Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At his best
This book does display Koontz at his best.
While the topic isn't exactly likely to happen, somehow Koontz pulls you in & makes you believe it CAN happen. When you're near death & almost die, what does that do to you? Can it change you, change who you are- does it open a door to another world? While the thought of dying is scary enough, imagine if you...
Published on Dec 30 2003 by Theresa W

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good plot once again falls apart
Dean Koontz has a nack for coming up with some good plots. But inevitably, they fall apart due to his usual monotonous delivery and not planning in advance. He comes up with a fascinating subject, but doesn't think about how the main character will survive(he\she almost always does.) The story, while scary in some parts, slowly dissolves into exactly what you expect to...
Published on Sept. 30 2000


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At his best, Dec 30 2003
This review is from: Hideaway (Mass Market Paperback)
This book does display Koontz at his best.
While the topic isn't exactly likely to happen, somehow Koontz pulls you in & makes you believe it CAN happen. When you're near death & almost die, what does that do to you? Can it change you, change who you are- does it open a door to another world? While the thought of dying is scary enough, imagine if you survived, but you were changed. And not for the better. What would you do?
This book is full of suspense, mystery, terror, horror, astonishment & heart-pounding moments! Go get it & read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good versus evil, Feb. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hideaway (Kindle Edition)
A spellbinding plot, characters both loveable and terrifying, and classic themes of good versus evil; innocence and depravity; purity and corruption. Fraught with striking symbolism and crystal images,Hideaway challenges the reader to walk away unmoved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful and chilling thriller!!, March 13 2004
By 
Freddy Jones (Orlando, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hideaway (Mass Market Paperback)
Hatch Harrison and his wife Lindsay are driving home from a vacation. Before they have time to react, Hatch and Lindsay become involved in a horrendous car accident that results in Hatch passing away. By the time they are taken to the hospital, Hatch has been dead for over an hour. However, Dr. Jonas Nyberg specializes in bringing people back from the dead, and manages to revive Hatch. Hatch and Lindsay see this as a gift from God and begin to live life to the fullest. They even adopt a handicapped 10 year old girl named Regina. However, just as things seem like they couldn't get any better, Hatch makes a startling discovery. Hatch's return from death has somehow linked his mind, with the mind of a deadly serial killer. As Hatch begins to see the victims through the killer's eyes, the killer also becomes aware of Hatch's presence. Now Hatch and his family are put in danger when the killer becomes obsessed with tracking them down.
Hideaway is definately one of the best Dean Koontz books I have ever read. The book drags you in after the first page, and keeps you there until the very end. This book is extremely captivating and terrifying. The premise is what makes the book so great. The subject of near death experiences and the afterlife is one that is extremely interesting. Koontz's take on the subject is very creative and original. The character development is amazing in this book. Koontz tells the story from two different perspectives. One being Hatch, and the other being the killer. You come to see the story through the eyes of both characters which makes the story very well rounded. The killer is perhaps one of Koontz's best villans because of how savagely brutal he is. The description that Koontz uses to describe each kill, will make you flinch at times.
Overall, Hideaway is one of Koontz's most terrifying and dark books. The characters are all great, the book is filled with action and suspense, and you will love Koontz's take on near death experiences and the afterlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Painful Slog toward an Ugly Destination, March 26 2004
By 
diogenes lamp "diogeneslamp" (Glenwood Springs, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hideaway (Mass Market Paperback)
Very difficult book for me to get through, then an ending that made me wish I didn't bother. I could hardly keep my eyes opened through Koontz's drawn-out medical "drama" and his melodramatic evil characterizations. I simply found the book boring, but decided to stick it out. It did not scare me; it did not make me laugh; it did not satisfy me in the end. Life is too short for this type of over-written and under-plotted and under-characterized work. I couldn't bear to give the book only one star, because it was obvious Koontz was trying really, really hard to make a literate and informative book. But I never gave a damn about the phony characters--from peter perfect resuscitation patient to the doctor that just loved his darn patients too much to the evil man in sunglasses that lived in the realm between life and death, I couldn't buy it. It felt contrived, like most of the books from Koontz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Strong Start, Disappointing Finish, July 14 2003
This review is from: Hideaway (Mass Market Paperback)
Hideaway is one of those books which start out great, with a big bang, and goes downhill from there. The start of the book starts with Lindsey and Hatch, the main characters, in a major auto accident that sends their car toppling down an embankment and into a river. Koontz illustrates the excruciating details of this accident beautifully. He really puts the reader rigth into the car with his characters.
After that, however, the book slowly slides downhill. It begins when Hatch starts experiencing 'visions' of horrible things that he soon realizes aren't nightmares, but actual events. Hatch has apparently carried back the ability to psychicly link-up with a serial killer, who also happens to be possesed by an evil spirit. It also just happens that the serial killer was also brought back from the dead by the same doctor who brings Hatch back from the dead. It also happens that this serial killer was that doctor's son. It also happens that this serial killer wants Hatch's wife Lindsey and their newly adopted daughter for his 'collection' of bodies that he is dedicating to Satan in an attempt to earn his way back into hell. Have all of the 'it also happens' gotten to be as ridiculous to you as they did to me?
A word about the characters in this book. Usually, Dean Koontz comes up with believable characters that I like and can root for (or against). In this case, I think he really screwed up. I began to hate the main characters in this book, Hatch and Lindsey, as soon as they decided to go ahead with their adoption even though they knew they were likely putting the child in the way of a serial killer. What kind of people are they? Who wants to root for someone like that? After that point in this book I kept hoping that the two main characters would 'get it' while the child was somehow spared.
This is not a great Dean Koontz. I seriously hope that people do not pick this up as their first DK book. I can't imagine that they would read another after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most frightening of all!, Jan. 27 2003
This review is from: Hideaway (Mass Market Paperback)
He strikes again with this fantastic story that the movie made a mockery of. The concept totally misplaced. Real evil and terror of situations that are out there. Sometimes we hear about these, sometimes we're not. Other movies I've seen that didn't even come close to the evil perceived in this. Let's not forget the flip of the coin. The oldest battle in time- Good versus Evil. Who wins out? Who loses? What could you lose that you hold so dear to you? This story makes you think of all those little things that really matter. Read it and find out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read the book- stay away from the movie, Jan. 4 2003
This review is from: Hideaway (Mass Market Paperback)
This is in the category of Dean Koontz books that are incomparable. Other books have been made into movies and won best picture, and that doesn't have this level of evil. The adopted daughter is a very crucial part. When someone dies and is brought back to life after a certain time period, you wonder what did they see, or go through. People talk of experiencing various things. This puts a spin on all that you've ever read or heard about. It is a great read and the scariest of all, is that there are people out there who are truly this evil. Stick to the book and don't destroy your images in your mind by watching the movie. If Mr. Koontz was disappointed ... what do you think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Oct. 4 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hideaway (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed reading Koontz' prose--it's compeling, graphic, and impactive, even musical at times. He writes believable characters and gives them actions consistant with their characters. But I found this story so unbelievable, contrived, and obviously manipulated that I would never recommend it to anyone. And the ending--it was not carefully constructed. Rather, the author opted for an easy, quick way out of the story problem, especially with Hatch's continuous clairvoyance of Jeremy's whereabouts. Why wasn't it continuous early on in the book? Simply because the author didn't find it convenient--he had three hundred more pages to write. No explanation is given for this sudden continuous clairvoyance as distunguished from the periodic type he had experienced during the earlier parts of the book. This lack of consistancy made the book increasingly unbelievable for me. And the "scientific" basis of such involuntary clairvoyance--that two people had a near-death experience and were revived by the same doctor? Nonsense! Cite one such case in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scary , as Usual, Aug. 14 2001
By 
This review is from: Hideaway (Mass Market Paperback)
Deep suspense. How are two lives thrown together? Why is the young man a killer? Why is the other man seeing things? Will they ever meet? Almost makes one cringe in sheer terror, as each chapter unfolds and each step is paved for more questions and more horror. Mr. Koontz......another job well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SMOOTH, SHORT, CHILLING READ., Aug. 4 2001
This review is from: Hideaway (Mass Market Paperback)
EVEN THOUGH I AM NOT YET A PARENT, I CAN IMAGINE THAT THIS NOVEL WOULD BE ANY PARENTS WORST NIGHTMARE. I READ IT ALL IN LESS THAN TWO HOURS BECUASE IT WAS SO EAST AND SUSPENSFUL...I JUST COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN..I TRIED AND TRIED BUT I COULD NOT EVEN TAKE A BATHROOM BREAK. IT WAS NOT REALLY A HORROR BUT I THOUGHT IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST BY DEAN KOONTZ.
HIDEAWAY STARTS OFF WITH A LITTLE CAR ACCEDENT THE TWO HUSBAND AND WIFE HAVE A CAR ACCEDENT AND THE HUSBAND ALMOST DIES, BUT THE DOCTORS GET HIM AND WITHOUT A SECOND TO SPARE, THEY SAVE HIS LIFE. THE HUSBAND AND WIFE DECIDE TO ADDOPT A CHILD, THEY FIND THIS PERFECT LITTLE CHILD, AND ADDOPT HER...BUT AT THE SAME TIME A CRAZED KILLER IS LOOKING FOR A CHILD TO SCRIFICE, AND HE CHOOSES THE SAME CHILD...DOSE THE CHILD DIE...DOSE SHE SURVIVE..YOU'LL HAVE TO READ AND FIND OUT.
DONT FORGET TO VOTE YES IF THIS REVIEW HELPED YOU IN ANY WAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hideaway
Hideaway by Dean Koontz (Mass Market Paperback - July 5 2005)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews