Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I absolutely LOVED this book. Kathryn Stockett did an amazing job. I loved how the story was written from the perspectives of the different women. I enjoyed seeing the world through their very different eyes and watching them develop throughout the story. The beautifully descriptive writing drew me in and made me feel like I was right there. This is an intense story of...
Published on Feb. 10 2009 by Tara Robertson

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again
I kept hearing all the excitement this book and its movie are generating, so I bought a copy and read it cover-to-cover. The author certainly has talent as a writer but I am disappointed at yet another *Great White Hope* story where groups or generations of disenfranchised minorities are powerless until the white hero or heroine swoops in and liberates these poor folk -...
Published on Sept. 27 2011 by P. Sibun


‹ Previous | 111 12 1319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love! A great story., Nov. 9 2010
By 
This review is from: The Help (Hardcover)
I loved this book. I laughed out loud many times. I found myself re- thinking how I treat people on a daily basis, especially anyone working for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mississippi 1962, July 13 2009
By 
Lisa Nicole Lawrence "Lisa Lawrence" (Antigonish, nova scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Help (Hardcover)
I am a bookaholic and this is the first time I have ever wanted to post a review!!
I LOVED it, I loved the storytelling, the beautiful phrasing, the heartache, the humour and the overall loveliness of this book.
I am heartbroken that it is over because I truly miss the characters.
I am also left with a much better understanding of what the USA "felt like" just a few years before I was born (my mom's descriptions of the south make much more sense now).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great read...., Jan. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Help (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Humans good, bad, selfish and loving....you have it all as you go back in time. Lets learn from this, mutual respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 8 2012
This review is from: The Help (Paperback)
What a great book! Can't put it down and Amazon offered at an unbeatable price with very quick delivery. Thanks Amazon for your excellent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Jan. 7 2012
By 
Sarah Dimaria (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Help (Paperback)
This was an excellent read. I absolutely loved it and would definitely re-read.
The character Minny was my absolute favorite. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, June 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Help (Paperback)
Never would have expected what I found in this book. What an amazing eye opener. And so relatively recently. Makes me feel a bit sick inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, Sept. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Help (Paperback)
Loved this book, it was a total page turner and I would recommend it anyone who is looking for a book that has a little bit of everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The way it was!!, April 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Help (Paperback)
This book is an honest account of the way things were. The characters are so real and true to the time . Funny and sad at the same time .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Dec 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Help (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book overall but was a bit disappointed with the abrupt end. Would recommend to others. Interested in seeing the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book….much better than the movie!!, July 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Help (Paperback)
absolutely loved the way this story was written. Loved the characters and hated some. Isn't this the way life goes. Movie was so great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Help
The Help by Kathryn Stockett (Paperback - April 5 2011)
CDN$ 18.50 CDN$ 13.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews