Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a book, is an fully documented research
Being a former researcher, I was really pleased when I noted the profusely documented background, which supports every fact in the book.
It took me one day to read the book and another day to go through all the footnotes!! Consistently referred to updated statistical sources of recognised prestige, every single item mentioned is footnoted and factually accurate...
Published on June 4 2004

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highlights Important Issues
Warren Farrell does an excellent job in highlighting legitimate men's issues such as: domestic violence against men, Men's health ( it is MEN'S health that is underfunded ), Female chauvinism (belief that women are morally superior to men, as opposed to male chauvinism which is the belief that women are too irrational to fend for themselves), negative male stereotypes and...
Published on Oct. 7 2003 by Logan-James Randall


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a book, is an fully documented research, June 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
Being a former researcher, I was really pleased when I noted the profusely documented background, which supports every fact in the book.
It took me one day to read the book and another day to go through all the footnotes!! Consistently referred to updated statistical sources of recognised prestige, every single item mentioned is footnoted and factually accurate.
I am sadly surprised as some reviewers can dismiss this fine piece of research work just due a tactless comparison made by the author between rape and male unemployment.
If someone doesn't want to face the reality, I think that any silly excuse is good enough for him or her.
But if you dare, this book will reward you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful look at gender equality, April 14 2003
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
Men have been recieving negative reputation for decades and face claims that they have it all in our society. Society believes that men have everything handed to them on a silver platter and want for nothing.
This book does a great job of revealing the truth. To summarize, since the begining of humanity, males and females have *both* had their roles in society and *both* genders had to follow a plan in order for the race to merely SURVIVE. In the age we are in, pure survival itself is not as important in everyday life. So, women have taken the steps to break free of their previous "roles" as women and demanded that society allow them to do what they *want* to do, not what they *have* to do.
Unfortunately, the same is not true for men. While women have found liberation, men are still forced into their old "survival" roles of provider and protector at the expense of freedom. Men are still expected to be "men", while women are free to pursue the goals that they want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarifies a lot of obscured issues behind political diatribe, April 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
Much of the common wisdom about Male Power is wrong and this book explains why and in the process undermines a lot of unspoken assumptions that lie behind feminazi political movements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening and a must read for all feminists and egalitarians, May 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
If you thought you were on the right path to being a progressive, open and fair minded individual and felt that the way to balance the power struggles between powerful men and oppressed women, read this eye opener.

Warren Farrell does an awesome job in explaining a current hypothesis and then arguing how it is absolutely ill-conceived. He uses facts and figures, reason and research.

I can open this book at almost any page and before I finish the page will understand the topic and find a new way of viewing the relationship between men and women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant science-based work provides sunlight to gender politics, Jan. 1 2013
By 
B. Keith (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
Dr. Farrell's demonstrates the value of science-based analysis to add great clarify to a murky political issue; gender politics.

Die hard feminists reject the data and keep spewing out cliched nonsense: e.g., "the problem is PATRIARCHY". Thankfully, social scientists like Dr. Farrell the scientific data forms a solid foundation for his conclusions rather that so many "feminists" who rely on emotion-filled hyperbole. (Note that there are many reasonable feminists, but they always appear to be drown out by the unreasonable ones.)

The bottom line is that Dr. Farrell opens up lines of dialogue between the genders that is much needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To measure the man, measure his heart., Sept. 4 2002
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
My wife told me to read this book and that I would enjoy it, so I did. It is a very good book you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the great men`s movement authors, June 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
Warren Ferrell was once a valued ally to women,but once he expressed concern for men too he was rejected.This demonstrates that women are interested only in their own female-centered viewpoint,they care nothing about men`s interests or civil rights.For them,equality is a one-way street that should favor only females,not everyone.Its clear that women are guilty of sexism just as much as men,if not more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent critique of feminism by an insider, May 28 2004
By 
"bamatommy" (Anniston, AL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
Dr. Farrell was on the board of directors of the New York chapter of the National Organization for Women (NOW). He broke ranks because of the increasing man-bashing by many feminists. This book was ten years in the making, and makes a compelling argument against many tenets of the feminist faith. Gloria Steinem and Patricia Ireland don't want you to read this book, because they can't answer his arguments. But the book doesn't have a polemical tone; Dr. Farrell is far more gracious than Rush Limbaugh (or James Carville).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Done Wozza!!!!!, Dec 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
A real eye opener, not perfectly written but to the point and pioneering. I'm reading his other books now and I'm impressed by his attention to detail, a brave man, (he gets death threats)I'll support him all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye opener, March 28 2003
By 
Ray Kidder (Woodbridge, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Myth Of Male Power (Paperback)
Warren Farrell has certainly compiled a lot of good documentary evidence that shows how in many ways women are treated better than men in the USA. This book is especially recommended for people who imagine that because men hold most of the positions of secular authority, woman are being abused at the expense of men's desires. The way I see it, men tend to hold the positions associated with intellectual prestige, while women hold the prestige of physical attraction. This causes women to be treated as queens more often than men are treated as kings. One area of criticism I have is where he discusses sexual morality. Although Mr. Farrell doesn't say that sex outside of marriage is sinful, the readers can see how this sort of behavior is very problematic for men. Perhaps this is the main reason religious organizations with only male pastors are much more strongly against sexual sins (e.g. homosexuality, fornication, abortion) as compared to the religious groups that allow women to be pastors. This book is especially recommended for people who are interested in the subject of women's ordaination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8aaaa74)

This product

Myth Of Male Power
Myth Of Male Power by Warren Farrell (Paperback - Jan. 11 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 18.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews