Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunslingers Eventually Meet Their Match
"Everyone is given to covetousness;
And from the prophet even to the priest,
Everyone deals falsely.
They have also healed the hurt of My people slightly,
Saying, 'Peace, peace!'
When there is no peace." -- Jeremiah 6:13-14 (NKJV)

This brief series ends with Blue-Eyed Devil. Fortunately for fans of Robert B. Parker who are in mourning...
Published on June 12 2010 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys and Indians
A final Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch novel sees the 'boys back in Appaloosa. This time they make trouble for a pretentious sheriff and a CSA general. Allie the girlfriend is there also. A hired gun Chauncey Teagarden appears and will there be a shoot out with Virgil? Well read and find out. Meanwhile our two heroes get in the middle of a little battle with the...
Published on Dec 25 2010 by Pol Sixe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunslingers Eventually Meet Their Match, June 12 2010
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blue-Eyed Devil (Hardcover)
"Everyone is given to covetousness;
And from the prophet even to the priest,
Everyone deals falsely.
They have also healed the hurt of My people slightly,
Saying, 'Peace, peace!'
When there is no peace." -- Jeremiah 6:13-14 (NKJV)

This brief series ends with Blue-Eyed Devil. Fortunately for fans of Robert B. Parker who are in mourning over his passing, the shape of where the series was probably going is clear by the end of this book. It's a nice parting gift.

The contrast between partners Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch, and their friend, Pony, and almost everyone else is enormous. The three men seek to do the right thing. Everyone else wants something that someone else has.

The story is a nice role reversal from the traditional western, the "law" is a big part of the illegal activities. As a result, Virgil, Everett, and Pony must walk a narrow tightrope while keeping their eyes open for hostile potshots.

Mr. Parker richly endowed the book with ironies, shifting alliances, and character flaws that are fatal in the ways that classical Greek dramatists appreciated. Even when standing up to tough men aiming to kill them, a woman can be a man's undoing. It's a story straight out of the Garden of Eden.

How can such a simple morality play work so well? That's what westerns are, and many modern novels are notoriously amoral. We crave for wrongs to be righted and justice to be done. Mr. Parker provides that here with a full house of laconic wit and challenging circumstances. Here's an example of the partners talking after meeting the newest hired gun in town.

"'Why'd he want to see you?'

Virgil smiled.

'So he'd know what I looked like,' Virgil said.

'You think it's you?' I said.

'I don't think he was just being neighborly,' Virgil said.

'Anything personal?' I said.

'Chauncey Teagarden? Hell, no. He got no feelings. Somebody hired him.'

'We know who that would be,' I said.

'Probably,' Virgil said.

'We gonna do anything about it?' I said.

'We'll await developments,' Virgil said.'"

Be prepared for a quick read and a wild ride in Appaloosa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cowboys and Indians, Dec 25 2010
By 
Pol Sixe "hpolvi" (Thornhill, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blue-Eyed Devil (Hardcover)
A final Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch novel sees the 'boys back in Appaloosa. This time they make trouble for a pretentious sheriff and a CSA general. Allie the girlfriend is there also. A hired gun Chauncey Teagarden appears and will there be a shoot out with Virgil? Well read and find out. Meanwhile our two heroes get in the middle of a little battle with the nearby First Nations band and show themselves as surprisingly Liberal for the late 19th century American west, even when the "balloon goes up". As with the other RBP westerns, this one is written in short, choppy chapters, easy to put down for a while and skim through the drier parts. Parker was producing novels at a high rate, four series + kid's books + art book in his final years, this series became a little too formulaic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best western genre novels ever, March 27 2014
By 
Igo (Burnaby, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This novel written by Robert B Parker is so well written, and true to the transition of the west from good guys and true lawman to modern and well corrupted police hierarchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, Feb. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue-Eyed Devil (Mass Market Paperback)
All Robert Parker book are fun to read. I especially like the western ones. They are a really nice change from his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blue-Eyed Devil (Mass Market Paperback)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue-Eyed Devil
Blue-Eyed Devil by Robert B. Parker (Mass Market Paperback - May 3 2011)
CDN$ 11.50 CDN$ 10.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews