while each book in this series can stand alone as a police procedural/thriller, it is more fun if you can also follow the background stories of the personal lives of our characters. Eve Dallas is our police lieutenant hero, of course, and her husband Roarke (just Roarke) is his rich, enigmatic self. The interaction between Eve's sidekick/aide Peabody, and fellow cop McNab, gets tenser in this book (think elevators!). Mavis, Eve's best friend, is having success with her singing career. All of these background sub-plots are one of the fun parts of the series. It's a tradition that hangs over from police procedural series started more than 40 years ago, such as Ed McBain's 87th Precinct series, and it's nice to see Robb pay homage to that great tradition.
The plot of this particular volume involves a terrorist group destroying New York landmarks, a theme that will perhaps resonate even more with readers now (I write this review in Jan 2002) than it did when the book was first published. It is poignantly sad to see that on the list of proposed targets is the Twin Towers - I had to shake my head and say, sorry, the terrorists didn't wait that long... The final target, and the culmination of the book, will keep you awake and reading. And who the terrorists are will make you think, about how such things carry on through the generations, and contemplate how we could go about trying to break that cycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, Jan. 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Loyalty in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
"Loyalty in Death" by J.D. Robb finds our tough-as-nails heroine, Lieutenant Eve Dallas of the NYPSD, pitted against a group of terrorists. This enigmatic group, known only as Cassandra, has no clear motive for the death and destruction they are causing. Indeed, it is simply the thrill of murdering the innocent and the fun of senseless destruction of property that they thrive on.
So Eve, with a little help along the way from her handsome and brilliant husband Roarke, sets about finding the trail that will lead to these murdering terrorists. She uncovers a connection to a mystery that began decades before and begins putting together the pieces. But when the threats from Cassandra get a little too personal, Eve shows her true grit by putting her life on the line to save those she loves!
I really can't say enough good things about this book. The mystery is thrilling and fun, and puts a fresh spin on what could have been a rather mundane topic. Eve and Roarke's relationship is as satisfying as ever in this instalment, and is still full of heart-pounding passion and exquisite tenderness. I have become so attached to Eve, Roarke and company that I feel like they are old friends - which makes picking up each new book that much better. I fly through each of Robb's books in record time, simply because I can't put them down.
"Loyalty in Death" is a first-rate romantic suspense novel, in a series that is sure to impress. One word of warning though - don't start reading these books if you can't afford to buy all 13 of them, because once you read one, you have to read them all! Robb's "In Death" series is absolutely irresistible - with it's vivid and lovable characters, fascinating futuristic setting, and ever-entertaining storylines - you just can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loyalty in Death
Loyalty in Death by Nora Roberts (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 6 2004)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews