Customer Reviews


798 Reviews
5 star:
 (304)
4 star:
 (261)
3 star:
 (99)
2 star:
 (80)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Partner by John Grisham
Typical of John Grisham. Excellent story, hard to put the book down. A must read for anyone who enjoys mysteries
Published 18 months ago by JJ

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ARRRG.
The editor of The Partner should be fired. The ending of a book should reward the reader for taking the time to share in the lives of the characters, not punish him/her. This is a brilliant story with fantastic, characters and a driving plot.

It has everything I love in a novel, International settings, a sympathetic lead character and plenty of suspense...
Published on June 17 2011 by J Reader


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Partner by John Grisham, Oct. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Partner: A Novel (Paperback)
Typical of John Grisham. Excellent story, hard to put the book down. A must read for anyone who enjoys mysteries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Help From His Friends, Feb. 23 2013
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
Patrick Lanigan is dead, as far as anyone knows. His widow Trudy has collected on a substantial life insurance policy and brought her long-term affair into the open. His friends have shed their tears and made their peace with his absence. And his former partners are relieved that they will not need to run him out of the law firm to conceal their own illegal activities.

When quite a lot of the law firm's money disappears, it becomes clear that Patrick did not die in a car accident. He has the money and is... somewhere. There are people who want the money back. They look for him for years and finally they find him. After some unpleasantness, Patrick finds himself in Federal custody, facing charges of embezzlement and murder. He recuperates and begins to tell his story.

Patrick begins to put his life back together with the help of two other lawyers. Sandy is his attorney, longtime friend, and one of the pallbearers at his funeral. Eva is a close personal friend who has helped Patrick hide the money he stole. With their help, Patrick follows a carefully-crafted plan to obtain his freedom once again.

This is an excellent legal thriller, as we expect from John Grisham. It is a mixture of painstaking plans and clever improvisations. As Patrick's story unfolds, we understand more about his motivations and revise some of our initial assumptions. Some characters, on the other hand, behave pretty much as expected.

If you enjoy this book, you may also want to read The Racketeer, also by John Grisham. It has different plot twists, but a similar theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ARRRG., June 17 2011
By 
J Reader (CANADA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
The editor of The Partner should be fired. The ending of a book should reward the reader for taking the time to share in the lives of the characters, not punish him/her. This is a brilliant story with fantastic, characters and a driving plot.

It has everything I love in a novel, International settings, a sympathetic lead character and plenty of suspense. Grishams typical courtroom drama is at the center of this story but he has done an excellent job of incorporating political intrigue and a touch of adventure. In my opinion it's one of his best until you get to the end of coarse.

This joyride of a novel was brought crashing down by an incomprehensible ending.
The end of this novel warrants 2 stars but I can't ignore how fantastic the rest of the book was. I'm so angry. I could have loved this book. I won't give away the ending but I recommend stopping with about 20 pages to go and allowing your imagination to finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of a Flawed Legal Genius, May 10 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
A great lawyer is meticulous, calculating, aggressive, relentless, and prepared for anything. John Grisham lovingly shares an intricate plot to provide you with an unforgettable portrait of those qualities in action. In the process, you'll also see a man whose soul is offended by his profession.

Ultimately, this book is about a dream . . . a dream that may be more dangerous than an addictive drug. What will you do to capture your dream? That's what you'll be asking yourself after you read The Partner.

The beginning of the book seems like an international espionage thriller. A group of private detectives track down a fugitive to a little town in Brazil near the border with Paraguay. They pounce, and the fugitive is in for his worst nightmare . . . remorseless torture aimed at getting him to tell something he doesn't know.

Soon, an unlikely intervention creates a whole new vector for the story. The fugitive has to face the music from a lot of angry lawyers . . . including his former partners.

Like many legal thrillers, you'll be getting no more information than you need to know to follow the action. Pay attention to the questions that occur to you: Thinking about what might have happened is half the fun of this book.

If you aren't interested in the ins and outs of how lawyers think about criminal issues, you won't like this book as much as I did. I was impressed at how well the legal issues were displayed without being too technical. Remember that lawyers usually spend a lot of time thinking through how the opposing attorney will respond to various probes.

Watch out for the unexpected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good novel, bad ending, Oct. 8 2010
By 
Lawrence Gulston "Pookie" (Lindsay, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
Mr. Grisham works hard to win our sympathy with Patrick Lanigan in the opening pages of this novel, beginning with his kidnap and torture. Then we learn he is a lawyer who has faked his own death and stolen millions of dollars from his law firm, leaving us asking moral questions about Patrick. Is he a good guy or not?

As the plot unfolds, we learn that Patrick has been clever, hard-working, and resourceful. He has developed a burning desire to leave the Byzantine world of corporate law and politics in America behind and escape to a simpler life, something most people only dream about. Through his own resourcefulness, he has succeeded in escaping to Brazil where he has fallen in love with a beautiful lawyer from Rio who helps him hide the stolen money. Most compelling of all, we discover after his return to Biloxi that Patrick has killed no-one in faking his own death and that the money he stole was defrauded from the U.S. federal government, money he eventually returns. So Patrick at the end stands exonerated and ethically sound, a thoroughly sympathetic character, if a little worse for wear.

His reward is betrayal. The woman he loves and trusts right to the end vanishes with his money, leaving him lost and lonely in a little Brazilian border town. That's just wrong. Mr. Grisham is cynically inviting us to conclude that no-one can be trusted, especially lawyers. This book is only for the hardcore Grisham fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece by John Grisham, May 3 2004
This review is from: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
John Grisham is a synonim ofr most of us of intriguing lawyer stories. This time he won't let you down.
The story of a low profile lawyer who secretly unravels the plot of a fantastic con against the government and decides to steal millions of dollars and pretend to cover his disappearance faking his own death.
Several years later some ruffians discover him in a small town in south Brazil (JG seems to be in love with this country) and from then on the real story begins...
"Will the most trusted person remain loyal despite all those millions at hand???"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I want a refund!, April 30 2004
By 
Patrick Tomcheck "Patkeith" (Culver City, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Partner (Hardcover)
I see that used hardcover versions of this book are being sold for one penny. Save your money! Who wants to read a book without one likable character? Once the story is established, it is a predictable march to the finish line. Oh, I forgot the stupid ironic ending thrown in for good measure. Skip this one and get one of Grisham's better books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, April 12 2004
By 
T. C Gerlach "pootiboo" (Altoona, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first Grisham book I've ever read. The plot is a little unbelievable, but sometimes that's a really good thing in a book. I mean sometimes you just want to read about someone who fakes their own death. I didn't feel that the ending was ever really resolved. But to me that was part of the charm of the novel. But to see how the character gets out of everything and has had everything planned from the start definately takes a little suspension from reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very Weak, Look Elsewhere., March 22 2004
This review is from: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
What an utter disappointment! I have read a few of Grisham's books, usually quite good. Unfortunately this is incredibly poor. Weak, unlikable characters. Shallow uninteresting story. Hands down the worst ending of any book I have read. Look at other Grisham books or move onto Crichton or Dan Brown for a better thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Surprises, Feb. 15 2004
This review is from: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
Patrick Lanigan once was a well-like, well-paid young partner in a flourishing Mississippi law firm, with a pleasurable future ahead of him. Then he did the most unbelievable thing. He faked his death, watched, nearby in a tree, his own burial, then stole ninety million dollars from his own firm and vanished into the night, ran from his life and into a new one, or did he? But after four and a half years of living on the run, with shadows behind him, shadows that he couldn¡t see but only felt, shadows that kept him awake at night, they finally tracked him down. Now he is back home where it all began and where it will all eventually end, as a new story is about to emerge because Patrick knows the truth, something that no one else in the world knows he knows. The truth about money and greed, but perhaps, not enough about it to help him to the end.
The Partner, like many of Grisham¡s other books, are full of surprises and a true page-turner. As the story slowly unravels itself, I find myself unable to put the book down. Continuously throughout the book, it is full of surprises, all the way to the very end with the most startling ending. Though my initial reaction to the ending was disbelief and disappointment, nevertheless, when I thought about it, I found it wasn¡t that bad after all. How many people fake their deaths, steal ninety million dollars, get caught, then freed with thirty million dollars left and still live happily ever after? Sometimes in life, things just don¡t happen the way you expected it to. Sometimes people just aren¡t the way you expected them to be. Especially when it comes to money, large amounts of money, let¡s say, in the millions. Because sometimes, even the most trusted person, the most unexpected person, can¡t protect himself or herself from the seductive desire for more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9e93888)

This product

The Partner
The Partner by John Grisham (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 7 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews