Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars I learned a lot about Shakespeare
Not only does this book count down the top ten Shakespeare stories, but between each chapter there are the top ten lists like " Top Ten Shakepearian Actors" . My favorite one was a list of all the people that might have written the plays instead of Shakespeare. You should know that the book doesn't have the real plays, just the summeries and facts. The only problem I had...
Published on July 9 2002 by Amelia M

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Top Ten Shakesphere Stories
Shakespheres Stories was a good book. The book told you about the 3 diffrent typs of writtings he did. It tells you little interesting facts and tidbits about him and the history and actors of his plays. The book wraps up his plays in diffrent point of views you understand for example:Hamlet is explained through an officer writting a police report.
Published on July 3 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Top Ten Shakesphere Stories, July 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Top Ten Shakespeare Stories (Mass Market Paperback)
Shakespheres Stories was a good book. The book told you about the 3 diffrent typs of writtings he did. It tells you little interesting facts and tidbits about him and the history and actors of his plays. The book wraps up his plays in diffrent point of views you understand for example:Hamlet is explained through an officer writting a police report.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I learned a lot about Shakespeare, July 9 2002
By 
This review is from: Top Ten Shakespeare Stories (Mass Market Paperback)
Not only does this book count down the top ten Shakespeare stories, but between each chapter there are the top ten lists like " Top Ten Shakepearian Actors" . My favorite one was a list of all the people that might have written the plays instead of Shakespeare. You should know that the book doesn't have the real plays, just the summeries and facts. The only problem I had was that there wasn't much detail- Like in Hamlet, it was just one of the characters saying how everyone died, and not a lot of detil of what else happened. But it was still a good book, and you'll really like it if you read Horrible histories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CHANGE OF HEART, May 15 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Top Ten Shakespeare Stories (Mass Market Paperback)
MY DAD IS REALLY INTO SHAKESPEARE. HES ALWAYS TRYING TO GET ME TO SEE THE BEAUTY OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGES AND THE TAPESTRY OF WORDS AND ALL THAT JUNK. WHEN I TELL HIM TO STOP NAGGING ME, HE STARTS QUOTING HAMLET AND MCBETH UNTILL I JUST LEAVE. THAT WAS BEFORE I READ 'SHAKESPEARE STORIES'. THIS BOOK PUT SHAKESPEARE IN UNDERSTANDABLE LANGUAGE, SO I COULD SEE WHAT MY DAD MEANT ABOUT THE 'BEAUTY OF THE STORY'. OK, IM GETTING THERE. BUT ANYWAY, AFTER READING THE BOOK, I TOOK A SHAKESPEARE CLASS AT SCHOOL. WE DID THE PLAY OF 'ROMEO AND JULIET' AND I GOT JULIET! NOW I REALLY LIKE SHAKESPEARE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare.......in English, May 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Top Ten Shakespeare Stories (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was very good. It gave life to Shakespeare. While I appreaciate the beauty of his words, sometimes Shakespeare is a little......stuffy. But not in this book! It tells Shakespeare in a language I can understand. Even my 7-year-old brother was reading it!!! This is definatly a good book for anyone to enjoy.
- MKL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Middle School Success, Jan. 8 2000
By 
Christine (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Top Ten Shakespeare Stories (Mass Market Paperback)
This book worked wonderfully with my eighth grade students. It provides simplistic plot summaries and Shakespearean background notes. They really enjoyed the fact that the summaries were in everyday language. It helped us transition into the "harder" versions. Great for middle school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great Shakespeare book!, June 21 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Top Ten Shakespeare Stories (Mass Market Paperback)
great book, good quizes between stories, good ways of telling the stories, just all-together great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Ten Shakespeare Stories
Top Ten Shakespeare Stories by Terry Deary (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 1 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews