Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
I have been slowly catching up to the books in this series and I love every single one of them!
Published 11 days ago by Stephanie Keobel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun as Usual, But That Spoiler...!
At some point, i'll probably get around to writing a longer and more comprehensive review of this book -- i hope top review the whole series eventually -- but i have got to say one thing here.
How could she?
This book, with no warning at all, begins with a total spoiler for a famous mystery novel/play!
While the work in question, one of Dame Agatha's neat...
Published on Nov. 1 2001 by Michael Weber


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, July 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witness in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I have been slowly catching up to the books in this series and I love every single one of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice plot angle, Aug. 23 2003
By 
K. N. Nelson (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Witness in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read all of the In Death series by Nora Roberts (J.D.Robb)
and have enjoyed the clever repartee between Lt. Eve Dallas and
her partner Peabody probably better than Eve's somewhat tortured dialog with her husband Roarke. This book's plot is interesting in that Eve and Roarke are witnesses to a death on stage at Roarke's new drama dome. The murderer is known but the "why" of it is not. Eve's pursuit of the "why" makes for a convoluted discovery and involves a cast of colorful characters so typical of the author's fertile imagination.
At this point in the series, I am a bit tired of Roarke's greed and the author's constant reminder about Eve's nightmares of her hideous childhood. Enough whining already! Also tiresome is the too precious relationship that is developing between Dr. Mira and Eve, as she is being patronized into a sort of "daughter" for the psychologist with huggies and kisses. That bird won't fly.
I like Eve just fine as a rough as a corncob character. I like her toughness, her grit, her insecurities and her brilliance as crime solver. It is, in my opinion, time for her to be promoted to Captain and have Peabody and a new female character enter into the picture as a crime solver and give Eve her just dues for her role as mastermind. This could add some fascinating color and new trails of intrigue to the series. Also overdone is the rattling of candied nuts in a bag perpetually being munched by Captain Feeney. His limited dialogs replete with curses is tiresome and boring after awhile. This guy is supposed to be her mentor and he comes off increasingly as a buffoon. Lastly, even though this book is not the latest in the series Lt. McNab's too cute smart mouth ramblings make him seem unbelievably stupid at times.
Mavis and Leonardo in the story line add a dash of pizzaz, yet less is more for those two. Yes, this review sounds critical and it is not meant in a mean spirited way. It is just that the
story is getting stale and, in my view, it is time for a fresh perspective to surface. I will, however, continue to read any new books and have stored them for rereading. That is how much I really like this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this series!!!, Aug. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Witness in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I've never written a review of anything before. This series is sooo good I just had to write something! I read the first 10 books in the series in 11 days!! I love the characters, especially Eve Dallas. It's very interesting - and sometimes painful - to read how she wrestles with her past (molestation and murder) and her present (married to the richest most handsome man in the world) and tries to reconcile it all with her job of "standing for the dead". In this book, Eve learns that "standing for the dead" means sometimes you have to stand for someone who may have deserved what he got - the victim was a scumbag who used everyone he could, and one person in a particularly disgusting way. Eve even goes out of her way to assist the murderer in getting the lightest sentence possible, something she would have never done before because of dedication to her job.
There are other great characters. Officer Peabody is another favorite. And once again there is growth in her. Peabody started out as a straight arrow, serious police officer who seldom laughed or cracked wise, and just wanted to learn at Eve's feet. Now she's loosening up and manages to even make Eve lighten up - occasionally.
The murder mystery parts of the stories are sometimes grusome and a lot of peole die before the end - in this book there were only two, a relatively low body count. But it's interesting following Eve through her paces - here the "crime of passion" type motive is one she's not particularly "keyed into" because of her past as a loner. But as she goes through solving the crime, her feeling towards her friends and mostly her husband change also. I think this is a very entertaining series of books in general and Witness in Death is definitely one of my favorites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thousands witness murder but who did it?, June 19 2003
By 
Tanya L. Schaub "TSchlaack" (Livermore, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Witness in Death (Audio Cassette)
As usual this story has a twist that is to be expected from Robb (aka Roberts). I really enjoy the Eve Dallas series. I enjoy seeing the portrayal of the different characters as well as some of the funny side lines (like the candy stealing and the fact that in her universe Peabody and McNab don't date)
This story starts with Eve at the Theater with Roarke for a thrilling mystery trial who done it. But when suddenly the actors are not moving after the final scene it is quickly figured out that the lead actor is dead and not acting. So it is a murder with thousands of witnesses. This leads to some interesting characters etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where's number 9, Nov. 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Witness in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I absolutely love J.D. Robb's "In Death Series". I've read all 14 books thats in the series. I have also Collected the "In Death Series" in auto cassette. However, WHERE IS THE 9TH BOOK IN THE SERIES, "LOYALTY IN DEATH". Its the only one missing from the series. Look forward to it coming out....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner!, Jan. 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Witness in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
"Witness in Death" is another fabulous addition to J.D. Robb's irresistible "In Death" series. Lieutenant Eve Dallas, the hard-boiled NY cop, is back for another adventure with her wonderful cast of family, friends and co-workers.
In this instalment, Eve and her ultra-sexy billionaire husband Roarke are out for a night on the town, attending the opening of a new play at Roarke's New Globe theatre. Eve's night off is interrupted, however, when one of the players is murdered on stage in front of thousands of witnesses.
Eve is quickly on the case, and finds herself in the unfamiliar position of being her own best witness to a murder. Unfortunately for Eve, many of the suspects are talented actors, and she must dig down beneath their facades to find their true feelings and the true killer!
This mystery is suspenseful and thrilling, and will keep you turning pages all through the day and night. Robb has crafted a wonderfully original and intriguing tale. Eve and Roarke continue to develop as a couple, and their ups and downs, their tenderness and their passion, are brilliantly conveyed to the reader. We celebrate along with Eve for her triumphs, and feel her pain as she deals with her haunting past. This intense connection with the characters is something I don't find often, and I credit Robb's immense skill as a writer.
The entire "In Death" series is sure to please readers. "Witness in Death" is a fantastic addition to this fun, exciting, and utterly addictive series. Don't miss out - buy this book today and ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lights, Camera, Action, ... MURDER, Jan. 21 2002
By 
This review is from: Witness in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
In this the 10th book of the In Death Series, Lt. Eve Dallas is out on a date with her husband, Roarke, at his new theatre. During the performance the leading man, Richard Draco, is killed before everyone's eyes. Eve steps up and takes control of the case since she was there to see it happen. As Eve starts to investigate she realizes that every member of the cast has some reason for wanting the victim dead. But who has the most to gain from his death? There's lots of motives here to want Richard Draco dead. But what motive caused the killer to take his life?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun as Usual, But That Spoiler...!, Nov. 1 2001
By 
Michael Weber "fairportfan" (Atlanta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Witness in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
At some point, i'll probably get around to writing a longer and more comprehensive review of this book -- i hope top review the whole series eventually -- but i have got to say one thing here.
How could she?
This book, with no warning at all, begins with a total spoiler for a famous mystery novel/play!
While the work in question, one of Dame Agatha's neat little thrillers [not "The Mousetrap" or "Ten Little [Whatevers]", though), can arguably be said to have been around long enough that most people who might be interested will know the ending, i still couldn't believe my eyes as i read the first chapter of this book.
Foul!
What if i wrote reviews giving away the endings of the other "in Death" books, on the theory that they've been out for a while and anyone who cares will know the endings?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They Keep Getting Better!!!, Sept. 30 2001
By 
"intentaccess" (Boca Raton, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Witness in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm just blown away by this entire series. It's amazing the way J.D. Robb (aka Nora Roberts) puts out a new novel in the series every six months and they remain consistently well written. It is a fantastic combination of sci fi, mystery and romance. They get better, and better, and started out great with the first book. Each section really builds the characters, and this book I would say so far has the most emotion between Peabody and Eve. Eve reveals a little bit of a side you knew was there but she doesn't show very often!
This section in the series, "Witness in Death" starts with Eve and Roarke attending opening night at the New Globe Theater (which Roarke does own) and witnessing a real murder right on the stage. This one brings a bit of Eve's past back to her and she shows a sensitive side. Another one of Eve's friends is a suspect and Eve goes out of her way to spare her. You really get to know Peabody better and she carries her own and is such a fantastic character.
I love this series and it sure gets addicting. I can't put a book down and J D. Robb does a great job with the "Who done it " I never know who it is until the very end. If you haven't already, start with the first book in the series....Naked In Death! I recommend this book and the entire series...You'll love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but characters don't always ring true, May 25 2001
By 
J. Hitchin (Redmond, WA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Witness in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I hadn't read one of the J.D. Robb novels in a while and picked this one up since it was available at the local library and it sounded promising. While I enjoyed it, and finished the book, I didn't find the plot to be much of a grabber, and I ended up scratching my head over a few scenes because they didn't match the overall tone of the book.
I think the biggest problem I had with the book was just the long drawn-out sex scenes that seemed to bring the suspense to a screeching halt. While it's good to see a happily married, monogamous couple in multiple books having fantastic sex on a regular basis, I really don't want to read about it for pages upon pages of text. Also, I still have trouble with Roarke. He's just so rich, so handsome, so worldly, and so perfect that it can be difficult to take him seriously.
However, I like Eve Dallas. She's what made me keep reading this book. I like seeing women cops in books, and specifically women cops in charge who can kick butt when they have to. They're not your mother, they won't bake you cookies, give you a glass of milk and tell you everything is all right. It's nice to see that kind of character in fiction. I could put up with the vacuous actor characters because I liked Eve Dallas enough.
All in all, it's not a bad book. It's not too cozy, not too hard-boiled, and there are some interesting enough characters to make me want to come back again to see how they're doing. While the plot won't leave you breathless, it will at least hold your interest. A perfect kick back and relax kind of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Witness in Death
Witness in Death by Nora Roberts (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 3 2004)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews