Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting thriller with a generous helping of romance, Sept. 24 2011
By 
S. Morehouse (Langley, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York to Dallas (Hardcover)
I'm a long-time fan of this series by JD Robb. This next book in the series does not disappoint and the author does a great job of bringing Eve Dallas' past and present together in a riveting thriller.

All the books in the series have been leading up to this story. As more and more of Eve's past has become known it's been apparent that at some point she would have to confront it and in this book she comes face to face with her childhood nightmares. As always there is a generous helping of humour and romance in this story which helps to temper some of the ugliness of the crimes being committed.

Although I enjoy a good first person story, the beauty of a 3rd person narrative is that you get to hear what all the characters are thinking, not just the main one. That's important in this kind of book where the plot is driven by the dialogue and not necessarily the action. As Eve spends more and more time trying to profile her suspect and target where she will capture him we get variety and insight by getting to hear what the suspect is thinking and feeling.
I'm surprised that this series hasn't hit TV or the movies yet. It would make a great crime/drama/sci-fi series with the right casting and scripts.

I can see far ahead in this series. In fact it could now be called In Life instead of In Death and focus on things like Eve and Roake's children which I'm sure will be showing up sooner rather than later and even delving into the futuristic aspect that so far has only been a setting for the stories rather than a plot line. This series still has a long way to go and JD Robb shows no signs of stopping for which I'm glad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best In The Series!, Oct. 2 2011
By 
Dia (West Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New York to Dallas (Hardcover)
Can't say too much about the plot without giving away the exciting twist ... but this is absolutely one of, if not the, best in the series. A must read if you are a fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best!, Sept. 24 2011
By 
A. P. Quinty (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York to Dallas (Hardcover)
One of the best book in the series! Like "Portraits in Death" and "Visions in Death" it had me wincing, gripping the side of my reading chair and shedding a few tears.
I truly enjoyed the story,the writing and of course, Eve and Roarke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story!, April 22 2014
By 
Jenifer Mohammed, Author of Resurrecting Cybe... (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Great story! Eve goes back to Dallas to confront demons of her past as the first case she cracked as a rookie officer comes back to her to put to rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New York to Dallas (Hardcover)
All her books are my favourite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by JD, March 14 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New York to Dallas (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was great as usual. I am a fan of all of the Dallas series. This book provided background of her early life that had events she had not been aware of at that time. No spoiler - so I will say no more other than if you are a fan of Dallas you should read this book so you will know a little more about the past events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New York to Dallas, Nov. 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New York to Dallas (Mass Market Paperback)
I have all the books from J.D. Robb and love
to see how the people and the stories evolves.
The quest to find the killer and how it balance
with the backstory of Eve, Roarke and the others.
Difficult to wait for the nextone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best in the series, March 18 2012
By 
Lotusland Lady (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New York to Dallas (Mass Market Paperback)
By now, the Eve Dallas series should be getting a little stale. Most of the earlier books, all of which I own, have a fairly standard formula and the stories themselves are almost interchangeable. We learn about Eve's hideous childhood, her courage, her insecurities and the renegade,uber- billionaire husband who loves her. Sometimes Eve seems a bit of a pain in the behind, great cop or not. But this latest installment, New York to Dallas, is riveting and moving. If the series ended here, it would be a perfect conclusion. In this book Eve is simply more than we have seen her before. She is more introspective, more articulate, more trusting and more vulnerable and, finally more grown up.
There is the usual villain whose crimes mirror the abuse Eve suffered as a child from her father. Eve has to confront monsters she thought were long put away and the process comes close to destroying her. But she also is able to lean on Roarke, on Mira, and to accept that she has a "family" who love her and whom she loves. This Eve is a long step from the suspicious, constricted, emotionally frozen woman we first met in this series. The unwinding of the story parallels Eve's painful release of the emotional restraints which have tortured her all her life. A very well done book. Could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Writing, March 3 2012
This review is from: New York to Dallas (Hardcover)
Ms.J. D. Robb has outdone herself in this book. Dallas has faced her past in a most startling way and it was unexpected to see the confrontation in the way it was written. The storyline just kept you reading, you were ( at least I was) unable to put the book down wanting to know what was around the corner. Dallas is a strong character in the everyday working situations, but she is strongest in this book. I admire Ms. Robbs style of writing and am always waiting for the next book out. Thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New York to Dallas by J. D. Robb, Oct. 12 2011
By 
Linda J. Leclair "Good Book Reader" (Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New York to Dallas (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book. It was well worth waiting for and well worth reading twice. I can't wait for her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New York to Dallas
New York to Dallas by J. D. Robb (Mass Market Paperback - March 6 2012)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews