Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Dallas is back!
J.D. Robb has done it again! This the 17th book, I believe, centering around the heroine Lt. Eve Dallas and it is another hit by J.D. Robb! Our favorite Lieutenant is up against intelligent killer who has studied and made serial killers of the past his heros. Peabody takes the detective exam so be sure and read the book and find out whats going to happen with that! This...
Published on Sept. 6 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Weaker than usual, but still a good murder mystery
I really do like the '..in death' series. But I must admit I was a little disappointed by this particular book. Yes, the murder mystery part was well done, as always. But that's not what makes this series special, at least not from my point of view. It is watching the characters evolve and develop. Not only Eve and Roarke, and their relationship, but all the other...
Published on Sept. 2 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Strong police procedural highlights 17th Eve Dallas !, June 6 2004
By 
Jerry Bull "Gerald M. Bull" (Fairview, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
We continue to be astounded at the publishing pace of Nora Roberts. Despite her "regular" books under her own name, these fun NYPD homicide Lt. Eve Dallas stories, written as "JD Robb", keep coming at the rate of one or two a year. "Imitation...", the 17th entry in the "... In Death" series, is not the emotional blockbuster of the just prior two ("Purity..." and "Portrait..."), but nonetheless entertains throughout this tough-minded police procedural. When a licensed companion (that's a "hooker" in year 2059 parlance) is found brutally murdered in the style of Jack the Ripper, followed in quick succession by the killing of a popular female apartment dweller, slain Boston Strangler style, it doesn't take the two notes recovered from the bodies, on unusual stationary, to clue any of us that a vicious copycat serial killer is on the loose. When it turns out the notes are addressed to Dallas personally, it's also clear that she herself is probably on the intended hit list, providing immense worry to her billionaire but loving husband Roarke. His role in this novel, as in many of the prior tales, is one of Eve's crime-solving sidekick, along with faithful aide Officer Delia Peabody. Fortunately, the notepaper provides a small roster of immediate suspects, but Robb cleverly keeps us guessing, 'til like ten pages before the end, which of the half dozen users of the stationary might be the real sicko. While a sub-plot of sorts involves Peabody's trials and tribulations getting ready for her detective's exam, the storyline is very much ala Ellery Queen in terms of clues, follow-up, and solid police work. Eve's intuition serves her well, but her assembling and processing of the clues is flawless as she gradually zeroes in, then sucks in, the bad guy.
Eve's hardships as an abused young girl, and her husband's often "shady" background provide the usual backdrop to much of the motivation of the principals. Their marital relationship is always a subject of both display and discussion. Meanwhile, Peabody's moving in with McNab, another regular, provides a foil in "examining" the nature of adults living together. We're still big fans of the whole set, and at the point when many similar ongoing character series novels have long gone stale, find continued enjoyment in Dallas' pursuits. We think you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid story, but not the best installment of the series, Sept. 7 2003
By 
R. A. Ward "speedbmp" (WV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I greatly enjoyed "Imitation in Death." The mystery was solid, as was the background on Lt. Eve Dallas' police work and the growth of her character.
The main drawback of this installment of the series is the lack of interaction with the secondary characters. Even Roarke seemed a little cookie cutter this go-round. However, having said that, I believe there is a legitimate reason for it that goes deeper than lack of inspiration.
Essentially, the character of Eve was feeling cut off from her loved ones in this story. She was dealing with inner demons quite a bit -- not as dramatically as in some previous books, but nonetheless she was definitely withdrawn to some degree while she dealt with new information about her past. Also, several of the secondary characters, such as Peabody, were dealing with life changes and were not their "usual selves."
I think that the story functioned as a mirror of Eve's own innerlooking attitude, life changes of several characters, and finally and perhaps most importantly as a bridge to the next phase of the series. I won't say what that phase is -- you will know as soon as you finish the book -- because I don't want to spoil the story.
But believe me, while the story itself may not satisfy the reader as much as Roberts' earlier installments, I think that it serves its purpose perfectly and sets up a lot of new things that will keep the series as a whole fresh for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Never Gets Boring!, Sept. 7 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read every "In Death" book in the entire series, and each time I finish an entry like "Imitation in Death," I am chafing at the bit for the next one.
"Imitation in Death" is one of the better books in the series, because it so adeptly weaves together the ongoing stories of the main characters with the very well-drawn plot at hand: A serial killer is showing off for Eve, modeling each of his horrendous murders after a "classic" killer, from Jack the Ripper to the Boston Strangler to a fictional perpetrator who supposedly plied his trade in the 2020s.
Now, in the 2050s, Eve must stop him before he runs completely amok--and her main suspects include some very famous people. Meanwhile, down on the home front, Eve and Roarke's relationship is better than ever (this is one of the main draws of the series, to my mind) as Eve savors the last days without her hated adversary Summerset, the major domo (butler!) of Roarke's estate, who was sent on vacation in the last book.
Peabody and McNab have made a "mag" and major decision, which has Peabody in a tizzy as she studies for her detective's exam. Will she make it? And Mavis and Leonardo are busy garbing Mavis in outrageous maternity clothes that only she could wear--and only he could design.
Absolutely a winner. I was sad when I finished the last page. Note to Nora (J.D. Robb): Hurry up with the next one! PLEASE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dallas is back!, Sept. 6 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
J.D. Robb has done it again! This the 17th book, I believe, centering around the heroine Lt. Eve Dallas and it is another hit by J.D. Robb! Our favorite Lieutenant is up against intelligent killer who has studied and made serial killers of the past his heros. Peabody takes the detective exam so be sure and read the book and find out whats going to happen with that! This is a great book! Definately worth the reading time even if your don't regularly read J.D. Robb.
The reader is presented with the normal cast of returning characters. What makes this book interesting to me beyond the great story is this is the second book since the author changed her tone of writing. It is my belief that the first 15 books with the much gritier and grimmer writing style gives the reader a glimps into the soul of Lt. Eve Dallas as it where. In latest 2 books the writing style as lighted considerably. Not to say Dallas is any less of a great cop or that her personality has been changed by the author. No its more as if some of the deep mental wounds have been healed to an extent that while Dallas is still a hardass she's enjoying living more.
Another great Lt. Eve Dallas mystery, definately worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Weaker than usual, but still a good murder mystery, Sept. 2 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I really do like the '..in death' series. But I must admit I was a little disappointed by this particular book. Yes, the murder mystery part was well done, as always. But that's not what makes this series special, at least not from my point of view. It is watching the characters evolve and develop. Not only Eve and Roarke, and their relationship, but all the other 'side' characters that have been introduced in the previous books. In 'Imitation in Death', all the side characters are mentioned once, as if for form's sake. I would have preferred if J.D. Robb had concentrated more on one of them, but had told a real story about him or her. Also, Eve and Roarke carry on as usual, fighting, making up, but there is little character development. To sum it up, hardly anything happens in this book, exept for a murder mystery. That makes it a good book, but not an exceptional one. I hope this is not a sign that J.D. Robb is running out of ideas for her characters, and I'm looking forward to the next (hopefully better) book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting futuristic romantic myster, Sept. 2 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
The summer of 2059 is a scorcher and crime is on the rise but Lieutenant Eve Dallas of the New York Police and security department has a very high profile case that takes up all her time. The body of a prostitute is found in a back alley in Chinatown and the way she was killed is identical to Jack the Ripper's signature. On the toe of the victim is a letter addressed to Eve challenging her to try and catch him.
The only clue he left behind is the stationary addressed to Eve that is illegal in this country since it is not recycled. Only a few outlets in Europe sells them and Eve is able to get the names of the people who bought it who are now living in New York. All the suspects are rich and powerful so Eve has to tread carefully even when the perpetrator strikes two more times mimicking The Boston Strangler and Ted Bundy. Eve is in a race against time before the suspect kills again but she needs one more piece of evidence before she can take him down.
J.D. Robb has written another exciting futuristic romantic mystery that will have fans of many genres clamoring to read it. IMITATION IN DEATH brings back secondary characters including Peabody, Eve's assistant, who is preparing to take her detective's exam and move in with her lover. The heroine solves this dark and gritty case with her usual panache and a little help from her busy billionaire husband Roarke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the series, Sept. 2 2003
By 
"koreill" (Baton Rouge, LA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Personal notes attached to the victims draw Eve Dallas into a case where she trails a murderer imitating historical serial killers. Peabody is worried about her detective's exam and moving in with McNab. Unfortunately, that pretty much sums up this book. The other 'In Death' murder mysteries were usually gripping and new readers could enjoy those stories, even if they were unfamiliar with the series' characters. I don't believe that is the case with this book. I found the murder mystery to be recycled and predictable and thought the story just dragged. All the regular chararacters were stagnant. Mavis, Nadine, Feeney, Morris, Trueheart and even Summerset were thrown into the story as afterthoughts. Some of the scenes with Eve and Roarke were cute but there was no additional evolution of their relationship.

I have followed the 'In Death' series from the first book, but this is my least favorite. Like the other fans of the series, I'm hooked and will buy the future 'In Death' novels as soon as they come out, but I definitely do not recommend this book for a new reader. If this was a reader's first book in the series, they would never pick up another and that would be a shame because most are really good stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A slight misstep in an otherwise great series., Sept. 1 2003
By 
Rant Diva "rantdiva" (GRITS girl trapped in the Midwest.) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I buy the J.D. Robb books like most people go to movies they really want to see-on the first day they're available. Then, I read it cover to cover-no matter how late, no matter what time I have to get up in the morning-I have to match wits with Eve Dallas, Roarke, and the crew to see if I can guess who the killer is. The one thing I LOVE about this series (and Nora Roberts in general) is that I'm always guessing until the last clue is in place. Not so with this particular installment of the 'In Death' series.
I don't want to spoil it for those who read this book, but there's a VERY VERY big clue that reveals the killer's identity right off the bat, and it's so obvious you almost miss it. When I realized it, I was so upset, because that's the fun for me. This is the first book I've acutally been able to put down and leave for awhile-the first that didn't fully engage me to the point that everything else is a distraction. All of the qualities that makes these books so much fun are there-Roarke and Eve's love for one another, McNabb and Peabody getting more committed, Summerset (he's back!!!); and let's not forget the witty reparte' the characters have. The book got off to a very slow start for me, and I didn't enjoy this book as much as the rest. It's saying something that it took book 17 for me to get disheartened, so lets hope that "Remember When" and the next "In Death" novel makes up for this slight misstep in an otherwise great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Ult and Icy Stuff., Aug. 31 2003
By 
Jonathan Burgoine "bookseller" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
There is some excellent plot and character in this latest Robb book. First off, if you've never read any of the J.D. Robb series, you're missing out, and shouldn't start here, but with 'Naked in Death' the first in the series.

Eve Dallas is a tough detective in an even tougher future New York. In 'Imitation in Death,' the latest serial killer is imitating the serial killers of history, and has left notes for Dallas - all but taunting her inability to make it stop. While Dallas does her usual hard-ass investigation, the list of suspects quickly fills itself - with important and influential individuals. She certainly can't afford to mess this one up.

With help from her sexy-to-the-"ult" husband Roarke (no other name) and her relationship-jittery aide Delia Peabody, Eve tries to hunt down the baddie with her usual zest and sarcasm. Her bafflement with all things feminine and family continues, and the sub-plot of Eve's slowly uncovering amnesia/repression about her family gets a little further in this book - with some startling results.

Even better, the secondary characters we all know and love - Peabody especially, taking her Detective's test - all get a bit of book-time in 'Imitation in Death.' They grow, change, and interact with the sassy style you're used to from Robb, and with awesome results.

You'll find it ult. Icy, even. But definitely murder.

'Nathan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the great tradition of the IN DEATH Series, Aug. 30 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Imitation In Death (Mass Market Paperback)
Every once in a great while, a series comes along to capture the imagination, the mind, and the heart. This series continues to be one of the best written sagas I have seen in many years.

Each new installment helps develop the characters a little further, adding depth and shape to these individuals. You must start at the 1st installment, NAKED IN DEATH, to truly learn, experience, and grow to love each new character in JD Robbs In Death saga.
In this installment, Lieutenant Eve Dallas is personally selected by the killer to play Cat and Mouse. The killer is imitating some of the most notorious serial killers ever known to man. Eve is caught in the midst of this killing spree trying to use her historical knowledge of serial killers, investigative skills, and unique team of cohorts to solve this series of murders.
And in the middle of this intense investigation, Eve and her circle of friends/family are dealing with various personal issues, as usual: Roarke is still coping with the discovery of his birth mother, Peabody is pursuing her Detective badge and cohabitating with McNab. Eve is overjoyed because Summerset is still on vacation, dealing with nightmarish discoveries about her past, learning to love and accept her quirky circle of friends as her family, and realizing that her wonderful husband is vulnerable like the rest of us.
The most hilarious scene involves Eve, Roarke, and a barbeque grill!
Books that make me laugh out loud or cry with heart felt emotions are rare; this book did just that and it is why I keep re-reading this series and waiting for the next installment to be released.
This one is exceptionally good and the ending was absolutely great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imitation In Death
Imitation In Death by Nora Roberts (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 4 2004)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews