Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Read!
"Secret of the Wolf" is the final chapter in Susan Krinard's captivating trilogy that started with "Touch of the Wolf" and "Once a Wolf" and in my opinion it is much the best. I thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in this trilogy, but "Secret of the Wolf" is something really special. Krinard has created an amazingly insightful, touching, and thought-provoking novel...
Published on Aug. 2 2002 by Sophie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It Was OK, But Had Flaws
I was really looking forward to this book; I've read all the others in the "Wolf" series.
The book didn't hold my interest very well. I'm not sure if it was the plot (a drunk who's really a split personality, who happens to also be a werewolf, and both personalities fall in love with the doctor who can cure them; plus all the other residents of the Haven),...
Published on Oct. 12 2001 by zachnbrie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars One weird romance..., April 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
... well if you call the heroine-doctor falling in love with her multiple-persona (due to torture as a child by a relative), werewolf patient a romance. This isn't a romanticized Jekyll/Hyde with fur type of story. I kept reading it wondering where the story was going and how she could give us our happy romantic ending. It does, but it's still a weird read.
If you like your romantic couple to suffer before ending up together then this might be the book for you. I found it tedious.
Ms. Krinards descriptons and scenery are very good, but her jumping from each character's point of view (sometimes within the same paragraph) got confusing.
There are many other books of supernatural romance out there... I would strongly suggest you read one of those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as the other two, Jan. 16 2003
By 
Moe811 (New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
In the third installment of the Forster trilogy, Quentin is wandering about Northern California in an alcoholic haze. The drinking mentioned in the previous books has gone out of control. During a binge, he saves Dr. Johanna Schell from a drunken brute in an alley and becomes obsessed. He follows her home, she finds him passed out on the side of the road. Dr. Schell runs a private mental hospital and takes him in to treat his dipsomania. It turns out that this is not his only problem, and she resolves to treat that as well. Their relationship developes at a strange pace from there. Someone from the past is trying to disturb the Haven as well.
This is not of the same caliber as the earlier novels. I really didn't approve of the way Quentin cured everyone's ills. It was too simplistic. Overall, it was an enjoyable book, but I was hoping for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Read!, Aug. 2 2002
By 
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
"Secret of the Wolf" is the final chapter in Susan Krinard's captivating trilogy that started with "Touch of the Wolf" and "Once a Wolf" and in my opinion it is much the best. I thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in this trilogy, but "Secret of the Wolf" is something really special. Krinard has created an amazingly insightful, touching, and thought-provoking novel that I could not put down (I was even reading it at stoplights in my car!).
Amidst the lush vineyards and rolling hills of the picturesque Napa Valley is Dr. Johanna Schell's Der Haven, a place where those who know the pain of being different can come to live in peace. Well ahead of her time, Johanna uses hypnotism as one of her main tools to treat her patients' mental illnesses. The patients at Der Haven are a diverse bunch: Lewis, the obsessive compulsive former Reverend, Harper, the catatonic ex-soldier, Irene, a middle-aged ex-theatre actress who thinks she's still a star, May, an incredibly shy and nervous young girl who rarely shows her face, and Oscar, whose mind will forever be child-like. Krinard paints all of these characters with compassion and realism, and as a result they become almost as intriguing as the primary characters.
The story begins when on her way home after a trip, Johanna finds a man unconscious on the path leading to Der Haven, reeking of liquor. Unable to ignore anyone in need, Johanna brings the man to Der Haven, where she goes about treating his condition.
When Quentin Forster finally wakes, he doesn't have a clue where he is or how he got there. But that is nothing new to Quentin, who has been suffering from terrifying spells of amnesia that leave him with nothing more than a impression of violence. But Quentin is no ordinary man; he is one of the last survivors of a race of werewolves or loups-garous, noble and majestic creatures that have kept their existence hidden from the human world. Quentin has been running from his personal demons for years, but he finally may have found a place where he can stop running and begin to heal, if only he can find the courage to face the shadows that haunt him.
As time passes and Quentin settles in at Der Haven, Johanna is amazed at his ability to draw out the other patients, especially May. But the biggest issue Johanna must face is her intense attraction to Quentin, which becomes harder and harder to deny, and threatens to interfere with Quentin's treatment. Though afraid of what he may discover within himself, Quentin has great faith and trust in Johanna and her ability to make him whole again. And it doesn't take long for Quentin's trust to become something deeper and more permanent - love.
But Quentin has many demons to face before he can even start to think about building a life with Johanna. While hypnotized, Johanna is shocked to discover that Quentin becomes violent and evil, and also suffers from delusions that he is a werewolf. But worst of all is the emergence of an entirely separate personality, Fenris, the embodiment of all of Quentin's fear and hatred, created during his years of childhood abuse and torture. Realizing she is in over her head and allowing her emotions to cloud her judgement, Johanna begins to doubt her ability to help Quentin.
But trouble is heading Johanna and Quentin's way. Dr. Feodor Bolkonsky arrives in Silverado Springs under the guise of wanting to discuss hypnotism with a fellow doctor. But it isn't long before Johanna discovers that Bolkonsky is really there to return May to her sexually abusive father. Determined to keep May away from her father Johanna begins to construct a plan, and when Quentin finds out what's happening, he is determined to protect May at all costs. However, Bolkonsky has another and much more sinister hidden agenda, and Johanna must find the courage within herself to trust, heal, and love Quentin in order to save him!
"Secret of the Wolf" is an affecting tale of love, self-discovery, and redemption. Krinard shows amazing insight into the inner workings of the minds and hearts of her rich and vivid characters and these fascinating characters kept me utterly absorbed in the story because I cared so much about them. Susan Krinard is one of the best paranormal romance authors out there, and "Secret of the Wolf" is a terrific read that does the genre proud. So don't miss out on this exceptional read, buy it right away and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but a bit disappointing..., April 1 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
Boy! What a myriad of emotions I went through while reading Secret of the Wolf by Susan Krinard! First of all, let me say that I'd been eagerly waiting for the conclusion of Krinard's werewolf saga. I adored Braden and Cassidy in Book 1 Touch of the Wolf and I really enjoyed Rowena and Tomas in Book 2 Once a Wolf. This is Quentin's story. It started slow and without much spark. I was set to write a very poor review. Then it picked up in the middle when a double personality story was introduced, which was a very interesting concept but it eventually overshadowed the werewolf story! This was not the story of Quentin the werewolf as much as the story of Quentin/Fenris, his alter ego. I really liked heroine Johanna's character: she was insightful, calm and trustworthy. She cared for her patients as if they were family. Her only experience with love and romance had left her unsure of herself as a woman. But her attraction and devotion to Quentin was undeniable. Quentin was fighting demons from Page One, and having read the previous stories, I thought it would be like Rowena's story: an unwillingness to accept the werewolf half of his body and personality. But there was so much more to Quentin than could be seen at first. Physical childhood abuse had carved out his character, violent aspects and all, but the reader never doubted Quentin's essential goodness. The ending was a real page-turner, with all the pieces coming together in a complicated, action-packed conclusion. And because the book was ultimately a romance, of course there was a happy ending. But I must admit a sense of disappointment (hence the 4 star rating). There was not enough of the werewolf aspect of the story and no real connection to the previously ( well-loved) characters such as Braden, Cassidy and Rowena. I feel this was the weakest link in the trilogy, although it's still very much worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Savagely tender with its hypnotic power of love and humanity, Jan. 19 2002
By 
Desmond Chan (Bishan North Singapore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
An asylum sheltered in the midst of the vineyard of Napa Valley is the haven for disturbed souls haunted by acts of violence, war and misery. Dr. Joanna Schell is the psychiatrist for the inhabitants and she is tenacious to make hypnotism flourish as a healing tool. She carries on from where her apoplexy-strickened father Wilheim has left off. An unexpected encounter with the injured and inebriated Quentin Foster brings him to The Haven to receive treatment for his wounded body and soul. Quentin's secret as a werewolf is concealed. Joanna is intrigued by him - and even more so for his dimensions and magentism in interacting with the inhabitants here. Harper, a veteran scarred by the war carnage shares the same fate with the war-tormented Quentin; May shrugs off her repulsion towards the opposite gender.
Soon their doctor-relationship explodes into a deeper attachment and the peace of the Haven is threatened by a doctor called Feouder Bolvonsky who is here to reclaim May to her sexually abusive father. Quentin is determined to stop this and his aggression may once again lead him into killing. A deadly deception lies ahead and The Haven will depend on Joanna's love to tame Quentin and rekindle his hope in humanity....
Susan Krinard's SECRET OF THE WOLF forms the trilogy in her paranormal series after ONCE A WOLF and TOUCH OF THE WOLF. This effort is to date her most dazzling showcase in spinning a romantic tale that is emotionally gripping and detailed with medical researches. It explores the savage side of humankind with Quentin's multiple personality disorder and engages sympathy for the discriminated Oscar with his mental illness. The complication of science and humanity makes an interesting stage; the ficitional romance and adventure is soaring. Yet what makes SECRET OF THE WOLF her most accomplished so far is the savage tenderness in Quentin and his struggle with his childhood abuse by his grandfather. A race threatened by extinction, Quentin is programmed to be a primitive killing machine to sustain the power of the wolf population. How Joanna manages to exonerate his guilt and tragedy with her power of love is poignantly touching.
Susan Krinard's latest is beyond categorization. The complexity of the story is handled with finesse and spiced up by her absorbing style of narration and description. Her talents in crafting an exciting werewolf read should be no secret by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No thank you, Jan. 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
I read her first two books in this series and could not put them down. Both Braden and Rowena's stories were excellent. They were very intense. Quentin's story I found to be very hard to get into and stay into. When I choose cleaning or tv over a book I know I don't like the book. I wish I could have gotten out of it what the other reviewers did, but I had no desire to even finish the book. I have read all of Susan Krinard's books and this is the only one I found that I didn't like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked the 1st 2 much better - this seemed to be lacking, Nov. 25 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed the first 2 of the trilogy. In fact, I read both books back to back in 2 days. I was so excited to read this one, but I found it didn't hold my attention. It was a good book, I just thought it could have been better. In the last book we know Rowanna wants to search for Quentin, and like an afterthought she adds that a messenger finds quenting to tell him about his sister in New Mexico. I just felt cheated a bit with this book. I really hope she wrties another one with the siblings so we can see them all reacting with one another again. This is a good book and a must if you are reading the trilogy, but it just disapointed me a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Myshelf.Com Book Reviewer, Nov. 24 2001
By 
Suzie Housley (Oak Ridge, Tn United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
Step into the dark mystical world created in Susan Krinard's SECRET OF THE WOLF. Be carried away by the rich colorful descriptive language, which transports you far into California's picturesque Napa Valley.
Johanna Schell is an Angel of Mercy, whose main purpose is to help those in need. With the assistance of her father they founded Def Hafer, a haven where the mentally challenged could seek shelter from the cruel prying eyes of the world. Upon discovering a unconscious mysterious man, she quickly takes him back to Def Hafer to try to heal him. Little does she know what evil consumes the inner soul of Quentin Forster. Nor does she realize the chilling tortures life has inflicted on him. Will she have the power to save him - accept him - love him?
Quentin Forster suffers from terrifying spells of amnesia. Seeking out hypnotist Johanna Schell he hopes to discover if these frightening mental lapses are associated with his legendary werewolf blood heritage. Will he have the courage to face and conquer what ails him? Or will he destroy Johanna and everything else he loves in the process?
SECRET OF THE WOLF is an exceptional human drama of the highest magnitude. Readers will find themselves lured into this mesmerizing tale of dark obsessions as Johanna and Quentin fight the dark forces for the chance to live in peace and harmony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Secret of the Wolf, Nov. 14 2001
By 
Patricia (Bozeman, Mt United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
Bravo, you did it again. I am a big fan of yours and I really enjoyed your book. I have the collection and they are keepers.
I think you should write another one where they get together (Branden, Rowena, and Quentin along with their families. I also loved the books Prince of Wolves and Prince of Shadows. Thank you so much for the hours of "getting away". Can't wait for the next one.
Patricia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Once Again/1, Nov. 12 2001
By 
This review is from: Secret Of The Wolf (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read many of Susan books and I loved each and every one of them. This one especially, bringing back Breadan and Rowena..To find out what happen to the missing brother and why he left..
The story itself is exciting with action packed scenes. Dr.Schnell is there to help him with his drinking problem..Though in doing this also helps him to except who he is with all his special gifts..
I just love this series.. I can't wait to see what Susan has for us next!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0c12810)

This product

Secret Of The Wolf
Secret Of The Wolf by Susan Krinard (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 11 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews