Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SOLID
A very good writer w/ a very good main character- much better than the usual police stories. There's so much schlock out there- Harlan Coben, Sandra Brown- yuck-so much cliche. Sandford's dialogue is real and believable. Virgil Flowers is a true personality which puts the author way ahead of the pack. Sandford packs more content and punch tighter than these...
Published on Nov. 26 2011 by Fillyjonk

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as usual
I love John Sandford but this book was not as good as usual. I was a little disappointed by it but if I had the choice, I would still buy it!
Published on Nov. 17 2008 by Trekker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SOLID, Nov. 26 2011
This review is from: Heat Lightning (Audio CD)
A very good writer w/ a very good main character- much better than the usual police stories. There's so much schlock out there- Harlan Coben, Sandra Brown- yuck-so much cliche. Sandford's dialogue is real and believable. Virgil Flowers is a true personality which puts the author way ahead of the pack. Sandford packs more content and punch tighter than these sprawling,disjointed, ill-thought out opuses filled w/ stock good guys and villains by the likes of James Patterson. All these authors deal out predictable pablum. Sandford's work is for grown-ups looking for a satisfying read concerning authentically engaging characters in unique situations. Memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Fast Read!, Feb. 13 2011
This review is from: Heat Lightning (Mass Market Paperback)
This is my first book by Mr John Sandford, which was recommended by a friend. I was not disappointed! I read this one while soaking up the sun in Cuba!

This book read so fast I could not turn the pages quick enough. I do not know Mr. Sandford's books so I cannot compare with his other writings but this one I did enjoy and I will read his others!

As the Post and Courier said "Enthralling and plausible." I agree 100%

RECOMMENDED

- Michel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do you like John Sandford?, Dec 4 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heat Lightning (Hardcover)
He writes about Virgil Flowers's escapades in this book and it is as good as all his other books with Virgil as his main character. Your interest is held throughout the book and at times it was difficult to put it down. It is different from Sandford's Prey series but still an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Virgil Flowers in a spy thriller!, Nov. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I always enjoy John Sansford's books. His wicked sense of humour and his well constructed plots make for a most pleasant reading experience. This book tells the story of an unusual case for country cop Virgil Flowers, involving retribution from mysterious killers for Vietnam war era misdeeds by some American former soldiers and mercenaries. As usual, our friend Virgil has some heated exchanges with some spicy ladies while trying to figure out why, who, what and when. There is a fair amount of action in this book which I found to be a pleasant cliffhanger. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as usual, Nov. 17 2008
By 
Trekker (Markham, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heat Lightning (Hardcover)
I love John Sandford but this book was not as good as usual. I was a little disappointed by it but if I had the choice, I would still buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa2431bc)

This product

Heat Lightning
Heat Lightning by John Sandford (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 6 2009)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews