Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A+ Great
The marriage prize is a great book. One of the best I ever read. It is more intresting because she used real characters. ( Simon, Edward)
Rosemond Marshall was going to marry and man she she hasn't met in about eight years. During a feast at Earl Simon's castle she was once again reunited with her future husband. At once she didn't want any thing to do with him. But...
Published on Feb. 28 2003 by K. Keyonnie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointed
Ilove Henleys books but I was upset with this one, I didn't like the fact that Simon and Eleanor were the bad people in this book when they were so strong in their book, and I think everyone loved them and to be grafic about his dealth.I couldn't read this one and the main characters were nothing impressive,I love all her books but was disapointed with this one and would...
Published on Nov. 30 2001 by christine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointed, Nov. 30 2001
By 
christine (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Mass Market Paperback)
Ilove Henleys books but I was upset with this one, I didn't like the fact that Simon and Eleanor were the bad people in this book when they were so strong in their book, and I think everyone loved them and to be grafic about his dealth.I couldn't read this one and the main characters were nothing impressive,I love all her books but was disapointed with this one and would of loved her to stop with the first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE BOOK!!!!!!!, Sept. 30 2000
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Hardcover)
I absolutaly LOVE Virginia Henley's books. I have read every single one of them and they are my favorite books. Virginia Henley is my favorite author but this book was a HUGE disapointment. First of all, I hated the characters and I never really felt like I knew them. If you loved The Dragon and the Jewel, I suggest that you never read this book. Simon and Eleanor de Montford are in this one, and if you know what happens in history to Simon, you don't really want to hear how he was killed but his godson, and then dismemebered. I don't know about anyone else but I really didn't like hearing about how Simon died after Virginia Henley made you fall in love with him in thw Dragon and the Jewel. I cried the whole last 30 pages of the book beacuse of what happened to Simon and his son! I have never written a bad review before and I hope that this is the last one. Please give me a better book next time Virginia!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 13th Century England, Civil War & A Great Romance!, Feb. 16 2004
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Mass Market Paperback)
Virginia Henley brings 13th century England and King Henry III's court to life, with all its turmoil and strife, in this historical novel about Rosamond Marshall, heiress and ward of Eleanor Plantagenet and Rodger de Leyburn, powerful steward to Prince Edward, the heir to England's throne. Ms. Henley's impeccable research and vivid descriptions bring the reader into this medieval world of conflict, treachery, betrayal, pageantry and true love.
Rosamond Marshall was only a child when she was betrothed to warrior knight de Leyburn. Orphaned at an early age, she grew up in the household of Eleanor Plantagenet and her beloved husband Simon de Montfort. Rosamond was considered to be a rare marriage prize because of her extraordinary beauty and wealth. Reluctant to marry, however, she longed for the love she had never known, but which surrounded her in the de Montforts' marriage. She did not want someone to take her to wife because of her wealth or physical attributes alone. De Leyburn, who had fallen in love with her, sought to woo her and change her mind.
Set against the background of growing civil unrest and eventual civil war, Ms. Henley tells a story of passionate love and provides the reader with an clear and accurate glimpse into medieval history. Ms. Henley, an award-winning author, has written a winner with "The Marriage Prize," the last novel in her Plantagenet Trilogy, which began with "The Falcon And The Flower" and continued in "The Dragon And The Jewel."
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Where's the honor?, Jan. 13 2004
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Mass Market Paperback)
The lead characters are supposed to be people a reader would care for. However these characters never come across as honorable people. They have no redeaming qualities. Rosamund uses seductively low cut dresses to entice and tease men to get her way. Edward sleeps around with an absolutely disgusting woman. Rodger boasts of his many sexual experiences and prowess in bed. His conniving to make Rosamund fall for him is sad (since Henley illustrates his inner workings to the reader). He never seems interested in Rosamund as a person and life partner; only as a sex partner and dowered bimbo. All lust no love.
I will not touch Eleanor and Simon as characters. I have not read the previous books, but as far as I can tell from this they are more clear cut and defined, straight-forward individuals than the others.
The main characters never develop nor do they better themselves. There are no real twists to their character, no great realizations, no real changes of heart. They are at most bland and wishy-washy. Although actually Rosamund does realize all the things I have said never happen above, it feels as if she doesn't, so blandly realized are the actions on the pages.
Rosamund is most aggravating as the main character. Her stupidity is annoying. Her lack of wit and total acceptance of Rodger in the end is nauseating. Think woman think, where are your brains?! Then again we're not talking the 21st century here so I guess we have to cut her some slack as a woman's options in life were few back then. Nevertheless, if you are looking for some brains, don't look here. Pure romance and trash, vaguely historical if even.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+ Great, Feb. 28 2003
By 
K. Keyonnie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Mass Market Paperback)
The marriage prize is a great book. One of the best I ever read. It is more intresting because she used real characters. ( Simon, Edward)
Rosemond Marshall was going to marry and man she she hasn't met in about eight years. During a feast at Earl Simon's castle she was once again reunited with her future husband. At once she didn't want any thing to do with him. But Rodger fell in love with her at once. Rosemond was afraid to commit to him. Everyone she loved died. It was rumored that Rodger was having an affair.
He started at once to get her to marry him. Eventually they got married. During which time there was a civil war going on. Between the crown and Earl Simon. She was with Earl Simon and Rodger was pledged to Prince Edward. She had to choose between her guardians( Earl Simon & Elenora)or her husband and father of her child. Finally after Rodger got her to trust him enough. She choose sides with her husband. Later on she became pregant with Rodger's first son. But she didn't want to tell him, because she was afraid of admitting that she cared for husband. She was scared to give birth because she knew that many mother could lose their child during birth. Eventually she gave birth to a son. Then civil war eurpted and Earl Simon was killed. Prince Edwards army won. Edward awarded Rodger title of Earl. She Rosemond became a Countess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good finish to a great triology., Sept. 6 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "naiad51776" (fort walton beach, florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Mass Market Paperback)
I was very entertained by this book. It was a fitting end to the trilogy. I was irritated by all of the complaints of other reviewers about the death of Simon de Montfort. Mrs. Henley wrote these novels to be historically accurate and history was full of great people dying. Get over it! If a historically accurate romance is to be accurate, there will be people dying. I aplaud Mrs. Henley for her historical integrity. Great job on this amazing trilogy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars As the other reader said "the horror", July 15 2002
By 
"alezis" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Mass Market Paperback)
I read "the dragon and the jewel" and love it, it was the best VH book i have ever read, then i read this book and saw that she killed off Simon DeMontfort, now i just cann't read that book anymore, not because i am a romantic but because I think readers buy book to entertain them and to kill off a character that is entertaining is "horrible". I know that history states that Simon DeMontfort dies and i understand Ms. Henley point of view but from a reader view point it not something i would like to see in fantasy!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best historical romances i have ever read!, March 9 2002
By 
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Mass Market Paperback)
The book was a peice of art. You can't help but fall in love with Rod and Rosamond. Their life is no fairy tale but full of twists and turns. Love and hate fill there every day and night. I garenty you will love every minute of this book. and when you find Rosamond with child you won't be able to put down the book until the child is born. this book is filled with advanture, mistory, hate, and love, but most of all a romantic love story you will never forget
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good history, bad romance, Jan. 25 2002
By 
sci-fi-guy "getaname" (Los Angeles, Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Mass Market Paperback)
Like many readers and fans of Virginia Henley, I was expecting her trademark bawdy, gritty,sensual romance set in a realistic setting. She did a good enough job with all this, with two major exceptions, one of which many reviewers have belabored: the horrific ending of Simon de Montfort from her previous romance The Dragon and the Jewel. The trouble is not so much that Simon is killed off (though this is a big no-no for a romance, even contradictory to its basic premise and purpose), but that he was such a splendidly conceived romantic hero, in my opinion Henley's best, that it was devastating to read of his demise and the dehumanizing way it takes place. To those who excuse that event on the grounds that it was historical, I say that one, romance is not history per se, and even if it were, was it necessary to kill of a living romantic legend in this plot? Why not pull back the plot a bit to avoid committing the ultimate sin of killing off a previous romance hero?
That aside, the bawdiness got out of hand here, as it did in The Pirate and the Pagan and Enslaved. Too much sex and not enough feeling; too many passionate outbursts and not enough realistic dialogue. The histrionics were excessive and wearing after a while. I love the Renaissance for this very quality, its exuberance and pomp, but there has to be a depth to the action and characters, too. King Edward was intriguing but ultimately disappointing, while Roger and Rosamund pale next to Eleanor (whom I liked much less in this version) and Simon de Montfort. Setting them up as the ultimate "power couple" does an incredible disservice to what she achieved as a fiery coming together in The Dragon and the Jewel.
If you are a stickler for romance above historical precision, I recommend you read that novel and skip this one, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Nice Love Story, Dec 26 2001
By 
O. Blaylock "ladyisis2004" (Albuquerque, New Mexico United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marriage Prize (Mass Market Paperback)
Rodger and Rosamund are great. As usual Rodger is a fierce warrior loyal, and honorable with a troubled past. Rosamund is a little insecure, strong willed and a little spoiled. She dosen't want to marry Rodger because she sees him as a arrogant, self-indulgent, and overbearing knight. But they come together and learn to love and trust, but not without a lot of bumps along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2e8eda4)

This product

The Marriage Prize
The Marriage Prize by Virginia Henley (Mass Market Paperback - July 3 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews