Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read
This book kept you reading and interested, enough turns to keep it enjoyable.
Would suggest as a good book for those who like the serial killer themes
Published 15 months ago by Janet

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I spent money on this tripe
So I read all the reviews here and was eagerly looking forward to reading a new author in a genre I enjoy -- thriller/crime.
Wow, was I ever let down.
First of all I found it incredibly hard to like the main character Lucas Davenport, particularly after he is portrayed as having absolutely no scruples -- from planting evidence (he's a cop!) because he can't...
Published on May 11 2000 by Ny-er


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars good story compromised by average prose/characterizations, Nov. 3 2003
By 
lazza (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) - See all my reviews
'Rules of Prey' is the first book of John Sandford's 'Prey' series, and its the first book of John Sandford I've read. Coming off of reading my first Dennis Lehane book, which was simply terrific, 'Rule of Prey' in comparison seemed ... amateurish. Oh, the story is fine. Serial killer, enigmatic police investigator, plenty of twists and turns. But Sandford's prose seems rather flat; it read like a script to a good TV crime program or film. And the leading protaganists seemed very formulaic. The likes of Lehane, (Patricia) Highsmith, and (Jim) Thompson have all done much better in dissecting the mind of psychopaths and delivering compelling stories. Having said all this 'Rules of Prey' is a fast and compulsive read.
Now back to the story, we have your psychotic monster who gets sexual pleasure by killing women. He knows he's psychotic. And he knows he's very intelligent. The local police department recruits supercop, who is naturally "a sex machine with all the chicks", to find this monster. As I mention above the story has bumps and turns. It also has a decent ending (no spoilers here).
Bottom line: certainly this territory has covered by better writers than Sandford. Still, 'Rules of Prey' is an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, page-turning thriller, Oct. 13 2003
By 
John Howard "jrh1972" (Jacksonville, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While the plot of this book seemed a bt formulaic and predictable, Sandford still manages to keep the reader hooked using some well-written characters and an interesting plot that keeps you wanting to know what is going to happen next.
I don't normally read many thrillers, but I picked this up when I was starved for something to read, and I was not disappointed. This book is definitely worth reading, but be careful, because it's possible you will get hooked. After reading Rules of Prey, I continued reading the Prey series for another 10 or 11 books before I was finally able to wrestle myself away from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rules Of Prey-Breaks the Rules, May 29 2003
Lucas Davneport, the hero of the story, proves time and time again to be as cold-blooded and violent as any killer he encounters, and this book gives the perfect example of this. To see how humans really react when they take a life (assuming they are not psychopaths, which Davenport may well be), read Dennis Lehane's books such as A Drink Before the War, featuring Patrick Kenzie and Angie Somethingorother.
Aside from this little fact, this book was a very good read, filled with suspense and violence. If you're in to those things, you will probably like this very twisted novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading Twice, May 27 2003
By 
Amanda Johnson (Cincinnati, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This book is one of the best books I have ever read. I couldn't put it down. The main character is like no other detective I have read about. He experiences ups and downs just like any human and doesn't solve the mystery on his first try. He isn't a perfect person in fact he has many flaws which is one of the things that makes him so good. His stories are very original. This book is very suspenseful. Just when you think you have figured everything out something will happen that you never thought. I will definetly read this book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but not the best of the prey, May 17 2003
By 
Mark Wagenschutz (Battle Creek, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Rules of Prey is the first installment of Sanford's Prey series starring the incomparable Lucas Davenport. In this fare, Davenport hunts for the elusive Mad Dog killer, an attorney by day, a sadistic killer by night. But the Mad Dog's third victim escapes and Lucas now has a thread from which to work with. Mad Dog knows Davenport is getting closer, but there's still "business" to accomplish - more women to kill, and to eliminate the danger Davenport poses to the Mad Dog's desires.
If this was the first Prey book I'd read, I'm sure my rating would have been higher. But this definitely is not up to the standards of the later books in the series. Davenport seems more interested in following the desires of his groin than in trying to resolve the many personal issues he's facing. He develops throughout the series into a very likable, fallable person who you end up cheering for. But with this first attempt, he is more a of a shallow, one-dimensional character, ruthless, unfeeling, and voyeuristic. Perhaps I'm being a bit too hard, but the later books in the series are so much more compelling, this left me slightly less than totally satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Master of Suspense, May 9 2003
By 
"wendy0528" (South Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
The "maddog" has been killing for a long time but his most recent game takes place in Minnesota's Twin Cities where he's already killed two, almost three, women. As a lawyer in "normal life," this guy's pretty clever and applies many "rules" to prevent getting caught. To help the police grasp the concept of his latest game, he leaves one of his rules with each victim, cut out of newspaper, carefully taped together. Never kill anyone you know. Never have a motive. Never carry a weapon after it has been used, and so on.
Minneapolis Lieutenant Lucas Davenport also enjoys games. He invents strategic video games, drives a Porsche, likes to fish, collects guns, and, like our serial-killer, plays by his own rules. The rebel in him should've got him fired long ago. But, despite his style and ethics, he gets results. Now he's assigned to catch this demented serial-killer but the "maddog" will certainly have the cops chasing their own tails in this thriller.
Lucas is a genuine and complex character. I'll enjoy getting to know him better throughout the series. He's kind and sensitive when he can be, crude and tough when he needs to be. For such a tough guy, you'll be surprised to know he's afraid of flying. He loves women. Many women. The media loves him, one anchorwoman in particular. But often, they use each other to their own professional advantage.
John Sandford delivers a debut novel filled with suspense and realism. The entire police investigation seems so authentic and easy to follow that the reader applauds their breakthroughs and sympathizes with their foul-ups. Their tactics are truly absorbing, often educational. Sandford doesn't bore the reader with lines of needless detail, but provides remarkable descriptions, narratives and key information throughout the book. My only complaint is the utter stupidity Lucas Davenport's women possess, especially when it comes to their relationships with him. They're all just too casual about break-ups and infidelities. But still, never a dull moment in this first of many "Prey Series" books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise surprise it was GREAT!, May 7 2003
By 
I have passed over the PREY series for some time.I thought how exciting could a detective story be set in Minnesota? However I was searching for something new and decided to give it a try. I was not sorry that I did. The story overall is excellent,it keeps you reading from the first page. Lucas is a fantastic character and his dark side is especially enjoyable(We all like to see the main charcter kick butt as well as solve the crime and save the day). Sandford's writing is right up there with James Lee Burke.I think that the most important thing is that the story flows, it does not bog down. Pick this one up you will not be sorry you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sandford Writes with Depth, Feb. 10 2003
Sandford has a knack for writing stories that simply feel right. I'bve read about 75% of the prey series and went back to the first one. Thing is that even though I know the hero will win (who doesn't really?) but the journey is worth it. That;s because Sanfor doesn' sanitize his heroes or villians. He goes all the way unlike say Patterson who makes his Alex Cross so smarmy and unsufferably perfect and moral that you want to see him offed.
You don't need to know the setails of the story - other reviews give you that. What you do need to know is that the story works, the characters resonate reality and the villians don't hold back.
This is the real thing and missing it is your loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Sandford & the Prey Series, Dec 31 2002
By A Customer
The Prey series rocks! Sandford is such an insightful writer that you get lost in his books. Can't put them down until you're at the end. I'm on my seat waiting for a new one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book to make you double lock your doors, Oct. 5 2002
By 
"tsm224" (Cleveland ohio) - See all my reviews
Lucas Davenport is a complex character with an multi facet personality. He has killed in the line of duty and
the circumstances should of removed him from the job. The thing is he is great at tracking down the killers so he gets a special assignment title and an office in the basement. The police force overlooks his discretion's because of his proven track record. He also has a literal love affair with the media. He is involved with one anchorwoman as he strings another along with tidbits on the cases. To further complicate matters he has a relationship with a victim of the killer. Normally these antics turn me off a novel, Sanford has the gift of writing that makes Lucas a male gigolo with brains. As for the case, a killer is after a certain
type of woman ( aren't most serial killers), but he leaves notes behind telling them about his methods. He is a highly skilled intelligent person who loves to taunt the police. He is always one step ahead of them and calls Lucas to let him know this. Lucas becomes obsessed with this case and the reader is forced to keep reading to unravel the truth. This book has all the makings of a masterpiece. From the start Sanford gives us a three dimensional investigator with a real personal relationship. There is no choppy writing as the author tries to mold a character and plot is well supported by facts and details most debut novels don't bother to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb588b468)

This product

Rules of Prey
Rules of Prey by John Sandford (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 2 2005)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews