Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
Love all the "Death" books! Keep them coming! Have read most of them twice. Wish she wrote more then 2 a year.
Published 9 months ago by Mary Jane Nelson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fumbling futurism
A young officer named Trueheart, on the NYPSD in 2059, calls his lieutenant, Eve Dallas, in shock. He has just killed a man in the line of duty, a man who was holed up in his apartment in front of his computer and suddenly went berserk, blood pouring from his body as he attacked his apartment building neighbors. On his computer screen is the single line: Absolute purity...
Published on Feb. 28 2003 by Anna Klein


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Oct. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Purity in Death (Kindle Edition)
Love all the "Death" books! Keep them coming! Have read most of them twice. Wish she wrote more then 2 a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Future cop, Feb. 18 2004
By 
Beverley Strong (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purity in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first time that I've read a futuristic crime novel and, although I probably won't make a habit of it, I found it to be be very pacy and well written. Detective Eve Dallas, a gutsy, attractive 30 year old, married to a gorgeous hunk of a billionaire, becomes very involved in a sinister scheme to zap the brains of child porn monsters via their computers.The story is set some 60 years into the future and is full of techno talk like voice driven computers which can do almost anything. After an initial reluctance, I was soon drawn in and read it in 2 sittings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Dallas Hit!, Aug. 4 2003
By 
Martha D. (Saugus, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purity in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I typically read every book in a detective series, starting with the first one and rarely have I enjoyed all the books in any one series the way I enjoy the Eve Dallas books. Their characters have grown since the first book. J.D. Robb has kept Eve and Roarke focused while unfolding tantalizing bits of their backgrounds in each successive book. Robb has also kept a firm hold on her settings and best of all, you don't know who did it until the very end! Eve battles her personal demons in Purity in Death as well as the criminals and the endings are never sugar coated. I will keep on reading them as long as Robb keeps on writing them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Dallas Hit!, Aug. 4 2003
By 
Martha D. (Saugus, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purity in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I typically read every book in a detective series, starting with the first one and rarely have I enjoyed all the books in any one series the way I enjoy the Eve Dallas books. Their characters have grown since the first book. J.D. Robb has kept Eve and Roarke focused while unfolding tantalizing bits of their backgrounds in each successive book. Robb has also kept a firm hold on her settings and best of all, you don't know who did it until the very end! Eve battles her personal demons in Purity in Death as well as the criminals and the endings are never sugar coated. I will keep on reading them as long as Robb keeps on writing them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Dallas Hit!, Aug. 4 2003
By 
Martha D. (Saugus, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purity in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I typically read every book in a detective series, starting with the first one and rarely have I enjoyed all the books in any one series the way I enjoy the Eve Dallas books. Their characters have grown since the first book. J.D. Robb has kept Eve and Roarke focused while unfolding tantalizing bits of their backgrounds in each successive book. Robb has also kept a firm hold on her settings and best of all, you don't know who did it until the very end! Eve battles her personal demons in Purity in Death as well as the criminals and the endings are never sugar coated. I will keep on reading them as long as Robb keeps on writing them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Bad, May 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Purity in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a truly bad book without a single original moment in it. Don't waste your time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, great premise, gripping emotional story, April 19 2003
By 
Jerry Bull "Gerald M. Bull" (Fairview, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purity in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the 15th novel in the Nora Roberts (writing as J. D. Robb) suspense/mystery/crime thriller series about a NYC Homicide Lieutenant, Eve Dallas. Supporting our leading lady is a cast of characters we have come to enjoy, including her billionaire husband, Roarke; her aide, (Ms.) Peabody; a young policeman named Trueheart (honest!); and electronic/computer cop specialists McNab and Feeney. A contemporary premise, that a PC virus could cause a human brain virus, starts things off in a hurry with Trueheart killing a civilian who seemingly has gore berserk and murdered one of his neighbors while raving and ranting about how his head hurts. Eve Dallas takes this call, and soon other deaths in like fashion occur, including one in which a fellow cop is killed from working on an infected PC. Autopsies reveal significant brain swelling from unknown causes. A screen message "Absolute Purity has Been Achieved" leads to the supposition that a vigilante group is behind the killings, as at first their targets are dope dealers and pedophiles, etc. The story follows police efforts to identify and catch the criminals -- but along the way we get doses of differing philosophy about the group and its cause; emotional scenes surrounding the death of the policeman and McNab's disability; glimpses into the politics of modern police departments, and as much suspense as we can handle til the real culprits surface after several mis-directions near the end.
As always, the scene is set ahead in time 50 years, so that video cellphones, personal air vehicles and a few other sci-fi touches enliven the stories without dominating the basic police procedurals. Still, Robb's writing seems at the top her form in this story; we wept several times during various sad and gripping scenes surrounding the deaths and funerals involved with the innocent. We feel this one of the most exceptional stories we have read in several months and have decided to put in on our ten-best in our lifetime list. That says an awful lot for someone who reads a couple of thousand books each decade.
Get it; read it; weep, smile, and enjoy immensely !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robb is #1 in Death, April 7 2003
By 
KaeLee Newton (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purity in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked up this book after hearing women on my Janet Evanovich e-list raving about how good this series was. I was leery. I've read Nora Roberts. I don't like her! I was supposed to read something else by her and enjoy it? Oh I don't think so.
I was pleasantly surprised! I found this book to be refreshing in its creativity and characterization. Eve Dallas is a woman to envy. She's witty, intelligent, and she's got a drop dead gorgeous husband.
She is won't let anything keep her from finding out what is going on with murderous victims' displaying "ABSOLUTE PURITY ACHIEVED" on their computer screens. The scum of New York City are dying, but so are the innocents, the by-standers, and cops. Eve has a team of experts working on the computers but can she stay ahead of an organization that may have powerful supporters in all parts of the city?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Computer Did It, April 4 2003
By 
Suzanne Vitale "jackeroophillip" (Bowling Green, Kentucky USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purity in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
The victims are not "worth" worrying about; they have all caused pain and suffering and the world is better off without them. HOWEVER, there deaths are the result of a terrible virus that is coming from their computers. "Someone" had decided that selected victims must die and has programed a virus into the computers they use which utimately causes them to self-destruct.
The In Death series is set in 2059 and has futuristic references combined with good old fashioned detective work. Eve Dallas and her ever present billionare husband Roark combine forces to solve the high tech computer problem, working out of Eve's home with all her staff police staff on hand to help. Purity is another good fun read in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A computer virus that can attach humans?, March 7 2003
By 
Tanya L. Schaub "TSchlaack" (Livermore, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purity in Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Another winner!. This story has a very scary premise.
In this one a group calling themselved "purity" has developed a computer virus that can acutally infect the user. It will cause the user to self destroy and if anyone gts in their way they might go with the. They are going after the scum of the earth but innocent people are also getting hurt along the way. Not that this matters to Dallas as any murder is a wrongful death to her.
McNab is wounded on this book and you have to feel for how this effects the main characters. Especially his and Peabody's relationship!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purity in Death
Purity in Death by J.D. Robb (Mass Market Paperback - March 1 2005)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews