Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The 13th Eve Dallas - J.D. Robb -- timely, fun, great !
Nora Roberts writing as J.D. Robb for this "...In Death" series, has developed a winning formula that seems to produce a gripping and delightful outing every time; and Seduction In Death is no exception. Our heroine, NYPD Homicide Lieutenant Eve Dallas, together with a broad supporting cast of regulars who we enjoy seeing back -- NcNab, Peabody, Feeney, Summerset, Mavis,...
Published on May 5 2002 by Jerry Bull

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dallas and Roarke and Friends Continue to Improve.
I began reading these books at my wife's suggestion; while the earlier volumes were a bit weak, i found enough to continue, and now look forward to each new entry in the series.
Dallas and Roarke and company are strong and interesting -- if somewhat larger than life -- characters, who pull the reader into their lives and adventures, a definite plus for a series...
Published on Oct. 27 2001 by Michael Weber


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid entry, Sept. 28 2003
By 
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Eve's latest case is a killer who seduces his victims via internet chat rooms, killing her on their first date. Eve has always been passionate about her job, but the predatory nature of the crimes makes her even more determined than usual to catch him before he has the chance to kill again.
"Seduction" is slightly different stylistically from the previous books, in that Robb shows the reader whodunnit from very early on, enabling the author to shift focus from solving a mystery to character exploration. At centerstage, as always, is Eve & Roarke's relationship, with a bit of Peabody & McNab thrown in for comedic relief. The secondary characters who have been given recurring roles in the series have very little to do in this book, so with little to temper Eve's manic energy, the pace seldom lets up.
This is a good read for those who enjoy futuristic fiction and/or hardboiled female detectives, but I would highly recommend that readers new to the "In Death" series begin at the beginning. Eve & Roarke have changed quite a bit from the early books, and their relationship is best understood as it unfolds and not in the middle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 13th Eve Dallas - J.D. Robb -- timely, fun, great !, May 5 2002
By 
Jerry Bull "Gerald M. Bull" (Fairview, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Nora Roberts writing as J.D. Robb for this "...In Death" series, has developed a winning formula that seems to produce a gripping and delightful outing every time; and Seduction In Death is no exception. Our heroine, NYPD Homicide Lieutenant Eve Dallas, together with a broad supporting cast of regulars who we enjoy seeing back -- NcNab, Peabody, Feeney, Summerset, Mavis, and of course, Eve's husband and billionaire entrepreneur "Roarke" -- solves a serial killing spree thankfully spanning only a few days in fictional time. In this tale, we're told the identity of the killer up front and get both sides of the hunt and chase, which is a very interesting technique much in the mode of John Sandford's "Prey" series. The use of Internet chat rooms and budding relationships via email certainly add to the currency of the proceedings. The plot is complex and suspenseful, and entertaining from start to finish.
Two somewhat unusual elements add greatly to the appeal of this series. First, the stories are set ahead 50 years in time -- so there is an element of creative science fiction exhibited by voice-commanded computers, video cellphones, some sort of personal air travel vehicles, artificial food prepared by machines, and "droids" that look and act like humans but are really robots. Most of this borders on the believable and adds to the interest of the stories without detracting from credibility. The other angle is the "romantic thriller" relationship between Eve and her husband Roarke. While he is immensely wealthy now, he shares a poor and troubled upbringing as did Eve, a background that frequently allows our leading characters to find much solace in each other. For those that care, there are some fairly steamy, "R"-rated sex scenes between the two...
We join the audience who look forward to each new entree in this appealing, out of the ordinary, set of police mysteries. The evocative commentary, the case intrigue, the action, and a set of very interesting characters add up to top rate enjoyable reading. How does Nora keep pumping them out?!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, Feb. 11 2002
By 
R. Hoover (north lewisburg, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I started reading this series around a year ago and fell in love with all the charcacters especially Eve and Roark. they match each other so well that are like one. She is a fantastic cop and he the entrepenure. All the minor characters Feeny,Mavis,Peabody,and espically Summerset and Mcnab all work so
well together. I find myself hoping that Peabody and Mcnab get serious even though Eve is not crazy about that situation. I hope that a child is not going to show up for another year,I want Eve to find a member of her real family that left her,and come to terms with her childhood. She will be a better mother knowing more of her situation and childhood and know where she will be going. I am looking forward to her next book,and I have all of her series ,and I love her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as always, Jan. 29 2002
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a continuation of what I condisider a most brilliant series.. I would never have thought that reading 15 stories about the same people would have me hooked BUT I AM and after reading the last page.. I look forward to the next.. This time the story is of a topical subject.. Internet Chat Rooms and sexual crime.. date rape drugs.. Eve and Rourke together with many of the charactors in her previous books work together to solve the murders... This however, the feeling within are close to home... I love the way J.D.Robb aka Nora Roberts draws you into the dialogue..as she does with many of her books..I shall look forward to many more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Wonderful Read!, Jan. 28 2002
By 
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
"Seduction in Death" is the thirteenth novel in Robb's "In Death" series and shows absolutely no sign of going stale. Indeed, the story is especially fresh and thrilling and will keep you turning pages all night long.
In this instalment, Lieutenant Eve Dallas of the NYPSD (in the year 2059) is tracking a killer who courts his victims in Internet poetry chat rooms. Upon meeting his woman of choice, the killer slips a nasty date rape drug into her wine, takes her home and rapes her on a rose-petal strewn bed, then administers a final dose of drugs that proves fatal.
Eve is disturbed by this current case, as it dredges up memories of her own abused childhood. But anyone who knows Eve Dallas knows that she will find justice for the dead no matter what, and she begins the process of tracking her killer. The drugs administered to the first victim were valued at over a quarter of a million dollars, so who would have access to such a rare (virtually unheard-of) and expensive drug?
Eve is determined to stop the killer before countless more women are terrorized and killed, and when the opportunity arises, Eve decides to go undercover as bait in order to get her man!
I truly enjoyed the mystery Robb has crafted in this book. She used a slightly different format this time, letting the reader know the killer's identity early on. This in no way detracted from the suspense, however, as it was extremely exciting watching Eve put the clues together and come closer and closer to finding the killer.
As always, Eve and Roarke's relationship is fulfilling, passionate, and heart-warming. It's wonderful to read about these two, and see their devotion to one another. Robb has an immense talent for creating vivid and intriguing characters, and Eve and Roarke are two of her best ever. The secondary characters such as Peabody, Eve's aide, the E-Detectives, Captain Feeney and Detective McNab, and many others, are equally vibrant and always lots of fun to read about. You will fall in love with all of them!
"Seduction in Death" is a suspenseful and well thought out book, containing Robb's brilliantly rendered characters, in a fascinating futuristic setting. I guarantee this book and the entire rest of the series will entertain and satisfy you - so don't miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little change of format but a winner all the same!, Jan. 18 2002
By 
"intentaccess" (Boca Raton, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
In this latest installment, Eve Dallas is investigating the serial murder of women who participated in on-line chat rooms, each A victim of romance that was a game set up for a deadly ending.
This novel was of a different format then the last 12 as you know who the killer is early on. The format may have changed but the suspense, wit and character building sure did not! Can eve beat the killer at is game before anybody else is killed???
J.D. Robb has the most wonderful skill of building her characters and this book gets better. Peabody and McNab continue to grow in their involvement and as main characters. Charles and Dr. Louise even grow as more important characters. This is Book 13 , which I have read them all, also read the two short stories and I cannot get enough! Way to go Robb you most certainly did it again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series!!!!, Dec 31 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I can't believe I had once thought that I didn't want to try to read J.D. Robb's series since it was futuristic! I am so glad I did try it because I am definitely hooked. And I was lucky enough to start the series when there were 10 of them out and I was able to read one right after the other. I just finished Seduction in Death and again - it was a fantastic read. Nora Roberts is the world's best author and thank goodness she can write as fast as she does. She is amazing. By now her characters are like family - everyone of them likable and interesting and real! Please keep them coming! This series is highly, ultimately, recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She's really excellent at this..., Nov. 23 2001
By 
L. Quido "quidrock" (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Nora Roberts writes a paperback fiction series as "J.D.Robb". This, the 13th instalment, shows no signs of being stale, although in 13 books, the time element has moved in the series only about a year. Nora/JD is incredibly innovative in her mix of plotlines, and juggles the romance element (not my favorite part!) admirably with the suspense and police procedural elements
to keep readers interested and make her books hard to put down.
In this outing, Eve Dallas, tougher than ever, follows up on a series of brutal sex crimes/killings perpetrated by a man who meets his targets and seduces them online. All the familiar back up characters are here...I especially love the backdrop of Mavis and her entourage partying in the background while Dallas and Roarke are consumed by solving the crime. We get an end (a beginning?) here of the Peabody/McNab/Charles triangle, in a very satisfying way...and, once again, Nora/JD leaves some breadcrumbs for those who are thinking it is time for Dallas to start a family.
Just a great, light mystery series by a writer who is not always taken seriously, but who never fails to entertain! 5 stars as one of the best in the "In Death" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! WOW! WOW!, Nov. 11 2001
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read two other of Nora Roberts books written under the pseudonym JD Robb and I have loved them all so far. It's so refreshing to read a book that not only has an excellent mystery/story but also features a married couple truly in love (and lust!) I am by no means a science fiction/fantasy lover but the futuristic setting of these 'In Death' books really intrigues me and it's written in such a way that it is certainly not the focus of the story-but it definitely enhances it. I would recommend these to anyone who is a fan of the psychological thriller/mystery genre. However, they are not your typical Nora Roberts' books, which I tend to shy away from as I am not an avid romance reader. Great series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dallas and Roarke and Friends Continue to Improve., Oct. 27 2001
By 
Michael Weber "fairportfan" (Atlanta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seduction in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I began reading these books at my wife's suggestion; while the earlier volumes were a bit weak, i found enough to continue, and now look forward to each new entry in the series.
Dallas and Roarke and company are strong and interesting -- if somewhat larger than life -- characters, who pull the reader into their lives and adventures, a definite plus for a series.
The plausibility of the police action portion of the stories continues to improve; that is, while not particularly like real-world police procedures, it still rings true enough for the purposes of the story.
The futuristic setting still fails to convince me, but it's certainly at least as self-consistent and plausible as the future we see in "Star Trek".
The romance elements... well, they're there. I never cease to be amused by the fact that mainstream, respectable romance novels of today often feature language and descriptions rather stronger than were common in under-the-counter pornography when i was in my teens, forty years ago.
As usual, Dallas's byplay with her assistant, Officer Peabody, and Peabody and computer cop McNabb's on-again/off-again hot romance provide elements of broad humour and Roarke continues to own virtually everything in sight. (I'm getting a bit tired of that gag, actually.)
Plotwise, it's one of the tighter and more complex to date; pretty obviously inspired by the real-life Leopold/Loeb killings that also inspired Hitchcock's "Rope", but giving a couple of nasty little extra twists of the type that are this series's stock in trade.
The initial crime(s) that bring Dallas into the story involve the use of some rather nasty date-rape drugs in the seduction and deaths of young women in kinkily-romantic settings; bed strewn with rose petals, fine wines, lovely dinners... and death.
As Dallas and Peabody probe the case, it becomes evident that this is something beyond "merely" a rapist/murderer... something nastier and sicker and dirtier.
And Dallas offers herself as bait for the monster...
If you've read earlier books in the series and enjoyed it, then you'll want to read this one as well. If you haven't read any of them, you could either go back to the beginning of the series, or you could, i'd say, easily begin with this or any other of the earlier ones that sounds interesting. Unlike some series, while the characters and setting have been steadily developing in interest and complexity, this is not a series that one has to read from the very first in order to properly appreciate them.
I would love to see a decent film or TV series made from this series; having caught an early "Remington Steele" the other day, i'd love to see Pierce Brosnan as Roarke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb7844ed0)

This product

Seduction in Death
Seduction in Death by Nora Roberts (Mass Market Paperback - June 1 2004)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews