Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Sequal to the Young Jedi Knights Series
I especially liked this Book because it really starts the Jedi/Sith relation ship and it begins the actual story because it introduces the real enemy to the Jedi: The Shadow Academy.
In this book, Luke tells the Young Jedi knights that he encountered spies in his acedemy long ago, sent by the Second Imperium. Luke came across one truely talented young man by the name...
Published on July 24 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok
This book is ok but there is no lightsabers in it so its not really exciting
Published on March 14 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok, March 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is ok but there is no lightsabers in it so its not really exciting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Sequal to the Young Jedi Knights Series, July 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy (Mass Market Paperback)
I especially liked this Book because it really starts the Jedi/Sith relation ship and it begins the actual story because it introduces the real enemy to the Jedi: The Shadow Academy.
In this book, Luke tells the Young Jedi knights that he encountered spies in his acedemy long ago, sent by the Second Imperium. Luke came across one truely talented young man by the name of Brakiss. Instead of banishing him like the others, he decided to keep him and train him. Luke made an attempt to turn him from the dark side.
One day, while Luke was giving the young man lessons, Brakiss left the Jedi acedemy and fled. Luke had failed to turn him and later will encounter him in a more deadly form.
The Solo twins, Jacen and Jaina, and their friends, Lowbacca and Tenal Ka, have been given permission by Lando Calarissian to come to his Gem diver station located on the Gas Giant Yavin. They all decide to go, except Tenal Ka. She imforms her friends that she thinks that the experiance would be boring and that she had seen rainbow gems on Gallinore.
When the twins arrive at the Gem diver station, Lando shows them around and tells them how his company mines a very rare gem known as Corusca Gems. When Lando is done showing them how to capture the gems, an unknown fleet appears. Lando tells them that nothing could get past their heavily armored walls, but the fleet had a speacial mechanism that got through. They later relise that the ship was using Corusca Gems to cut trough. When the ship docked with the station, and Dark women walked into the station with a squad of strom troopers. Jaina, feeling a distrubance in the force, somehow knew that they were after her and her friends.
The dark women stunned all the guards and captured the young jedi knights and took them to the Shadow Acendmy where they would be trained as Dark Jedi to assist the Second Imperium.
I really enjoyed this book and it was a very good addition to the Young Jedi Knights series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, April 18 2003
By 
"jedikeeka3" (On my computer) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy (Mass Market Paperback)
This is probably one of my favorites in the Young Jedi Knights sereis.
Jaina, Jacen, and Lowie go to Lando's GemDiver station. While they're there, a group kidnapps them. They are taken to the Shadow Academy to be trained in the Dark Side of the Force.
Meanwhile, Tenal Ka and Luke learn of the kidnapping and set out to find the twins and Lowie.
Will Luke and Tenal Ka find Jaina, Jacen, and Lowbacca? Or will the Shadow Academy succede where the Emperor did not(turning the heirs of Anakin to the Dark Side of the Force)?
Grab this book and find out! You won't regret it!!![.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book in the "Young Jedi Knights" series!, Dec 6 2002
By 
This review is from: Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy (Mass Market Paperback)
This story is about the Dark Jedi apprentice starts his own school of training Dark Jedi-the Shadow Academy. Luke Skywalker had once tried to turn him, but the evil training of the Empire proved to be firmly placed inside him. He had disappeared...only to reappear now.
Meanwhile, the twins and Lowbacca are visiting their adopted "Uncle" Lando's GemDiver station, the job of the place is to capture valuable Coruscan gems. Suddenly, an Imperial fleet appears and attacks the station. The Imperials shoot all the workers, including Lando, into unconsciousness and kidnaps the twins and Lowie.
Tenel Ka, who didn't go along with them because she had to have a meeting with the Ambassador Yfra, and Luke Skywalker race to find them. They find out that the Nightsisters of Dathomir, who had been all destroyed, was rising up again and were making alliances with the Empire. They also find out that the twins and Lowie had been taken to a Shadow Academy...to be trained into becoming Dark Jedi Knights for the rising Empire.
What will happen to the twins and Lowie? Will Luke and Tenel Ka be too late?
This book is great, I love reading it! I'm sure you will too, and the next book, "The Lost Ones" is just as good so you will want to read it as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book!, Nov. 27 2002
By 
Dewey W. Jones "Roadie" (Clayton, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Any Star Wars fan out there must read this book. The Solo children are some of the best Star Wars characters ever and they are really good in this book too. This was sooo exciting; I couldn't put it down. Jacen, Jaina, Lowbacca, Tenel Ka, and Luke are really cool. Nobody went out of character, and this book was never boring. The plot was very original. A MUST-read for any fan. Do yourself a favour. READ THIS BOOK!!! Also, read the other Young Jedi Knights books too, because they're awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The exciting book 2 of the Young Jedi Knights Series!, Feb. 25 2002
By 
This review is from: Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy (Mass Market Paperback)
Written by the terrific husband and wife team, Kevin J. Anderson and Rebecca Moesta, the Star Wars Young Jedi Knights series are not to be missed! These series of books center on the young twins of Han Solo and Lei Organa, Jacen and Jacen, and their friends, Lowbacca and Tenel Ka, as they journey on the road to becoming Jedi Knights.
The second book, "Shadow Academy", begins where the twins and their friend Lowie journey to Lando's new venture, GemDiver Station. Unfortunately, Tenel Ka couldn't go with them since her grandmother, the Matriarch of the Royal Hapan Cluster, had sent her ambassador, Yfra, to visit her. Tenel Ka has still not confessed to her friends about her true identity, the heir to the Royal Throne of Hapes. But little does anyone know that an evil force is growing stronger all the time, this same evil force with evil plans for the young jedi knights...
"Shadow Academy" is so much fun, one of my favorites of the first part of the first six books of the series. But "Lightsbaers" and "Jedi Under Siege" comes pretty close. The five main characters of the books are well likable because each of them have their own personalities, characteristics, and quirks.
JACEN: He loves all living thing from plants, animals, to insects. In his own room he has his on menagerie of them. He has a special talent in using the Force to communicate with living creatures.
JAINA: An almost complete opposite of her brother, she takes after her father, Han Solo. She is a mechanical whiz and just loves taking apart and putting together droids, machines, and just almost anything. Also like her father, she is very spirited and has a self-confidence which makes her a natural leader.
LOWBACCA: Called Lowie by his friends, he is a Wookie and the nephew of Chewbacca. Very courageous and strong, he loves his friends very much. But sometimes he can't but just help missing his home planet Kashyyyk.
EM TEEDEE: Very much like C-3PO (almost to a fault), Em Teedee is a miniature translating droid who is always kept on Lowie's belt. Though talkative and annoying at times, Em Teedee is a member of the five friends.
TENEL KA: My personal favorite character, Tenel Ka is the daughter of Teneniel Djo, one of the witches of Dathomir, and Prince Isolder of the Royal House of Hapes. Loyal, a little humorless, brave, and strong, she is a warrior and most of all a true friend. Though strong in the force, she tries not to rely too much in it so she is very athletic.
So I highly recommend you read all of the fourteen books in order. The series are divided mostly into three parts. The first six books are about the rising force of the Empire and its Dark Jedi Knights. The next five books are about how the Jedi's must stop the Diversity Alliance. And the last three books are how the Jedi's deal with Czethros and Black Sun. Another Star Wars series I very much recommend are the "Jedi Apprentice" series. Don't miss them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brill!!!!, June 15 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought the second installment to the star wars young jedi knights series was WICKED!!! The description is amazing, the story is imaginitive and the characters are just cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in the series!, Nov. 22 2000
This review is from: Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of my favorites in the series,(it loses by the slightest margin to Lightsabers and Jedi Under Siege) because I love all the warrior women in it. Tenal Ka is definitly my favorite character in the series and the sequences from her point of veiw are my favorites. Another thing I liked about this book and the whole series actualy, was that the adults have a real part in story, instead of just being there for effect. I thought the writing was exelant, and the characters extremly well developed, and I would recamend this series to anyone, though kids ten to fifteen would probobly enjoy it best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The dark side is in everyone -- but who overcomes it?, Nov. 6 2000
This review is from: Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy (Mass Market Paperback)
Shadow Academy is an awesome book to continue the YJK series! If you were wondering about the introduction on the Tie-fighter and the pilot in the first book, now you know!
The Dark Side is everywhere and now it's found its way to the twins! The newly borne Dark Jedi group -- Shadow Academy -- has been alerted to the twins' and their fellow Jedi's presence at Yavin 4 (by a most unprecedented means!) and want to use the twins' Jedi abilities to their own dark advantage. So what do they do? Kidnap the twins and any other Jedi who happen to be there! From where and how? You've got to do the reading! And what about the other Jedi Knights and Luke? Tenel Ka has her own problems to deal with, but it's a good thing she did otherwise... Lowie is in the same boat as the twins, and Luke's got some Jedi chasing to do.
Topics? A RE-INTRO TO A CLASSIC STAR WARS CHARACTER, GEM-HUNTING ^.~, KIDNAPPING, EXPLOITATION, TEMPTATION, AND THE DARK SIDE.
The description and imagery is again vivid and the style is consistent with the first book. Again, great artwork (I miss the foil-embossing! ^.~) and another one to add to your (hopefully) growing collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one that started me, Aug. 19 2000
This review is from: Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy (Mass Market Paperback)
I didn't actually watch Star Wars untill thrid grade. My parents had tried to show it to me when I was younger, but I just didn't get it. Then I saw them in third grade and I liked it a lot. That year we went on a vacation, so my mom bought this one for me to read on the airplane. I tried to get into it a couple of times, but I never got very far. I just couldn't understand it. I really tried though, and after those first two or three pages I fell in love with it. Now, of course, I understand it perfectly, I just didn't know enough about Star Wars then to get it. I never would have really gotten in to Star Wars (well I don't actually know that, but) if I hadn't read it. I couldn't put it down and read it rapidly. All I talked about the rest of the trip was my book and how good it was, and when I got home I bought the next one, and so started my Star Wars craze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadf6b240)

This product

Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy
Young Jedi Knights 02 Shadow Academy by Kevin Anderson (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 17 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews