Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Anita Blake Series is Fantastic...
...AND so is this book. Laurell K Hamilton offers another look into Anita's troubled Relationships and abilities to be the Vampire's Greatest threat. The Executioner. As long as Ms Hamilton writes these books I for one will read them.
Published 7 months ago by Jeff Bonaparte

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a dissapointment! :(
The reviews below detail pretty much everything we can say about this book.

I will also add that her muse decided to take either a sabbatical period because after Flirt, Bullet, Hit List and now this one is just not worth your money to buy. I used to be #1 fan, loved cerulean sins, the harlequin, dance macabre.... now it has no inspiration. The events happen...
Published 23 months ago by M*M*W*


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a dissapointment! :(, Sept. 14 2012
This review is from: Kiss the Dead (Hardcover)
The reviews below detail pretty much everything we can say about this book.

I will also add that her muse decided to take either a sabbatical period because after Flirt, Bullet, Hit List and now this one is just not worth your money to buy. I used to be #1 fan, loved cerulean sins, the harlequin, dance macabre.... now it has no inspiration. The events happen without plot. Characters you fall in love with just disappear completely next book.

And the "I do not have room to love another one" is getting realllllllllllllllllllly tiring. Plus it looks like Mrs Hamilton loves her own jokes because we have the same one 3 times in this book!

I am not sure how I could finish it... I was hoping till the end but it was useless. From my fav author, she let me down more and more each time after Flirt... But this one is the top of the cake :(

Mrs Hamilton... if you are not inspired by Anita Blake anymore and just write to pay your bills, turn to another series.

I am now very (VERY) suspicious that #9 merry gentry will be readable... I may wait some reviews before I even buy it.

Mary's Naughty Whispers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much emo not enough story, June 8 2012
This review is from: Kiss the Dead (Hardcover)
I was eagerly anticipating this installment of Anita's journey. Impatiently awaiting publication...the book finally arrived, what a disappointment. The storyline, which I shan't divulge, as you can read it in other reviews, is truly limited and too much of a seesaw of Anita's personal angst. By the climax of the book I didn't care. I much enjoyed Hit List but have warned my reading buddies away from this book - stating if they have to read it either borrow it from a friend or wait until someone sells it used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No more Miss Hamilton, Oct. 18 2012
This review is from: Kiss the Dead (Hardcover)
This book was an insult to her fans of which I will no longer be one. The plot only covered the first few pages. It was supposed to be about vampires capturing a young girl & turning her. Just a few pages & the girl disappeared from the story completely. The book then went on & on about Anita & her men & whether she had to show up at PTA for her underage lover. Shame on you Miss Hamilton for insulting all of us with this drivel. Needless to say I will no longer be buying any of your books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Kiss of death, Feb. 22 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Imagine a train derailing and crashing in very, very slow motion... and then backing up, and crashing again. And again. And again. And again.

That's what it feels like reading "Kiss the Dead" (or more appropriately, "Kiss of Death"), the 22nd Anita Blake novel. It starts off with some promising ideas... only for Laurell K. Hamilton to get bored with all those moral issues and police problems, and devote most of the book to sex'n'wangst. Again.

A bunch of new vampires have appeared in St. Louis -- ordinary, non-goth, non-French vampires, made by the rogue Master Benjamin. Anita (who is dressed like a hooker, naturally) joins up with RPIT to track these vampires down, only to discover that they consider her a horrible monster and would rather die than be blood-oathed to Jean-Claude.

Now pretty much forget that, because nothing interesting happens in that subplot for the rest of the story.

Instead, Anita goes home and spends time with her various boytoys, including the underage Cynric and brainwashed "bride" Nicky. Asher has a massive tantrum because he doesn't like Anita and Jean-Claude having sex with random other people, and Anita's marathon sexathon with Nicky has dire consequences.

For the first few chapters, Laurell K. Hamilton seems to be making some effort to go back to when the Anita Blake series was semi-decent. She brings back RPIT and classic characters like Dolph, Zerbrowski and Larry Kirkland, and there's an actual problem with rogue vampires that has some potential moral ambiguity.

Only... Hamilton isn't really interested in that. So after a few chapters, she tosses that to the wayside, and devotes the rest of the book to four things: sex, whining, praising Anita, and sneering at "haters" (such as Kirkland, who is now inexplicably a "hater") who are just jealous of her vast harem of effeminate imaginary men.

So the rest of the book is a soupy mass of sex, sulking and long hackneyed lectures, with the occasional almost-action scene tossed in like a consolation prize. The only reason it isn't hideously boring is because it's so BAD -- there are so many silly, bizarre moments, like a vampire being exiled because he lightly injured Anita's lip. Why? Because for the next day, she can't give any of her boytoys oral sex! THE HORROR!

Anita continues to be an absurdist parody of a strong, sexual woman, flashing her thong at the entire police station and dressing like a hooker during official police business. She's also supposedly a wonderful person despite having a pedophilic relationship with a new teenage concubine and a man she brainwashed into subservience. What a saint.

The other characters are slowly becoming ghostly shadows of their former selves -- there are so many one-note characters that you can't keep track of that they all sort of blend together. The few that do stand out are the "haters" like Asher and Larry Kirkland, who just suddenly become evil meanies who dare to say mean things about poor Anita.

"Kiss the Dead" starts off with some promise, but it all gets thrown down the toilet as Hamilton falls back on what she likes best. Total trainwreck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Anita Blake Series is Fantastic..., Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
...AND so is this book. Laurell K Hamilton offers another look into Anita's troubled Relationships and abilities to be the Vampire's Greatest threat. The Executioner. As long as Ms Hamilton writes these books I for one will read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars She has lost this series, Nov. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first books were fantastic. I have been following this series from the beginning but at some point she lost it. I'm completely bored with her sex life and boyfriends (skipped a lot of pages yawn). The crime scenes tend to be all the same. Yes there is the guy in charge that hates you because of your lifestyle Anita yawn. Yes there are the girls on the force that don't like you either. Yes you have boyfriend issues.

She could have gone so far with this series. Could have explored the necromancy and witchcraft. Could have continued more interesting crimes and scenarios but this is just more of the same stuff rehashed over and over. I have given up on this book halfway through after skipping a lot of pages. I think I have given up on this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss the Dea, Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss the Dead (Hardcover)
I have read the entire series and just finished this latest book which I loved but felt the final chapter fell a little short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The story is ok but..., Aug. 2 2013
By 
Ginette Cyr (Longueuil, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
There is lest sex in this one as in the previous ones but there still a LOT of it and WAY too much descriptions of long hair and the size of male organs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss the Dead
Kiss the Dead by Laurell K. Hamilton (Hardcover - June 5 2012)
CDN$ 29.50 CDN$ 18.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews