Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure from my childhood
Wow! What a thrill to find this book still available after over 40 years! I read it repeatedly when I was in about 4th grade. It says a lot about the quality of the story that it has stuck with me all these years. It really showed me at a young age the suffering that some animals must endure, and the quiet patience and courage with which they endure it. I can still...
Published on Dec 17 2003 by Kirby

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simply written, yet poignant
War Horse read like a children's book in its simplicity. It was a very easy read for an adult . Should probably be read by ten year olds and up. I wanted to read it after seeing The National Theatre of London production on the big screen.
The author was interviewed and by his own admission, he said it was definitely written from a different point of view and did not...
Published 3 months ago by sandy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure from my childhood, Dec 17 2003
By 
Kirby (Woodstock, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: War Horse (Paperback)
Wow! What a thrill to find this book still available after over 40 years! I read it repeatedly when I was in about 4th grade. It says a lot about the quality of the story that it has stuck with me all these years. It really showed me at a young age the suffering that some animals must endure, and the quiet patience and courage with which they endure it. I can still picture Joey struggling in thick mud to pull his load. And even as young as I was, it made me understand more what my older uncles had experienced in WW1. I am definitely getting this for the kiddies, but before I give it to them, I am going to read it again myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Joey's Perspective", Jan. 30 2012
By 
This review is from: War Horse (Paperback)
This story is written from the perspective of the horse "Joey" and how the horse views his owners and what is going on around him. Good descriptions of rural England, and also of World War One in France - and what Joey's part was when working for the British troops and also from the time he was working for the German troops. One is always rooting for Joey ...right up to the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simply written, yet poignant, April 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War Horse (Kindle Edition)
War Horse read like a children's book in its simplicity. It was a very easy read for an adult . Should probably be read by ten year olds and up. I wanted to read it after seeing The National Theatre of London production on the big screen.
The author was interviewed and by his own admission, he said it was definitely written from a different point of view and did not think the story would have been made so famous when adapted to the stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love horses, April 4 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War Horse (Paperback)
I read the book and also got the dvd, this story is one of my all time favourites. it takes your heart and twists it. war is hateful and the boy and this proud horse love each other to the end. I have watched the movie twice . and I will read the book again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, Nov. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War Horse (Paperback)
I like many horse stories. I think this one is more suited to a younger audience. It was still a good read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Horse, March 6 2012
By 
This review is from: War Horse (Hardcover)
Saw the movie and cried all the way through. Read the book and cried all the way through! A great story and easy reading. Was so happy to find it on Amazon and the price was right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Horse, Jan. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ce livre est très très bon, mais il faut aller voir le film avant.

This book is very good, but you must see the film before reading the book.

Regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Horse
War Horse by Michael, M.B.E . Morpurgo (Paperback - Sept. 1 2010)
CDN$ 7.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews