Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAUNTING...EVOCATIVE...RIVETING
This is yet another beautifully written book by Susanna Kearsley. Almost as good as "Marianna" and better than "The Shadowy Horses", both by Ms. Kearsley, this book is a highly entertaining gothic style novel.
A literary agent with a sad past, her client who is a children's author, another author romantically linked with the agent's client, and...
Published on Nov. 26 2000 by Lawyeraau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good.
Good but not as entertaining as some of her other books. Would have preferred more plot development but enjoyed the location and history.
Published 6 months ago by Suzanne Perry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner with Arthurian Flavor and Poetic Prose, Nov. 29 2001
This review is from: Named of the Dragon (Paperback)
In this offering, Susanna Kearsley introduces us to Lyn Ravenshaw, a literary agent who, plagued by a past tragedy involving her deceased child is coerced by her man-hungry client, children's author, Bridget, in spending her Christmas holiday observing Bridget's manhunt in Wales. With her usual flare and ease, Kearsley introduces us to an odd combination of guests/inhabitants in an isolated setting that is reminiscent of that of Mary Stewart's in her novel, "Wildfire at Midnight". Among the cast of well-drawn characters are the two "hunted" men, James and Gareth, who provide some provocative mind-candy for the female readers and Elen, the fanciful young mother who is certain that her baby is "Named of the Dragon" in the Arthurian sense and claims that Lyn has arrived in role of her baby's protector. Of course, this proves unsettling to poor Lyn who plunging headlong into her own memories of the loss of her own child, must finally face her demons as she unravels the mystery surrounding the threat to Elen's child. The mystical Arthurian themes as well as the reclusive personalities of the more shadowy characters in this story add to the rather misty ambiance and act as an enjoyable foil to Lyn's reemergence into the light of life. Great story with a fantastic setting which I heartily recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAUNTING...EVOCATIVE...RIVETING, Nov. 26 2000
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Named of the Dragon (Paperback)
This is yet another beautifully written book by Susanna Kearsley. Almost as good as "Marianna" and better than "The Shadowy Horses", both by Ms. Kearsley, this book is a highly entertaining gothic style novel.
A literary agent with a sad past, her client who is a children's author, another author romantically linked with the agent's client, and his brother, all spend the Christmas holidays together in the two brothers' farmhouse in Wales. Our literary agent starts having vivid dreams in which a woman from the past keeps asking her to protect a beautiful child she has with her. Meanwhile, a local, somewhat eccentric neighbor also perceives this literary agent to be someone sent to guard her own child from danger. She, too, has had haunting dreams.
Throw in a brooding Welsh playwright, some atmospheric surroundings, a lonely, wild country side, some romantic yearnings, haunting legends, and mysterious, inexplicable occurrences, and what you have is a gripping page turner. It is a book well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, suspense-filled story set in Wales., July 10 2000
This review is from: Named of the Dragon (Paperback)
Lyn is a literary agent who has been haunted by the death of her baby for a long time. Lyn's friend Bridget writes children books. Bridget is tough, mad about men and loves to create scandals. She invites Lyn to spend Christmas in Wales with her and two other writers, James and Gareth. Bridget has her reasons for inviting Lyn along, but my impression is that a power much stronger than a best selling writer has something to do with her trip. Lyn feeling a trip would do her good accepts Bridget's offer. Once there she meets a neighbor who swears Lyn was sent to be a guardian and a writer who believes she is only there to convince him to sign with her company. Lyn finds herself pulled into a mystery that is beyond her control. Now her dreams are not just disturb by the haunting cries of her own lost baby, but by someone else's child as well. What do they want? Why does she keep seeing people in her dreams that do not exist?
Susanna Kearsley's writing impressed me greatly! The first page captured me immediately; once drawn in I couldn't let go. Although Named the Dragon is a contemporary novel, the historical aspects of Wales, its castles, its myths and its royalty, along with the quotes at the beginning of each chapter by Shakespeare, W.B. Yeats, and Lord Tennyson made the read that much more delightful for me as a historical buff.
Susanna Kearsley's writing has been compared to Barbara Michaels and Mary Stewart. I have to agree - it is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good gothic read, Oct. 6 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Named of the Dragon (Paperback)
Author Bridget Cooper persuades her literary agent Lyn Ravenshaw to join her on a Christmas vacation in Angle, Wales. Bridget looks forward to spending some time with a famous playwright, whose name she refuses to divulge to Lyn. She wants Lyn to occupy a boy friend, noted writer James Swift. Lyn looks forward to meeting James because she loved his last work "The Leaden Sky" that she thought deserved a Booker.

After they arrive in Angle, Lyn learns that Bridget plans to have a tryst with the renowned recluse Gareth Gwyn Morgan, whose play several years took the world by storm. Gareth rejects the spotlights of the London stage and has not published anything since he was heralded as the greatest. When Gareth and Lyn meet for the first time, no sparks fly. There is only a squabble that occurs whenever they're together. As they see each other, they begin to fall in love. However, neither one can handle a relationship filled with love because their respective hearts are overloaded with guilt from their pasts. Adding to their problems is the continual dream that Lyn suffers involving a mother and a child.

NAMED OF THE DRAGON is a very interesting contemporary romance that centers on protagonists predominantly belonging to the world of literature. The story line is character-driven, which works because the prime players are different in temperament yet add much to the mix. Though the subplot involving Merlin's Prophecy (Lyn's dream) seems distracting at times, it ultimately works its way into the main plot. Susanna Kearsley provides her audience with a complex relationship drama that shows her ability to showcase her cast.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Book Ever!, Nov. 14 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Named of the Dragon (Paperback)
Ms. Kearsley's book is the best book I have ever read! She combines a fantastic plot with history and one of the greatest stories of all time-Arthurian Legend. Lyn Ravenshaw travles from London to Angle, Wales with her client, where she meets the interesting and confusing Elen, the "unbearable" Gareth, and a host of other characters who all add to this increadible mystery. I definently recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery and lore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, Feb. 3 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Named of the Dragon (Paperback)
A wonderful read. I was glued to this but made myself put it down so not to finish too quickly. I am now online looking for more books by Susanna Kearsley. I hope she is a fast writer! I also read Barbara Michaels and Diana Mott Davidson among a few so if you enjoy them, I think you will enjoy this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another well written story by Susanna Kearsley, June 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Named of the Dragon (Paperback)
A well constructed enjoyable read, with an interesting twist and an Arthurian theme add some quirky characters and a little mystery and it's an out of the box Christmas tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good., Feb. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good but not as entertaining as some of her other books. Would have preferred more plot development but enjoyed the location and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My first disappointment in a Susanna Kearsley novel, Nov. 23 2013
By 
Jo-Anne Himmelman (Dartmouth, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think I have read all of Susanna Kearsley's books and loved them all, so I was quite excited about this one. I couldn't believe it - it took me so long to get involved - I even exceeded my 50 page rule thinking I would soon engage in the story. I finished the book because I had to make sure it wouldn't tip the balance. The problem - it did not have the normal intensity or the historical tie - in, which is the norm for Ms Kearsley. I found it boring. Sorry, but here's hoping the next one will revert back to her usual high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always a wonderful read., July 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Susanna Kearsley is my favourite. I read everything she writes and will continue to ensure I don't miss any of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Named of the Dragon
Used & New from: CDN$ 7.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews