Customer Reviews


342 Reviews
5 star:
 (289)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 100-word book review
Watchers is, I'd say, the perfect example of the sort of novels Dean Koontz used to write, back in the late 1980s and early 1990s. It has excitement, danger, monsters, shadowy government forces, recombinant DNA, a man, a woman and a super-intelligent dog. What more could one ever want in a thriller? There is a refreshing lack of quirky humour, and an absence of eccentric...
Published on May 30 2007 by A. J. Cull

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Read - Cut too short though
I read two Koontz books of late and was left disappointed by the abrupt ends. As always the story grabs you from the beginning and creates an understanding and closeness to the characters. Koontz even gets us to feel extremely close the the two main animal characters. However just as we get into this great story he seems to rush to the finish. In my opinion he seems...
Published on Jan. 17 2011 by Luke Harris


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 100-word book review, May 30 2007
By 
This review is from: Watchers (Mass Market Paperback)
Watchers is, I'd say, the perfect example of the sort of novels Dean Koontz used to write, back in the late 1980s and early 1990s. It has excitement, danger, monsters, shadowy government forces, recombinant DNA, a man, a woman and a super-intelligent dog. What more could one ever want in a thriller? There is a refreshing lack of quirky humour, and an absence of eccentric names, just thrills, suspense, action. For those who are only familiar with Koontz's most recent output, I recommend Watchers. It will show you what the rest of us have been missing for the last decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Read - Cut too short though, Jan. 17 2011
By 
Luke Harris (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watchers (Mass Market Paperback)
I read two Koontz books of late and was left disappointed by the abrupt ends. As always the story grabs you from the beginning and creates an understanding and closeness to the characters. Koontz even gets us to feel extremely close the the two main animal characters. However just as we get into this great story he seems to rush to the finish. In my opinion he seems to struggle to close the loose ends and end the story quickly. I don't under stand how we can have an entire chapter dedicated to describing a landscape and setting a scene but spend less then that ending the novel.

I guess what I'm saying is that the book could have been 50-75 pages longer. Closing the book -(the final battle) could have been written more suspenseful and perhaps contained a couple of surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars B-Movie Book, Jan. 4 2003
This review is from: Watchers (Mass Market Paperback)
First of all, I am astounded at the five-star ratings for this novel. It was like reading a screenplay for a made-for-TV movie for the USA Network. I could expand on my criticism for the book, but its taken up enough of my time already. No point in letting it waste more. Readers, be warned: Not everybody found "Watchers" to be a five-star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, Sept. 12 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Watchers (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is bad. The monster is stupid and really the book doesn't have much of a plot-at least not the type of plot that someone with an IQ in at least double figures can appreciate. Koontz doesn't know how to weave myth into his stories. Rather than coming up with good ideas, he makes tales about mutant monkeys running around attacking people in the bushes and crying about a low self-esteme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, Could Have Been Much More, April 10 2014
This review is from: Watchers (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting premise, with the promise for plenty of intrigue and mystery. I felt the second half of the book didn't deliver on the build-up, relying on character development of the protagonists. Still, a nice read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, April 3 2014
By 
Lisa E (Squamish, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watchers (Kindle Edition)
I loved the story, the characters, the interesting twists. I couldn't put the book down! If you are a dog lover it is an extra bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book I've ever Read, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watchers (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read a lot of books and this by far is the best I've ever read. I got caught within the first 6 pages. I hope I can find another book like this again someday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brought me back, July 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Watchers (Kindle Edition)
I had read most of this book in the 90's and never did get to finish it and finally had the time to look it up its well written as all books by joints are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, Boring, Boring, Aug. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Watchers (Mass Market Paperback)
Okay, I really don't know what the raving is about. I read the stupid book for the first five chapters and then I gave up. Yeah, there's a smart dog, and there's a monster attacking people around. Stupid and predicable plot! The story is a major bore, and Mr. Koontz should really consider making his style of writing less repetitive. Don't waste some many pages on boring details. I almost fell asleep when the monster is killing some nobody. So, if you want a real page-tuner, don't ever buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone!, March 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Watchers (Mass Market Paperback)
I am not rating this book based off how Koontz produces his storyline, as he is a good writer in this regard. My 1 star rating is based off my preference of content: how it is presented.
A reviewer on this board stated that this is a book for everyone, regardless of age. This is NOT so!
Within this book you will find vulgarity in regards to sex and numerous disturbing murder scenes, one involving a boy and in another instance, the murderer daydreaming about his ultimate kill: a pregnant woman and her unborn child. To name a few. To mention also, there are numerous passages regarding animal mutilations.
This book is dark and quite disturbing and even though there was a good man, good woman (who in the beginning had quite an inferiority complex) and a friendly, smart dog (albeit laughable in regards to capabilities) presented in this book...they certainly couldn't make up for all the twisted, disturbing, dark and to put it plainly; downright evil mentality that Koontz so well displayed within "Watchers."
This IS a graphic book.
If you don't mind this, then more than likely you will find it a well written book.
If you do mind this, you have been forewarned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Watchers
Watchers by Dean Koontz (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 28 2003)
CDN$ 12.50 CDN$ 11.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews