Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't usually read this stuff
My usual book tastes run toward fiction---you know, MIDDLESEX or the new and exciting A SPOT OF BOTHER by Haddon--the guy who wrote CURIOUS INCIDENT, so I wasn't jumping for joy at reading a book by Clive Cussier. Boy, was I wrong! Action packed to the max, with superb discriptions, this is one fantastic read! Weird and wonderful, you will have to suspend your...
Published on Oct. 22 2006 by Marion Luddacker

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Du Brul and Cussler succeed agaian!
The Corporation is a mercenary private enterprise for hire by any government agency that can afford its fees. Juan Cabrillo, the Chairman, runs his black ops from a ship called "The Oregon". Disguised as an overused, out of date, non-descript mercantile vessel that's destined for the scrap yard, the Oregon is actually a state of the art war vessel packed with high-tech...
Published on Nov. 2 2008 by Paul Weiss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't usually read this stuff, Oct. 22 2006
This review is from: Skeleton Coast (Paperback)
My usual book tastes run toward fiction---you know, MIDDLESEX or the new and exciting A SPOT OF BOTHER by Haddon--the guy who wrote CURIOUS INCIDENT, so I wasn't jumping for joy at reading a book by Clive Cussier. Boy, was I wrong! Action packed to the max, with superb discriptions, this is one fantastic read! Weird and wonderful, you will have to suspend your "disbelief" for a while, but it makes for a good story. Fast paced and well done, this one's a book that you'll want to recommend to a friend. I would also recommend the novel KITE RUNNER and ANGELS & DEMONS for other great books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skeleton Coast, Feb. 12 2012
Good story and a typical Cussler novel. Loved the intrigue and it was fast packed as usual. Good twists in the story as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really great, Feb. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What is there left to say. It was a great book that I thoroughly enjoyed. He always come through. I look forward to every new book from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Good Book, Oct. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It seems every book that Clive write's you know your in for a good reading from start to finish I just love every one of his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great action book, June 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found that I can,t put this book down once I,ve started reading.It seems the books are written just for me with ongoing action.I think I won,t stop until I,ve read all of Clive Cusslers books.He,s very popular with the retired and military.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Du Brul and Cussler succeed agaian!, Nov. 2 2008
By 
Paul Weiss (Dundas, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skeleton Coast (Paperback)
The Corporation is a mercenary private enterprise for hire by any government agency that can afford its fees. Juan Cabrillo, the Chairman, runs his black ops from a ship called "The Oregon". Disguised as an overused, out of date, non-descript mercantile vessel that's destined for the scrap yard, the Oregon is actually a state of the art war vessel packed with high-tech intelligence gathering equipment, powerful weaponry and a fully muscled set of magnetohydrodynamic engines that, pushed to flank speed, will give virtually any ship on the high seas a run for its money. If you've read any Clive Cussler novels at all, it won't be a surprise to hear that Cabrillo is right over the top - an entirely unbelievable lead character (think Mr Phelps from Mission Impossible on steroids) leading an equally unbelievable crew with uncanny intelligence and virtually superhuman strength and endurance. The missions they accept in Cussler's Oregon Files series are typically of the "save the world from domination or destruction by a nefarious lunatic" variety.

When I reviewed "Golden Buddha", the first in the Oregon Files series, I gave it a grudging single star and swore that I would likely never read another Cussler novel again. Frankly, it was just awful! But after a two year abstinence, my past fondness for Cussler's earlier work over-ruled my reluctance and "Plague Ship" rewarded me with a thoroughly enjoyable read. I gave Jack Du Brul a second chance and I hit pay dirt again with "Skeleton Coast"

A covert running gun battle with revolutionaries on the Congo River, a search for a long lost fortune in diamonds buried in the Kalahari desert, the typical sexy and beautiful female heroine who overcomes all odds against her, environmental terrorism, the miraculous rescue of a kidnapped industrialist from an abandoned prison - the details are actually not important. The fact is ... they're really quite forgettable within a very short period after you've finished the novel. What's much more important is that, unlike "Golden Buddha", for example, which was an exercise in nonsensical hyperbole, "Skeleton Coast" remained (just barely, mind you) within the bounds of an enjoyable credibility-stretching thriller that really should be turned into a rock-em, sock-em Hollywood SFX loaded James Bond style flick.

I found Cussler's brief sidebars on the evolution of hurricanes and the importance of ocean currents and water temperature in their development particularly interesting.

Literature? Certainly not! But a perfectly enjoyable break from the workaday world that any thriller reader will enjoy. Recommended.

Paul Weiss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-Pounding, Non-Stop Action Complemented by High-Tech Hardware and Guts, Dec 1 2006
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skeleton Coast (Paperback)
What do you want in an adventure story? If you're like me, you want lots of exciting action that's unexpected. You also want to be dazzled by advanced weapons and defenses. In addition, chances are that you enjoy unlikely heroes. Naturally, if the fate of the world is at stake, life gets even better. Adventure stories are for us what Crusader songs were for the troubadours during the Middle Ages.

Clive Cussler has an unequaled ability to conjure up stories that are tied to, evoke and feed on the sea. Skeleton Coast's premise and plot show the masterful Cussler hand. Jack Du Brul is one of our most talented action writers. He takes action and makes it more human . . . without wasting time or words. Du Brul's action on top of Cussler's expertise makes for a combination that neither could reach alone.

In this book, I found myself swept along by the story in a way that I don't remember happening since the first few times I read an Ian Fleming novel about James Bond.

Here's the set-up. Dying men are crossing the Kalahari Desert in 1896 carrying a fortune in diamonds that have been stolen from a local tribe. As they plod forward, they know the tribal hunters are getting closer. Next, cut to today, where a biotech billionaire is looking over one of his labs' latest inventions . . . a new way to treat water to reduce pollution. From there, head to the Congo River where a scruffy crew is delivering weapons to rebels in exchange for a fortune in uncut diamonds. What do all these situations have in common? Things are not as they seem.

Before long, the three story lines begin to intertwine in glorious ways that remind me of watching Rhythmic Gymnastics in the Olympics as vivid ribbons swirl and kiss one another.

Of course, if you've read any of the other books in the Oregon files series, you know that the freelance corporation led by one-legged daredevil Juan Cabrillo must be involved somehow. Before the book ends, you'll find yourself in the middle of civil wars, prison breakouts, terrorist attacks and treasure hunts.

You have a great treat ahead of you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vastly improved!, Nov. 2 2006
By 
Richard Head (West Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skeleton Coast (Paperback)
I had grown weary of Cussler's mass produced adventure novels none matched the quality of his early work, but I really did enjoy this collaboration with Jack Du Brule. I like the character Juan Cabrillo, he is a great hero with the dash and style and humor. The book has plenty of mystery and twists and turns and even Dirk Pitt makes an appearance which was very cool! If you are an old time Cussler fan who have not been happy with his more recent efforts I recommend you give this one a try. You also have to try "Tourist in the Yucatan" reminded me of the early Pitt Novels especially the Travis Horn character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TYPICAL CUSSLER, WHICH IS TERRIFIC, Oct. 16 2006
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skeleton Coast (Audio CD)
Scott Brick, who reads the Unabridged edition, is one of the most proficient voice performers to be found. Dubbed a Golden voice by AudioFile, he's also garnered a Science Fiction Audie and a few Earphones Awards. Gifted and versatile he brings the same standard of excellence to every title he reads, whether it be a mystery, historical biography or as in this case a high tech thriller. His voice is clear, distinct and a pleasure to hear.

The Abridged version is read by Jason Culp, an actor who has appeared both on stage and on television, most memorably on Days Of Our Lives and General Hospital. While he does not have Mr. Brick's experience with audio books, his narrative is worthy and highly listenable.

Fans of Clive Cussler and Jack Du Brul know what to expect - an exciting tale with action galore. They won't be disappointed with Skeleton Coast.

The covert combat ship with Juan Cabrillo and crew on board almost became history. But luck was with them one more time, and they escaped virtually unscathed after a mission on the Congo River. Their survival is a good thing for a boat being fired upon. Cabrillo responds to the craft's mayday, saving the vessel and a gorgeous woman passenger, Macintyre Sloane. She's been searching for the HMS Rove which was buried under sand in 1896. Why? Because the Rove holds untold millions in raw diamonds.

Of course, Sloane's not the only one after the fortune, and some would just as soon kill her to make sure she doesn't get it. Cabrillo soon finds that saving Sloane has put him in more danger than he knew existed.

Typical Cussler, which is terrific.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2d89e94)

This product

Skeleton Coast
Skeleton Coast by Jack Du Brul (Paperback - Oct. 3 2006)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
Usually ships in 11 to 14 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews