Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back to Shakespeare..., Jan. 23 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shakespeare's Trollop (Hardcover)
For someone who doesn't like to get involved in other people's affairs, Lily Bard seems to have a knack for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. In book #4 of Charlaine Harris' superb Lily Bard mystery series, Lily discovers lifelong Shakespeare resident Deedra Dean murdered inside a car parked in a woodsy area outside of town. Lily quickly becomes a suspect when it is discovered that Deedra died of a severe blow to the chest - a blow that could only have been delivered by a martial arts expert. The sheriff becomes even more suspicious regarding her involvement when Deedra's mother asks Lily to help her clean Deedra's apartment, but Lily is determined not to get involved this time and fully intends to leave the case in Sheriff Marta Schuster's capable hands. However, Deedra's notoriously promiscuous lifestyle provides an extensive list of suspects, but very few clues. Much as Lily disliked Deedra in life, she feels that she has no choice but to resume the role of amateur detective and join the investigation.
Once again, a fabulous book from the superb author, Charlaine Harris. With every book Lily Bard and the other characters who reside in Shakespeare become more fleshed out and more entertaining. Lily is really starting to develop into a real person again after being violently assaulted years before and it is fun to see her change. I thought that the mystery plot this time was wonderful and had a nice little surprise twist at the end. For anyone who enjoys mysteries, I cannot recommend this series enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An engrosing story, July 19 2000
By 
This review is from: Shakespeare's Trollop (Hardcover)
Cleaning lady Lily Bard appears for the 4th time in SHAKESPEARE'S TROLLOP. This time the murder victim is Deedra, the local "bad girl" who was best known for her promiscuity. Nearly every male in town is a suspect, but in spite of having a ton of suspects to question, the police can't figure out the killer's identity.
Deedra's mother, Lacey, asks Lily to help her dispose of Deedra's belongings, and Lily unintentionally learns more about the victim's personal life than she wants to know. Without actually snooping or interrogating suspects, Lily manages to find the vital clue that exposes whodunit. I was kept guessing right to the surprise ending.
Lily is a difficult character. Herself the victim of rape and attempted murder, she has slowly worked out her anger and is just starting to get on with a more normal life. Always an arresting personality, she has become more likeable with each book. In SHAKESPEARE'S TROLLOP, Lily shows her more human side, and I was pleased to see her developing relationship with Jack. I very much look forward to the next in this thought-provoking series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lily Bard, Dec 19 2000
This review is from: Shakespeare's Trollop (Hardcover)
In SHAKESPEARE'S TROLLOP, we meet Lily Bard for the fourth time. Lily, housecleaner, karate expert, rape and tortue victim, continues to deal with her past while dealing with the present--people who say, "Oh, you're THAT person". When Lily finds a body, she does what she does with the rest of her life, she quietly goes about her business, keeping her eyes and ears open. In this book, Lily is more personable, more likeable and just as real as ever. I highly recommend this book and sincerely hope that Charlaine Harris can give us another "Lily Bard" as soon as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lily Matures!, July 26 2000
By 
Mandu the Cat (Incline Village, NV USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shakespeare's Trollop (Hardcover)
Lily Bard, house cleaning extraordinaire, returns to us again with a more mature story then the previous ones in this series. While murder is the topic, the real story here is that Lily advances greatly. I won't blow the maturity issue but I do think this is one of the best books in the series. I am definitely looking forward to the next one to see just how one of my favorite characters continues to grow and become comfortable with her past. I only wish she cleaned in my area!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well presented issues, April 24 2003
By 
ProudBookWorm "jbt-wny" (Reynoldsburg, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shakespeare's Trollop (Hardcover)
This book did a very good job bringing up some very interesting questions about what stereotypes we assign to loose women and the fates that await them. The character murdered in this book (4th in the series) has been briefly discussed and analyzed in prior books. It was very interesting to see how and why she was murdered - and the reaction people had to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good continuation of the series, July 20 2000
By 
Deborah Morrissey "timepiece" (Newport News, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shakespeare's Trollop (Hardcover)
I am a big Charlaine Harris fan, and I found this book to have kept up the excellent writing and interesting characters of the Lily Bard series well. She retained a lot of the characters from the previous books (aside from Lily), fleshed them out even more, and set up an interesting situation with a surprising resolution. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series!, June 6 2013
By 
Kathryn Philipps "movie addict" (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love these books. I'm a big Harris fan with the exception of the Sookie Stackhouse series. Found this series and her "Gfrave" series much more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, Nov. 26 2002
By 
This review is from: Shakespeare's Trollop (Hardcover)
This series is well worth the time, money, and wait(for each new mystery). A strong female main character with a very well developed story. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Encore un grand cru de Charlaine Harris!, Aug. 14 2011
By 
Spacecowboy "Spacecowboy" (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shakespeare's Trollop (Mass Market Paperback)
Comme toujours, Charlaine Harris sait nous surprendre avec des intrigues bien montées, des personnages intéressants et profonds.

Un livre qui se lit en quelques heures et qui nous tient en suspend tout au long!

Je vous recommande fortement toutes les séries de l'auteur, car ses livres me procurent autant de plaisir à chaque fois!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakespeare's Trollop
Shakespeare's Trollop by Charlaine Harris (Mass Market Paperback - May 3 2004)
CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews