Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars (my) Review, April 11 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
I liked this book becayse there was a lot of conflict, action and it was funny. Like when Tobias said, " I feel like Britney Spears" and Marco said, "Unfortubately for me you don't look like her." I also like the book because it wasn't a hard book to understand, so you weren't confused the whole time! I like the resolution and that it didn't keep you hanging at the end.
I would have to say the best part was when Tobiaas and Marco were trying to drive the M-1 tank. Probably because it was funny. Like when Marco and Tobias were saying, "What do you mean if we can figure out how to start it? You happen to be sitting next to the to the Tank Commando master!" said Marco, "Right. Video-game expertise" said Tobias. Another funny part that I enjoyed was when they were going down the street and this guy wouldn't move so Tobias was like, "We have better quipment then he does." You can't shoot him, Tobias!" "Yeah, but he doesn't know that!"
I think the best story element was the characters. it really shows there personality and who they are, and there families. For example: " everyone was forced to move to the Hork-Bajir valley. Rachel with her mom and two sisters. Cassie with her parents. Tobias with his mom. and Jake alone. Jake turned into someone none of us knew anymore." That shared sadness for his bestfriend. Another very good written stroy element was the conflict. It explained very clearly what there mission was. " We need help, so we split. One group is in the in your face group. That creates a diversion withe the National Guard troops. That keeps them away from the Yeerk poolas long as possible. There stationed all over th city. Group two will be smaller and quiter. They will need to find the governor and convice him to help us." I think that described very well what the mission was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTE- Animorphs is for adults too, March 30 2001
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
Although this series was designed for the child to pre-teen category, it has many aspects an adult would enjoy. Look past the cover, the large print, and the age of the characters; instead look at the wonderfully crafted story line, the unforgettable trials they went through and lessons they learned by this group of teens who were thrust into a war and a battle unseen by most. The "enemy umoung us " approach. An enemy that, once taken control over their host, is indistinguishable from your own children, parents, or siblings. You can see no difference. There is a large quantity of violence which is the main reason I wouldn't recommend it to younger children.
The Animorphs now have a new enemy, there own hearts. Its slightly reminiscent of Star Wars. Turn to the darkside. The animorphs must fight without compromising there morality and ethics. But in war does it really matter? Is there such a thing as morality when lives are on the line? Do the ends justify the means? The animorphs must decdide, because the end is near.
Adults will enjoy this book. High School students. And children. The story is for humankind, to see the only way to save the human race is to unite as one. Happy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Absolute, Feb. 27 2001
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
Here's the deal these days: They know exactly who we are. They know exactly where we live. We've got a few secrets left, and we're gonna use them. But just know that the end is coming. And we don't know how much longer we can do this. How much longer we can fight.
What about you? Where will you be when it ends? Think about it. Think hard. Because the countdown has already begun. . . .
That is the new back for the final four Animorphs books. Because now the Animorphs and Ax have no secrets. And the Yeerks are stronger than ever. The morphing cube has recently switched hands in a previous book, and the Animorphs are now seeing life from the other side. A life of terror, where you're enemy can't be seen, and you don't know if that fly on your finger is really a fly . . . or your greatest enemy. But that's not all.
Tensions are mounting in the colony between Jake and the others, especially Cassie. No one knows how to act around their depressed leader, and a secret Cassie's hiding could destroy their trust in her forever.
Visser One has begun taking over the National Guard, and this is where #51 begins: With Marco and Tobias watching an army of tanks being brought into the city, in preparation for complete war. Thousands of army and navy members are being brought to be infested, and it's too much for the Animorphs to handle. So they take a risk, a HUGE risk. One that can cost the freedom of the human race. What if they tell the government what's happening? But worse still, what if the government already knows . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Animorphs #51: The Absolute -- an absolutely thrilling book, Feb. 17 2001
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
Marco, the other Animorphs, and Ax are weakening each day. The battles are heavier and the casualties are increasing. Sometimes there's a tiny way out. Sometimes there's nowhere to hide. But now they are definitely positive of increasing their risks -- one of them being their very secret. The Animorphs need to warn the governor of the Yeerk invasion of Earth. They don't know if she's a Controller or not, but they know that something must be done to stop the Yeerks -- no matter what. Can they take such a risk? Can they put their lives at a far greater stake then ever before? Animorphs #51: The Absolute is a thrilling addition to the series , a fantastic blast through scene after scene. Although it is not the best of the Animorphs series, it is one of the better books in this ever changing series -- recommended to all readers, it is not one to be missed and has excitement far more unique then its predececors. This is one series that keeps getting more enjoyable by tthe book -- and as the end approaches, better and better books keep coming. #51: The Absolute is one of those books, and although it is not the best it's one roller coaster ride of a book that will never fail to lose interest, unlike the action that had always been boring and predictable. K.A. Applegate knows how to put a wonderful plot into a wonderful book, and The Absolute proves it. It is an 'absolute' classic to the series. No longer will you expect the endings, and no longer will the excitement EVER dissipate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The clock is ticking - and the future of Earth is at stake., Feb. 13 2001
By 
Rebecca Herman (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
The Animorphs and their families are living in hiding in the Hork-Bajir valley, no longer able to keep up the facade of normal lives now that their identities have been discovered by the Yeerks. Their parents are having a hard time facing the realties of wartime, and Jake, whose entire family is infested by the Yeerks, is losing his faith and his ability to lead. At the time when they need unity the most, the Animorphs are divided by petty differences. Their greatest weapon, the morphing cube, is in the hands of the enemy. And now that they have no more hope of keeping their secret, they've decided that now may be the time to turn the secret invasion into all all-out war. But by going public and revealing the truth - that Earth is under attack and the future of life as we know it is at stake - the Animorphs may be walking straight into enemy hands. If you love the Animorphs series, you won't want to miss out on this latest book. Because the end is near - and who will emerge victorious to determine the future of the Earth?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Help is on the Way............................., March 15 2002
By 
Shambo (Seattle , Wa USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
Now that the yeerks have the Morphing Power,the Animorphs have a lot more problems...Everywhere they go,everytime they even try to morph,a team of morph-capable Yeerks cut them off...And now the "National Guard" has sent an army of tanks into town,but it kinda obvious for the animorphs to know that the National Guard has been infiltrated by the Yeerks,and those tanks will most likely be for rounding up hosts....But,they have an idea,What if they got the Govenor to back them up,and warn people of the Yeerk threat.....It could work,but then again,mabye not..........
i loved this book,like I aslo love almost all the Animorph books.This one is very exiting,and I loved the part where they tell the Govener that Earth is under attack......i think any Animorph fan will love this book,and i think You will like it even if You aren't really a fan of it...I also recomend the other books from the series,and any book by K.A. Applegate.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yep, this one finally got me..., March 29 2001
By 
"innle" (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
...and so much for my snark! Yep, I'm the one who complains about style, structure, length, narrative chasms - just about everything you can think of - on the other reviews. This one actually got me. I admit it.
'Kay. Can't complain about length. Very 'noisy', but that's appropriate (as it wasn't in #49). Very little Cassie, Jake, Rachel, parental units...and that's good; after #50, I think EVERYONE needs a break from that. I was happy with the Marco-and-Ax-and-Tobias Show, that's for sure.
That bit with the tanks. Bit spurious. Afterwards; Tobias has never been able to drive before...What was the deal with all those Governor-Rachel connections? Is that a hint? A plot development? A 'character insight' (God forbid)?
Wow. Maybe they saved the good ghostwriters for the end. Only three books to go (then I can not be permanently broke)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Secret Shared�, Feb. 9 2001
By 
Clarissa (Harvey, LA Harvey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
It turns out that Visser One is trying to gain control of the National Guard, and that means making controllers out of them. So the Animorphs have decided that, in order to stand a chance against them, they have to tell the world about the Yeerks. So they send Marco, Tobias, and Ax to try and convince the governor of the truth. But, as usual, what was supposed to be a low profile mission ends up as your not-so-average highway chase scene. Animorphs just keeps getting better as we draw closer and closer to the end. Ax even learned how to do jokes and sarcasm. But the funniest part, IMHO, was when Tobias criticized his duck morph. Lisa Harkrader ghostwrote this one and she did a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Countdown to the series finale, June 15 2001
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
My son wrote the following mini-review:
The team could not be any more surprised than when news leaks out that the National Guard has been captured by Yeerks. This book focuses primarily on the Animorphs' struggle to first ensure that the Governor is not a controller and then to protect her from the Yeerks. Ax, Marco, and Tobias risk their lives to prevent her from being infested; they are successful.
With this installment, K.A. Applegate begins the countdown to the conclusion of this popular series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXELLENT!, June 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Animorphs #51: Absolute (Paperback)
In this book the Animorphs must tell the govener about the Yeerks before it's too late. Marco, Ax, and Tobias are chosen for the job. They fly to the capital to tell the govener. Will the govener beleve them, not beleve them, or is she already a Controller? Read the book to find out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Animorphs #51: Absolute
The Animorphs #51: Absolute by K A Applegate (Paperback - March 1 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews