Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Against all enemies
I enjoyed reading this book. It was very good and kept you interested and thinking. I found it a little lengthly but I enjoy reading his books anyways. They are always a good read.
Published on July 14 2011 by bookie

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the worst Clancy novel of all!
I have collected and read every novel but one written by Tom Clancy from the first to the latest. "Against All Enemies" is a huge departure from the style of writing normally used by Clancy and features an assistant writer, Peter Pelep. The sentence structure is very juvenile and the style is hugely different. While Clancy books usually have quick and sudden shifts to...
Published on Jan. 28 2012 by Principalguy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the worst Clancy novel of all!, Jan. 28 2012
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
I have collected and read every novel but one written by Tom Clancy from the first to the latest. "Against All Enemies" is a huge departure from the style of writing normally used by Clancy and features an assistant writer, Peter Pelep. The sentence structure is very juvenile and the style is hugely different. While Clancy books usually have quick and sudden shifts to different scenes, this one does not. The situations are almost like extracts from comic books with improbable situations and equally improbable resolutions. In sections, the killing is non-stop and indiscriminate. Pelep is the second of three different writers in the last three novels but this book is the most poorly written. It seems that Clancy is looking for someone to be his constant assistant and this chap is definitely out of his league. Luckily, I chose not to buy this one and borrowed it from the library instead. It was so badly written that i was delighted that I didn't waste any money buying it. If you are a true Clancy fan, do not waste any money or time acquiring it even if you see it at a garage sale. If you are new to Clancy then you have nothing with which to compare it so give it a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Long Comic Book, Aug. 15 2011
By 
Jeffrey Swystun (Toronto & Mont Tremblant) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
Many of the customer reviews on Amazon express a disappointment with this latest Clancy. The blame is pointed to the co-author who appears to have done more than just support Mr. Clancy. My complaint is it emulates too closely the characters Mitch Rapp created by Vince Flynn and Scott Harvath created by Brad Thor. These fiction leads are virtually comic book superheroes who are highly intelligent, physically imposing, and virtually Indestructible. So Clancy adds "Max Moore" to this genre. He is a former Navy SEAL now CIA counter terrorist expert. Clancy provides the readers with an evil two-for-one pitting Moore and U.S. forces against evil drug cartels and Al Qaeda. After a decent start all suspense is lost, subtlety is nonexistent, and the whole thing goes on way too long. Moore, Rapp, Harvath are attempting to challenge Captain America, however, the Captain is more believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tom Has Lost It, Feb. 14 2012
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Mass Market Paperback)
Tom Clancy has lost his writing edge with this book - don't waste your money! If he can't bother to write himself, he should just stop lending his name to these books; its a real dis-service to his readers!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to his usual work, Nov. 19 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
Well I was dissappointed with this latest effort by Mr. Clancy and friend. As another reviewer mentioned its similar to Vince Flynn and Brad Thor's chacaters. I found it very slow and a lot of needless background on the "hero". All in all a dissappointing purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy, July 11 2011
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
I will not buy a Tom Clancy book again. For the second time in a row, he has written this with a co-author. I think the co-author wrote the whole book; it is badly done and Tom Clancy is just living off his name. RIPOFF!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another "Tom Clancy" thriller, April 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
All , or most of Tom Clancy novels deal with the same subjects, with suitable variations. They are a good read on a rainy evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed but somewhat entertaining., March 20 2012
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
Bought this book on sale for $5; which says a lot in itself that its so heavily discounted already. At this point I'm about half way through; and am somewhat satisfied with it as entertainment while I eat lunch at work or sitting on the can. However it is a really jumble and not a cohesive story. You pretty much lose sight of the main plot as the book goes on with countless happenings in the cartel world. The fact that those happenings can be somewhat interesting is keeping me reading; and the action sequences aren't bad. But you could remove the whole Taliban element and it wouldn't change much. I don't even know what their plot is, halfway through. Its also hard to keep track of who is killing who in the cartel world. As far as the protaganist goes; he is not developed well. They keep starting a flashback to some traumatic event in the past; but as of yet they haven't completed it. Just do the frigging flashback and get on with it! Anyways...its better than staring into space and lightly entertaining. But as a story, its quite poorly told. Should be retitled 'a week with the cartels' or something similar; because that's pretty much what its about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Against all enemies, July 14 2011
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading this book. It was very good and kept you interested and thinking. I found it a little lengthly but I enjoy reading his books anyways. They are always a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Against All Enemies
Against All Enemies by Peter Telep (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 31 2012)
CDN$ 11.50 CDN$ 10.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews