Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Forests Of Silence, March 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
This is the first book of the Deltora series. Lief, Barda, and Jasmine must find the seven lost gems to the magic belt of Deltora. But to get them they must go to the most horrifying places throuout Deltora, One of them..... The Forests Of Silence. in this book you will find riddles, excitement, and bravery can Lief, Barda and Jasmine survive The Forests Of Silence?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Quest Begins, Dec 23 2003
By 
nazim (sydney, nsw australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
The Forests of Silence is the first book of the much loved deltora quest series- a story of magic, monstes and mindbenders. The basic plot of the story is that the great belt of deltora- the lands magical defense- is destroyed. Lief, a young boy of 17 must travel throughout the land of deltora, seeking the great jems of the belt, and thus restore the belt.
The first jem,the golden topaz, is hidden in one of the three Forests of Silence. These forests are inhabited by all maner of deadly beasts, and guarded by the most powerful of the them all, is the prise they seek.
Forests of silence is a good book, riddled with pictures, puzzles, magic and monsters. Emily roddar is espicially vivid with her descriptions, and the story is very imaginative. But the thing i like most in this story are the puzzles and pictiures littered throughout the storey.
Something else that deserves a look in is the wonderful front cover. Absolutely superb, to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book By: S.J.G. Grade 5, Dec 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
It's medevil times and the belt of Deltora has been stolen. The king has died and evil has taken over the land. The gems of Deltora have been scattered and hidden in sacred dangerous places that no one dares to go, except two normal people, Leaf and Barda. Leaf is the son of Jarred, a man who is best friends with the new king Eddon. And Barda, who is a good friend of Jarred. Barda has been Leaf's body guard since he was a little toddler. If you're an action and adventure person, this book is for you. I hope you'll like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book - By: S.J.G. ( Grade five ), Dec 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
It's medevil times, and the belt of Deltora has been stolen. The king has died, and evil has taken over the land. The gems of Deltora have been scattered and hidden in sacred dangerous places that no one dares to go. Except two brave normal people, Leaf and Barda. Leaf is the son of Jarred, a man who is best friends with the new king, Eddon. And Barda, who is good friends with, Jarred and has been Leaf'S
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best one I've seen, Nov. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
This book has made me feel filled with excitement and wanting more. Each chapter I read had excitement packed in every sentence, and so far I think it may be the best book that I've ever read in my life. I started getting into the series from a book that I got in my school library, which was the Deltora Book of Monsters. I can't wait until I see more about what the shifting sands are like. This book will make you urge with excitement and want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars havent read a better book yet, Oct. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
If you read this series get ready to cry when it ends. I couldn't stop reading it, it was like some kind of addiction. If i was to rate it out of 10 it's a 10+++ with all the books the best one is Forest of silence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful start!(start clapping...NOW!), Sept. 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
Okay, I'll admit, I am absolutely right about it being a wonderful start, but you'll have to pledge with all your heart that you're going to read through the entire thing in order to read through the entire thing, but I didn't do that, but there's a lot in the beginning that were of interest to me, constantly( go hmmm...NOW ).
First of all, the beginning gives you a lot about ancient mythology that will captivate your mind, and the history of everyone will not only give you squat on everyone's personality, but it'll show you how they were brought up, you might not know their personalities--yet, but I promise you, starting with the characteristics is going to help.
Now, if you read a lot of Emily Rodda, you can see that she styles her novelettes as a puzzle, you will find various riddles and quizzes amoungst the books, not neccessarily this one. But lets explore her world.
In the beginning, you find out how Leif discovered the reality behind the illusions, or a little after the beginning. Then the adventure starts. This part really moved my heart, where a boy who had lived in a palace all his life, finally meeting a humble shoemaker, and proves himself worthy of the trade after being mocked. Now, let's look at this book as a map.
Put an X on the scene I've just mentioned, mark that as an X for the start. Then, you move along as Leif discovers that all his life, the truth had been hidden from him and the prince. Surprise, surprise, the fairy just told Lief to follow the yellow brick road!
Soon, you hit shockwave as the castle had been attacked, the traitor is discovered, yet not discovered. Boo hoo, Lief just found out about the witch. Then terror goes around as the reader is informed about Barda, or the scarecrow, does that mean Lief is well on his way? Yes! Then, as havoc reaks in Deltora, Lief and Barda reaches The Forest of Silence. Having reached a miserable day, Lief and Barda are trapped( you see how well Emily Rodda lays the trap, she carefully organizes the characters' characteristics first to get the reader entranced on the novel, and then show their personalities as they move along, to secure her hold upon the reader. Classic, classic ), but in comes a spunky, flexible girl, who releases them, now we are introduced to the lion, mean at first, and then his heart spills out. Ah, as Dorothy faces a witch, Lief, Barda and Jasmine faces much more. Will they survive? Read this book along with the rest of the series to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book!, Aug. 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
This is a great book for kids, so kids get your hopes up and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first book in an astounding series, July 9 2003
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
The first bit of the book is spent seeing what happened to the newly crowned king, Endon, and his friend, Jarred. As Jarred discovers the truth about the Belt of Deltora, can he tell Endon in time?
Later, you read about Jarred's son, Lief, who takes the Belt of Deltora with all of the gems stripped away, and must go get them back. He starts off with one companion, a supposed begger, Barda, and meets another in the first challenge: the dreaded Forests of Silence. They find a warrior, Gorl, who is guarding the Lilies of Life. They learn his secret, and finally gain the first gem. The topaz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rodda Rulz, May 24 2003
By 
Steven (Upton, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence (Paperback)
This book is really good. I admitt it is a little childish, how everything goes according to plan, and everything always works out. But this book is great for young fantasy readers. Half this book is spent in the past and half in the present. In the beginning it tells of the old kingdom and its rulers. Then it skips to the present where Leif, a young boy, has to go out and risk his life to save his country. Leif must collect the magic jewels of the Belt of Deltora to save his land from the Shadowlord. Leif, and his companions Barda and Jasmine, go after the jewel located in the Forests of Silence. They must face the knight that guards the jewel. But how can they succeed when the knight is pratically psychic and telepathic? Read the series, they're a great set of books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3c25df8)

This product

Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence
Deltora Quest #1: The Forest of Silence by Emily Rodda (Paperback - April 1 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews