Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Provides a way to show aggressive and controlling behaviours in children with compassion and humour. Presented in a way that kids can take in the message.
Published 5 months ago by nicole bratton

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mean Jean the Recess Queen
My kids like this book, I think it is ok! It is the illustrations that really make it. As for sending a message about bullying....it isn't crystal clear!It's nice enough, my kids like it and that is what matters!Recommended for 4-7 year olds.
Published on April 25 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Nov. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
Provides a way to show aggressive and controlling behaviours in children with compassion and humour. Presented in a way that kids can take in the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoppity, skippity, jumpity, ringity, zingity, YESSSSSS!, March 10 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
I recently read this book to a first grade class. The children loved the fabulous illustrations and the fun rhyming language in the story. Of the 4 books I read the girls seemed to all prefer The Recess Queen. I am going to look up other books by both the author and illustrator. They both have great style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Makes a Classic?, Jan. 23 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
What makes a classic? Read "The Recess Queen" and you'll recognize it instantly. Alexis O'Neill's tale of a spunky heroine, a legendary bully, a playground filled with astounded children will please young and not so young readers for many years. Rollicking words keep a perfect beat in time with innovative book design and captivating mixed media illustrations. I expect this one will not stay on my classroom library shelf for long. There will be too many eager readers vying for a chance to read aloud. Who knew that reading could be so much fun? Who knows what a scary place a playground could be? Ask your child. She knows. It's all in "The Recess Queen."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming Kid's Book - Dealing with bully's can be fun!, Jan. 23 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
This beautifully written and illustrated story uses inventive language and adorable images to deal with the age-old problem of bullies. Instead of being preachy, the author solves the problem of the playground bully with charm and wit. This story is a true example of kid-appropriate problem solving. Parents, teachers and young readers will fall in love with the characters. This book is so enchanting; it will easily appeal to readers from ages 2-10. A must-have for school libraries and counseling offices. In fact, every elementary school principal should have a copy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pay Attention, Aug. 5 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
In this novel an individual is hurting others. Fear is a factor. Fun was put on hold. A new kid changes things and life gets better. This is a light story about bullying aimed at primary children. It is colourful and easy to read. Good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for beginning a discussion about bullying, May 24 2010
By 
A. Wetzel "Ann" (NB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
As an elementary teacher, I'm always looking for resources for different topics, such as bullying. This book opens the door for lots of discussion on bullying. It will be in my "top shelf" resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mean Jean the Recess Queen, April 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
My kids like this book, I think it is ok! It is the illustrations that really make it. As for sending a message about bullying....it isn't crystal clear!It's nice enough, my kids like it and that is what matters!Recommended for 4-7 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars School Counselor, Feb. 2 2003
By 
Tandy Braid "Counselor& Mom" (Luray, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
Wonderful resource when having difficulties with bullies. We will be using this one on our unit on bullies. Sometimes using your humor to disarm a bully is just what is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bully for Alexis O'Neill, March 20 2002
By 
P. Miller "mystery and mahem" (King City, OR, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
Ms. O'Neill has taken on the (very current) topic of school yard bullies in a very good way. This book should be a hit with any parent whose children are in the early school years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Playground Despot, March 30 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Recess Queen (Hardcover)
Mean Jean may rule the playground with an iron fist, but it takes newcomer Katie-Sue to stand up to her by taking the offensive - offering to jump rope with her. All well and good, but it does not really address the very real issue of playground tyranny. Not all bullies are amenable to overtures on the part of their peers and Katie-Sue seems an overdrawn literary ploy. I did not like the illustrations, finding them overly large and the colors gaudy and garish. I didn't like the way the characters were drawn at all and found them physically unappealling. I also disliked the nonsense rhymes, e.g. "lollapaloosh," "kitz and kajammer." What saved this from receiving a one-star review was the good faith effort to tackle the issue of playground depots.
However, this is a good effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb48465a0)

This product

The Recess Queen
The Recess Queen by Alexis O'Neill (Hardcover - Feb. 1 2002)
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews