Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONLY BOOK YOU NEED...
Everybody working with people ought to read this finaly operating info on the subject... FINALY!

This is a devinite advancement for our societies and famillies...

READ IT...
Published 6 months ago by Marie-Christine Lanthier

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this man is a snake oil salesman
i am a psychiatrist in the bay area. i have seen many patients who have been taken to the cleaners by this man. he is taking snippets of science and feeding back a gumbo of non-useful information to vulnerable patients and familes. he charges exorbitant fees for work-ups that are superfluous and then makes vague, all-encompassing recommendations. he does none of the...
Published on March 11 2002 by Mingo Dangledong


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this man is a snake oil salesman, March 11 2002
This review is from: Healing Add (Hardcover)
i am a psychiatrist in the bay area. i have seen many patients who have been taken to the cleaners by this man. he is taking snippets of science and feeding back a gumbo of non-useful information to vulnerable patients and familes. he charges exorbitant fees for work-ups that are superfluous and then makes vague, all-encompassing recommendations. he does none of the treatment himself. he is a charlatan. do not buy this book and add to the fortune of this dangerous man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONLY BOOK YOU NEED..., Oct. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing ADD: The Breakthrough Program That Allows You to See and Heal the 6 Types of ADD (Paperback)
Everybody working with people ought to read this finaly operating info on the subject... FINALY!

This is a devinite advancement for our societies and famillies...

READ IT...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is extremely helpful for those who have a loved one with ADD., March 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Healing ADD: The Breakthrough Program That Allows You to See and Heal the 6 Types of ADD (Paperback)
This book is written with some medical language, but even if you do not resonate with that, the message is still easily understandable. This book has helped me understand and feel more compassion for those who have ADD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally- Scientific Proof ADD exists - and readable too!, June 22 2001
By 
"psherwood" (Manchester, NH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Healing Add (Hardcover)
As an Adult ADDer, I was extremely pleased with this book - it explained everything in basic, easy to understand terms! It shows how ADD is more than just hyperactivity and boys and kids! It contains a self-test to review with your own doctor and info about all kinds of medications most doctors aren't aware of that help with the different kinds. He also lists natural and other alternatives, the standard and additional extensive list of resources and help (from support groups, on-line and in person, to a list of physicians familiar with his research). If you can only afford (time and money) to get 1 ADD book - make this the one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Questionable research and equivocation, July 19 2004
This review is from: Healing Add (Hardcover)
This book was a big disappointment. Using brain scanning imagery AMEN has deduced that there are six types of ADD. I find his taxonomy questionable, and while I don't object to anecdotal evidence to support medical views, Amen turns very slight differences in behavior into major types of diagnoses. The descriptions of the various types interweave to the point that the differences among them are very slight. Why six? Why not 60? Amen's selective perception seems to be pseudo-science and reductionist to me. The traits for the six types overlap, and one could easily fall into three or four of them. His suggestions regarding diet are laughable: he recommends a healthy well balanced diet as a component to "healing" ADD. Well, now isn't that the most innovative idea about improving one's health: a good diet?!?!?! The term in the title seems to be more marketing ploy than accurate empirical statement. I do recommend the book SCATTERED by Gabor Mate, a physician with ADD. That book is far more informed, holistic, thoughtful, incisive. It is also very well written. The style and methodology of Amen's book makes the DSM-IV seem as though it were written by God him/herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most wondeful book I have ever read!, Dec 18 2002
This review is from: Healing ADD: The Breakthrough Program That Allows You to See and Heal the 6 Types of ADD (Paperback)
If you are an adult with ADD, paticularly "non classic ADD" this book will change your life.
You have to have a certain amount of academic ability to understand the early parts of the book but if you are intrested in the neuroscience of why you are different this book is a fantstic breakthrough.
If you aren't interested in the case histories at the front of the book then just do the test to find out which kind of ADD you have and then read the chapters on medication, herbal treatments and practical advice for your day to day life.
I have read almost every ADD book for adults on the market and this is the first one to address my problems with sleep! This was fantastic for me.
Also in New Zealand where I live most medications for ADD are not available and this has been extremely frustrating for me.
Dr Amens advice about herbal supplements helped me to find a supplement that has also helped me immensely.
I have Inattentive ADD and Overfocused ADD and Dr Amen's descriptions describe my life more perfectly that any other book I have read. Most books just focus on the "classic hyper ADD male (or sometimes female) but ignore the rest of us who DO have very serious problems in life.
If you are the mother of an ADD child this book proves the physical existance of ADD once and for all and the tips at the back will really help your child when they become a teen and adult. Also the chapter on herbal supplements is not written by one of the many many people trying to sell you a snake oil cure for ADD but by a doctor who knows how herbal treatments REALLY work on the brain because he has seen the physical evidence.
As someone who has ADD and who has worked with children with ADD and studied psychology I must say Dr Amen's ideas explain what I already knew from experience, research and logic. That is... that our brains are wired differently that others.
People are angry with Dr Amen because he has finally proven once and for all that ADD exists. No more calling it a fad or saying that ADD people are just lazy and selfish. So called "mental health professionals" are jealous because he is a genius, that has discovered a totally new way of helping people. There are many so called professionals who just can't handle someone coming up with new ideas that challange the status quo.
Some of the people writing reviews on this site are motivated by their own professional jealousy and fear of anything new. Also the scientologists who belive doctors are evil (they say so publically) also come here to attack many of the books sold on Amazon.com.
Anyway I truly belive Dr Amens works are an ENORMOUS breakthrough for those suffering from the less serious mental health conditions (ADD, anxiety etc...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hargray, Sept. 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Healing Add (Hardcover)
I was the terror of the neighborhood, failed grade 1,
dropped out of high school after grade 10, then after the
army, 3 teachers talked me into returning to school. A
VERY difficult journey began - hard to concentrate, memory
problems, hyperactivity, and etc. It took a LOT of help,
but ultimately I received a BA, MEd, and Ph.D. I became a
chief of psychology in a psychiatric hospital, teacher,
therapist -- and then at 46 years of age, I was diagnosed
with ADHD. Suddenly, "everything" made sense, as the
disorder was 'classic' to how I had behaved, thought,
struggled with relationships, and etc. MEDICATIONS
comletely turned MY life around (as my wife, friends, and
work associates would affirm) - they don't work for everyone,
but for me, it was like a miracle from heaven. Of course, the
anti-medication zealots will not wish to believe this, but
my experience is like that of so many others I have seen IN MY
PRACTICE AS A PSYCHOLOGIST. When medications work, they
really do a great job. When they don't, the experience can
be very disappointing, and anger can run high. I also
conducted over 500, 1-day seminars in almost every state in
the USA, and provinces in Canada (this took place over a
14 year period). Having said all of this - the absolute
best book in the field, based on my having read scores of books,
articles, and my experiences factored in, is Dr. Amen's book!!!
I have, in fact, cleared out about 80% of all the AD/HD
literature I had, and Dr. Amen's book remains my favorite.
It is the ONLY book I now recommend to individuals who ask
for my opinion, as a psychologist WITH ADHD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bunk! Utter bunk!, Aug. 13 2002
By 
This review is from: Healing ADD: The Breakthrough Program That Allows You to See and Heal the 6 Types of ADD (Paperback)
Daniel Amen, much like any cult leader, is dangerous because he is convincing. This book is very well-written, persuasive, and does an excellent job in advancing the illusion that the advocated ADHD classification system and associated treatments are supported by research.
The most frightening aspect of this is the fact that people who suffer from ADHD, a very real and very serious condition, are buying into Amen's snake oil and banking their hopes on its effectiveness. Like any treatment that is successfully marketed, it undoubtedly carries a substantial placebo effect that, in the absence of replication by other researchers using similar techniques, makes it impossible be validated. While SPECT may be a useful imaging technique, NOBODY has made use of it in a manner even remotely close to that which Amen indicates. His classification (the "6 types") and treatment recommendations are utterly unsupported by science and contrary to volumes of sound research from a diversity of sources. As such, Amen's HYPOTHESES, when put into practice, carry great risk.
It remains to be seen whether Amen is a genius or zealous snake oil salesman driven by greed. Despite my great reservations about his position and my belief that he is the latter, his HYPOTHESES may ultimately be found to be valid. However, until such a time comes that others (who do not benefit financially from positive results) replicate his findings, his diagnostic and treatment practices should be considered EXPERIMENTAL, UNPROVEN, and POTENTIALLY HARMFUL. Moreover, Amen exhibits the highest degree of ethical disregard by promoting his position as valid and empirically supported.
Readers should be advised that Amen is far out of the mainstream and his practice may be akin to past life regression, abuse memory recovery, rebirthing, and other treatments that, while appearing promising early on, were found to be absolutely invalid when viewed under the bright light of scientific inquiry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irresponsible, Oct. 23 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Healing Add (Hardcover)
While this book is well-written, compelling, and introduces new technology that supports the idea of AD/HD as a brain disorder (versus being a flaw in character), it makes claims that are years ahead of the research needed to substantiate most of them. Amen writes with the certainty and fervor of a zealot rather than the cautious prose of a scientist. This is problematic because the only empirical support for his claims comes from his own work. A lack of replication is a crucial flaw in any sort of scientific endeavor and, while not invalidating results, calls for cautious interpretation. In his failure to engage any caution in his writing, Amen is gravely irresponsible.
A second point to consider is that Amen's taxonomy of AD/HD suggests six types of the disorder that functionally encompass any bad experiences that a person with AD/HD might have. He then prescribes medical and psychosocial treatments for each type --again without any empirical support. If his position in this book were indeed true, it would be too good to be true. Generally, claims that seem too good to be true (i.e., avoiding food dye 'cures' AD/HD) are indeed too good to be true.
If you elect to read this book (and it is an interesting read), I would recommend that you digest all of the information it conveys with a great deal of caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't trust this guy, Oct. 30 2003
By 
C. Talbert (Denver, Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Healing ADD: The Breakthrough Program That Allows You to See and Heal the 6 Types of ADD (Paperback)
I have no doubt that Dr. Amen has a lot of experience with SPECT scans, and ADD. I worry that his conclusions haven't been reproduced or confirmed indepedently outside his laboratory, which makes me highly skeptical of his results, and generalizations. Therefore, as the SPECT identifications are the selling point of his book, I can't recommend it.
The title, should also give anyone who has studied ADD pause, as ADD isn't really something that can be "healed", although it can be substantially mitigated. It strikes me as very a "huckster" or "snake oil salesmen" kind of title.
In a world with so many charlatans and unethical companies trying to fool people or exaggerate claims to make a buck, it is disturbing to see a medical doctor disregard the reproducibility demanded by the scientific method.
The general advice given in the book is good, but by no means unique or exceptional, by comparison.
I would recommend Driven to Distraction to those who are looking for more scientifically sound information and advice regarding ADD, and it's treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad8f65d0)

This product

Healing ADD: The Breakthrough Program That Allows You to See and Heal the 6 Types of ADD
CDN$ 19.50 CDN$ 14.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews