march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage Furniture vpcflyout Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$8.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 24, 2011
I'm a long-time fan of this series by JD Robb. This next book in the series does not disappoint and the author does a great job of bringing Eve Dallas' past and present together in a riveting thriller.

All the books in the series have been leading up to this story. As more and more of Eve's past has become known it's been apparent that at some point she would have to confront it and in this book she comes face to face with her childhood nightmares. As always there is a generous helping of humour and romance in this story which helps to temper some of the ugliness of the crimes being committed.

Although I enjoy a good first person story, the beauty of a 3rd person narrative is that you get to hear what all the characters are thinking, not just the main one. That's important in this kind of book where the plot is driven by the dialogue and not necessarily the action. As Eve spends more and more time trying to profile her suspect and target where she will capture him we get variety and insight by getting to hear what the suspect is thinking and feeling.
I'm surprised that this series hasn't hit TV or the movies yet. It would make a great crime/drama/sci-fi series with the right casting and scripts.

I can see far ahead in this series. In fact it could now be called In Life instead of In Death and focus on things like Eve and Roake's children which I'm sure will be showing up sooner rather than later and even delving into the futuristic aspect that so far has only been a setting for the stories rather than a plot line. This series still has a long way to go and JD Robb shows no signs of stopping for which I'm glad.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2011
One of the best book in the series! Like "Portraits in Death" and "Visions in Death" it had me wincing, gripping the side of my reading chair and shedding a few tears.
I truly enjoyed the story,the writing and of course, Eve and Roarke!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2011
Can't say too much about the plot without giving away the exciting twist ... but this is absolutely one of, if not the, best in the series. A must read if you are a fan!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2016
Despite its title, this book forms part of the In Death series and a very important one within the 'evolution' that is Eve Dallas and Roarke, the main characters. This time, the lieutenant of homicide in New York not only has to put a murderer and pedophile back in the cage, but also has to face her past - her childhood traumas in Dallas.
As always, J D Robb manages to draw the reader's attention to the facts and happenings at hand, and involve them in the emotional rollercoaster that is life. Although these are fictional people she describes, the issues tackled are only too real and sadly happen around us every day. This is what makes stories as described here so involving, but also 'distant' enough not to put off whoever picks up the novel. Maybe it's the combination of hunting the bad people while also dealing with important life issues, but it could also be the simple discovery as to what people are capable of - meaning what they can overcome in order to finally deal with the past, letting go of past traumas and moving on in life. This is an aspect so very often overlooked and is so very important to be made / become aware of - even if it sometimes seems insurmountable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2012
By now, the Eve Dallas series should be getting a little stale. Most of the earlier books, all of which I own, have a fairly standard formula and the stories themselves are almost interchangeable. We learn about Eve's hideous childhood, her courage, her insecurities and the renegade,uber- billionaire husband who loves her. Sometimes Eve seems a bit of a pain in the behind, great cop or not. But this latest installment, New York to Dallas, is riveting and moving. If the series ended here, it would be a perfect conclusion. In this book Eve is simply more than we have seen her before. She is more introspective, more articulate, more trusting and more vulnerable and, finally more grown up.
There is the usual villain whose crimes mirror the abuse Eve suffered as a child from her father. Eve has to confront monsters she thought were long put away and the process comes close to destroying her. But she also is able to lean on Roarke, on Mira, and to accept that she has a "family" who love her and whom she loves. This Eve is a long step from the suspicious, constricted, emotionally frozen woman we first met in this series. The unwinding of the story parallels Eve's painful release of the emotional restraints which have tortured her all her life. A very well done book. Could not put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2012
Ms.J. D. Robb has outdone herself in this book. Dallas has faced her past in a most startling way and it was unexpected to see the confrontation in the way it was written. The storyline just kept you reading, you were ( at least I was) unable to put the book down wanting to know what was around the corner. Dallas is a strong character in the everyday working situations, but she is strongest in this book. I admire Ms. Robbs style of writing and am always waiting for the next book out. Thankyou.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great story! Eve goes back to Dallas to confront demons of her past as the first case she cracked as a rookie officer comes back to her to put to rest.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
This book was great as usual. I am a fan of all of the Dallas series. This book provided background of her early life that had events she had not been aware of at that time. No spoiler - so I will say no more other than if you are a fan of Dallas you should read this book so you will know a little more about the past events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2012
I have all the books from J.D. Robb and love
to see how the people and the stories evolves.
The quest to find the killer and how it balance
with the backstory of Eve, Roarke and the others.
Difficult to wait for the nextone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
Great character development throughout this series - I loved the change of scenery with the majority of the book being in Dallas. Wins all around!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items