Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Progression
Clive Cussler has done what some other accomplished writers have tried and failed to do. He started a new series that he co-authors, he has kept the quality of the reading very near that of his own books, and now they have gone from a paperback format to hardcover. The last step is a major one and speaks very well of the care this new series was created with. Other...
Published on June 5 2002 by taking a rest

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Kurt Austin story but still ok
Not my most favorite Clive Cussler book. I listened to the abridged audio version and didn't think it flowed as well as it could have. I thought things were a bit to choppy.
In this story you are given a possible link to the last days of the Czar's of Russia and the Kazaks that protected them.
Along comes the modern day Russian who wants to relive the rule of...
Published on Nov. 1 2002 by Tanya L. Schaub


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Progression, June 5 2002
This review is from: Fire Ice (Hardcover)
Clive Cussler has done what some other accomplished writers have tried and failed to do. He started a new series that he co-authors, he has kept the quality of the reading very near that of his own books, and now they have gone from a paperback format to hardcover. The last step is a major one and speaks very well of the care this new series was created with. Other authors have tried the same diversification and they are not worth the soft cover format they were introduced with, and will never see the more expensive binding.
The central organization is the same; specifically NUMA, but the central character and the events he is involved in are stepped down from the more outrageous elements that sometimes turn a Dirk Pitt adventure into something akin to Indiana Jones. The famous bathtub escape comes to mind. The Pitt adventures have become classic in the genre and they make for great reading, they also have had occasion to go over the top at times. Kurt Austin is Dirk Pitt on a smaller scale. Austin collects antique dueling pistols while Dirk accumulates World War Two German Jets, railroad cars, and fantastically rare cars.
The idea of introducing a Romanov theme into a story is a gutsy decision for it has been used countless times, and in the majority of uses has become an overused cliché. Cussler and Paul Kemprecos handle the idea well, and while it is still a bit fantastic it does not cross the line in to storytelling that really is a pretty wild stretch to suspend disbelief.
I don't know the science of the Methane (Fire Ice), but again it strikes me as being credible. These books almost seem to take their cue from some of the countless ships that Mr. Cussler has located in real life, and which history will always owe him a debt. This story has a tragic event, but unlike many of the Pitt series the results are far less dramatic and flamboyant. Austin certainly enjoys the beautiful woman that NUMA scientists seem to have a knack for finding wherever they go, but again it is toned down quite a bit.
Whether on his own or in collaboration with another author, if a book has Cussler's name on it you invariable get your money's worth. He is a great teller of tales, and knowledgeable of history, a combination that guaranties good books. This is really escapist fiction at its best. And for those who enjoy the non fiction work of Cussler and his search for old ships there is a second installment of that book on the way as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars are you kidding?, July 15 2004
By 
lucius beard (athens, ga United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fire Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
i was in a bookstore in greece and had a very limited selection of english language books, heading next to istnabul i chose cussler's fire ice. i had heard good things about cussler's dirk pitt series, but had never read one... and now absolutely have no intent to do so. this book was a quick read, yet incredibly predictable and cliched. the plot was mindless and strewn with over-coincidence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sweet, May 24 2004
By 
b (Des Moines) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fire Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
I dont know how to say it but I think that this book has to be one of Clive better books. I dont know how anybody could say different. I have read every book by him and this one has to be close to the top. Kurt Austin is back better then ever. He saves the life of a beautiful girl, and just like any other Clive book he falls in love with her. Kurt then by saving this girl he is accatcked by some horse riding people. But we don't need to worry about Kurt because he is a man and he can take care of himself. I think that this book deserves an instant classic status. I don't know how anybody could say different. I hope that you guys could and will read it and love all most as me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Escapist Read and Nothing More: Fire Ice, Dec 17 2003
By 
This review is from: Fire Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
What do tsunamis, methane hydrate (nicknamed fire ice), a studly hero and a plot to take over the world by a mad man all have in common? No, it isn't the latest James Bond picture-at least at the time of this writing. Instead, it is another thrilling adventure from the empire of Clive Cussler. One does not read him for deep penetrating insights into the human species. You read him because he does adventure better than just about everyone else even if some of his scenes stretch the limits of believability at times.
As noted in the title, this is another in the new series featuring Kurt Austin. And everyone is back to face a foe bent on worldwide domination. In this case the mad man, Razov, is owner of a mining consortium in Russia. He believes that he is an heir to the Tsar's, which were last in power in Russia in 1918. He believes that it is his duty to restore Russia to its early glory and he has a plan to do so. He plans to detonate the massive pockets of methane hydrate along the continental shelf along both coasts of The United States. Among other consequences, the resulting massive undersea landslides would case huge tsunamis that would destroy major east and west coast cities.
Of course, with the fate of the world in the balance, he must be stopped. Enter the always studly, Kurt Austin, and the merry band of operatives from NUMA. After being involved in several strange incidents in the Black Sea, Kurt begins to put the pieces of the puzzle together. Along with the usual scenes of him angrily crossing words with the evildoers, he also has time for the ladies. They, of course, are beautiful, interesting and alluring, and would welcome a brief interlude from the dangers of a world in peril.
This writing team does not plough any new ground but one really does not expect them to do so either. These novels are sheer escapism and this novel has several sections devoted to briefly explaining earlier novels in the series. As such, because of those explanations, if you read this novel first, then you don't need to read the others. Regardless take this one for what it is-a light fun read where everything ends happily and the stud does get the girl (for the night, weekend, or whatever.) Life is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fun reading but liberal agenda annoying, Nov. 1 2003
This review is from: Fire Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
Like Tom Clancy, the story comes at you from several angles at once, and includes many well researched aspects from science and history. Only, unlike Clancy, it has these annoying leftist comments thrown in, like the gunshow crack when the bad guys use automatic weapons. Or the crack about the president (2002 c) was really annoying, although it does show how a liberal bureaucrat treats orders from the prez.
But if you can get past that then the typical male fantasy action sequences are kinda fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The novel with the most cliches wins..., Oct. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
I found this book to be horribly unrealistic in every aspect. The dialog was corny, without an original phrase used by any character. I could perhaps forgive one character who is sarcastic and teasing all the time, but nearly every dialog exchange was full of cliches and sarcasm. And when the characters were being serious, they were melodramatic. There were too many coincidences which inplausibly dragged the plot along. Finally, the backdrop against the legend of Imperial Russia and the modern corrupt Russian businessman-mafioso was just the icing on the cake. I'm not a literature nazi, and I'm game for a pulp fiction read every now and then. But I should be able to enjoy a story without uttering "oh, puh-lease" every few minutes. I haven't read any other Cussler novels, but I'm not inclined to after this one. For a better read in this genre, try Ken Follet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Seems to me I've read this book before........, Sept. 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
What do you do if you're running out of plots for a successful series character like Dirk Pitt? Well, if you're Clive Cussler and you like all the moola you've been making off the series,you dream up another character, a spin-off, and use the same plots again. BEEN THERE, DONE THAT, READ IT ALREADY....ONLY IT WAS MUCH BETTER THE FIRST TIME AROUND!!!!!!!!! PHOOEY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This is Cussler?, Aug. 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire Ice (Hardcover)
Are we sure Fire Ice was written by Cussler? I've been fascinated by his imagination since I read Raise the Titanic years ago, and I've read a number of his books since. First, it is too much a reworking of other novels and too little an adventure based on historical possibilities. Second, it appears to be written with Hollywood, not readers, in mind; one can almost read the script's instructions between the lines and the director's voice in the background. Too bad. It really was an idea with possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, Aug. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Fire Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first Cussler book. (Amazon.com does a good job telling you what the book is about, so I will just give you my thoughts) The best way for me to describe the main character in the book- Kurt Austin, would be to compare him to a watered down version of James Bond. He finds himself in impossible situations, has the latest gadgets, and always comes out on the winning side, and of course has his way with the women. However, even if this is what you are looking for... this book did get slow at times, and I almost did not even finish it. I thought the ending was somewhat silly. I know two other people who did read this book and loved it (so maybe it is just me). Cussler does seem to get some good reviews, so I may try to read one of his older books. However, I do not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, Aug. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Fire Ice (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first Cussler book. (Amazon.com does a good job telling you what the book is about, so I will just give you my thoughts) The best way for me to describe the main character in the book- Kurt Austin, would be to compare him to a watered down version of James Bond. He finds himself in impossible situations, has the latest gadgets, and always comes out on the winning side, and of course has his way with the women. However, even if this is what you are looking for... this book did get slow at times, and I almost did not even finish it. I thought the ending was somewhat silly. I know two other people who did read this book and loved it (so maybe it is just me). Cussler does seem to get some good reviews, so I may try to read one of his older books. However, I do not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb15e1a14)

This product

Fire Ice
Fire Ice by Paul Kemprecos (Mass Market Paperback - May 27 2003)
CDN$ 12.50 CDN$ 11.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews