Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars6
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$10.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2013
I always enjoy John Sansford's books. His wicked sense of humour and his well constructed plots make for a most pleasant reading experience. This book tells the story of an unusual case for country cop Virgil Flowers, involving retribution from mysterious killers for Vietnam war era misdeeds by some American former soldiers and mercenaries. As usual, our friend Virgil has some heated exchanges with some spicy ladies while trying to figure out why, who, what and when. There is a fair amount of action in this book which I found to be a pleasant cliffhanger. Enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 13, 2011
This is my first book by Mr John Sandford, which was recommended by a friend. I was not disappointed! I read this one while soaking up the sun in Cuba!

This book read so fast I could not turn the pages quick enough. I do not know Mr. Sandford's books so I cannot compare with his other writings but this one I did enjoy and I will read his others!

As the Post and Courier said "Enthralling and plausible." I agree 100%


- Michel
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 8, 2015
This is the third novel by John Sandford that I have read, and I have enjoyed all of them. This story features Virgil Flowers, a police detective with a unique character working for the Minnesota BCA (Bureau of Criminal Apprehension). The plot centers around a series of assassinations preceded by torture with the bodies deposited at war memorials. In each case a lemon is jammed in the mouth of the deceased. Early on in the story there appears to be a 40 -year old link to an event occurring during the final days of the Vietnam war.

There is plenty of action taking place throughout Minnesota right up to the US/Canada boundary in the Rainy River area. Flowers is quick to follow up leads in his casual unassuming manner. He does his best case analysis by going fishing on any of the wide choice of lakes and rivers in Minnesota. He even takes one of the female suspects fishing. There is subtle humor throughout the text offset somewhat by the brutal torture suffered by the victims. The interaction and cooperation between the various police officers is interesting, especially in the case of the Red Lake Indian Reserve which has its own police force.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 26, 2011
A very good writer w/ a very good main character- much better than the usual police stories. There's so much schlock out there- Harlan Coben, Sandra Brown- yuck-so much cliche. Sandford's dialogue is real and believable. Virgil Flowers is a true personality which puts the author way ahead of the pack. Sandford packs more content and punch tighter than these sprawling,disjointed, ill-thought out opuses filled w/ stock good guys and villains by the likes of James Patterson. All these authors deal out predictable pablum. Sandford's work is for grown-ups looking for a satisfying read concerning authentically engaging characters in unique situations. Memorable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
He writes about Virgil Flowers's escapades in this book and it is as good as all his other books with Virgil as his main character. Your interest is held throughout the book and at times it was difficult to put it down. It is different from Sandford's Prey series but still an excellent read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2008
I love John Sandford but this book was not as good as usual. I was a little disappointed by it but if I had the choice, I would still buy it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Rough Country
Rough Country by John Sandford (Paperback - Sept. 28 2010)
CDN$ 11.25

Bad Blood
Bad Blood by John Sandford (Paperback - Sept. 27 2011)
CDN$ 10.79

Shock Wave
Shock Wave by John Sandford (Hardcover - Oct. 4 2011)
CDN$ 29.25