Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Got hooked by my sister, can't wait to read each new one.
Excellent book as usual. Keeps you hopping just trying to figure where the story is going next. Love the descriptions, makes you feel like you are already light years away.
Published 1 month ago by Heather MacMillan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best 'in death' book
I was, frankly, somewhat disappointed in this latest installment of the 'in death' series. I have, for over ten years, found Roberts to be one of the most talented writers in the romance or any other genre. She does a lot of series with recurrant characters, and seldom repeats herself or backtracks herself. In this installment, though, I feel that Roberts is...
Published on Oct. 28 2000 by Jeri Sickels


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Got hooked by my sister, can't wait to read each new one., March 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book as usual. Keeps you hopping just trying to figure where the story is going next. Love the descriptions, makes you feel like you are already light years away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Jan. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Yet another awesome book by JD.Robb! The whole series is amazing to read! Can not wait for the latest one to come out in February.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judgment in Death, Nov. 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Love this one. I have all the books from J.D. Robb
and love to see how the people and the stories evolves.
The quest to find the killer and how it balance
with the backstory of Eve, Roarke and the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judgment in Death, March 21 2010
By 
Linda J. Leclair "Good Book Reader" (Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Hardcover)
These books (in Death series) are some of the best books I have read in a long time. I am trying to collect all of them in Hard Cover books. I only have 2 more to go. I also enjoy all of Nora Roberts books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars eware: the "In death" series is addictive!, Jan. 9 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
"Murder was rarely a tidy business. Whether it was craftily calculated or wildly impulsive, it tended to leave a mess for others to clean up". Eve's job is to do exactly that. As a Lieutenant of the NYPD, she stands for the dead, and seeks justice for them.

In "Judgment in death", the 12th book in J. D. Robb's futuristic "In Death" series, the victim is another cop, Taj Kohli. He was killed while working undercover in an exclusive nightclub, that casually belongs to no other than Eve's husband, Roarke. Matters complicate further when it appears than a shady and powerful character, Max Ricker, is somehow involved in detective Kohli's death. Ricker is a former associate of Roarke that nurses a grudge against him, and wants to make Roarke pay for deciding to go solo a long time ago. As if that weren't enough, Eve's investigation uncovers police corruption, and she has to decide who is to be trusted.

I think you are likely to appreciate the fact that recurring characters of the series appear in "Judgment in death" too. I strongly advise you read these books in order, so that you will have the opportunity of getting to know the characters slowly, and of watching them grow. Of course, my favourite interactions are those between Eve and Roarke, but there are plenty of other interesting characters, like Peabody, McNab, Captain Feeney and Doctor Mira. We even have a cop from Internal Affairs with a very big crush on Eve, something that Roarke will not take well :)

All in all, I really liked this book. The reasons for that are many: it has lots of action, a good plot and plenty of interesting characters. Due to all that, I recommend "Judgment in death" to you. Beware, though: the "In death" series is addictive!!

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, June 12 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read worse novels than this one, but it was baaaad just the same. I guess going by the reviews I am ne of the few people who didnt like this one and I really don't understand what's there to like in this one.
I didn't even know that J.D Robb was Nora Roberts! Thank God I got this book from the library and didn't buy it!
The main characters were irritating to their core, or maybe I found them irritating because I haven't red the previous 10 or so books written before this one(and now I will not read them)
I just finished this absurd piece of tale because I hate to give back any bok unread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, Feb. 26 2002
By 
Jaime (Vermont, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
HI I read this book as the second one in the series I know in the wrong order but I loved how it kept me guessing as the who the killer was and than it was someone I had least expectedI give this book a [5-star] rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Read!, Jan. 25 2002
By 
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
"Judgement in Death" is the 11th book in J.D. Robb's "In Death" series, and it is fabulous. The mystery is thrilling and expertly woven - it grips you from page one and immerses you in murder and mayhem and the quest for justice.
Lieutenant Eve Dallas of the NYPSD is back on the job in the early months of 2059. She is searching for a cop killer, who brutally beat his victim to death in a club called Purgatory. The excessive violence of the crime and the loss of a fellow officer send Eve into overdrive. She turns up some dark secrets and confusing information related to her victim and discovers a connection to an Internal Affairs investigation. Eve knows someone isn't telling her the whole truth, but she has a cop killer to catch, so it's up to out favourite, feisty Lieutenant to put the pieces together on her own and bring justice to the dead.
Eve is a complex and emotionally troubled woman, whose determination and compassion will win readers' hearts. Her handsome husband Roarke is a perfect match for her. Indeed, Eve and Roarke continue to compel me to read about them. In this instalment they have some serious bumps in their marriage, and the problems they have come from loving each other too much. It is truly refreshing to read about two people who are as completely lost in each other as Eve and Roarke. Their love scenes vary from hot, hot passion to heart-breaking tenderness, but they always leave the reader satisfied.
It's hard to explain how much I enjoy this series, or what the characters have come to mean to me - so you'll just have to read each and every book and see for yourself. "Judgement in Death" is a skilfully rendered romantic suspense novel, full of vivid and fascinating characters you can't help but love. I guarantee you will enjoy this book immensely, so read it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book from a Series!, Jan. 10 2002
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
JD Robb, or in her other incarnation Nora Roberts is a great writer. These books are a futuristic series, Eve Dallas and Roarke are an odd couple, both stong and alpha but able to bend and blend into a couple.
These are great books and stand alone or as a series, I have them all so far, and look forward to the next in the series. I have just re-read the whole lot and find them as good the second and third time around as the first.
I like the growth exhibited by the characters, all of them including the secondary ones, Peabody and McNab, and the dilemas and daring do the whole book has from the first page just keep you on the edge of the chair. Its not one you want to read alone if you are the least bit a fraidy cat! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to a remarkable series!, Oct. 28 2001
By 
"intentaccess" (Boca Raton, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Judgment in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Judgment in Death begins when a murder is committed in a high-class strip club. Which Roarke owns. The victim is an off-duty detective who was working part time as a bartender in the club.
Eve is on the case and she isn't becoming popular with her fellow cops during the investigation. The game plan used in the book of finding the killer is unique. There's a really nasty man that you will love to hate.
Eve and Roarke's relationship just keeps you on your toes. Eve is developing as a character with more depth, softness and humor. JD Robb's greatest strength lies in dialogue and character development with each book, you get just the right amount of new insight into Eve, Roarke and the secondary characters. Even with Eve's softening up she still has plenty of attitude and is always ready to kick some butt.
A great read and a terrific addition to this very entertaining series. Start from the beginning if you haven't yet but this book is the best one so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa82140d8)

This product

Judgment in Death
Judgment in Death by Nora Roberts (Mass Market Paperback - April 6 2004)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews