Customer Reviews


800 Reviews
5 star:
 (305)
4 star:
 (262)
3 star:
 (99)
2 star:
 (80)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of a Flawed Legal Genius
A great lawyer is meticulous, calculating, aggressive, relentless, and prepared for anything. John Grisham lovingly shares an intricate plot to provide you with an unforgettable portrait of those qualities in action. In the process, you'll also see a man whose soul is offended by his profession.

Ultimately, this book is about a dream . . . a dream that may be...
Published on May 10 2008 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The ending is simply baffling
A young smart Mississippi lawyer Patrick gets wind of a scam his law partners are involved in and turns the tables on them by absconding with their 90 million dollar financial windfall and then disappearing for four years. But Patrick, aided by his new found love, Eva, is so far ahead of his pursuers that he orchestrates his own recapture in South America.
The book...
Published on Jan. 25 2004 by J. Grattan


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of a Flawed Legal Genius, May 10 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
A great lawyer is meticulous, calculating, aggressive, relentless, and prepared for anything. John Grisham lovingly shares an intricate plot to provide you with an unforgettable portrait of those qualities in action. In the process, you'll also see a man whose soul is offended by his profession.

Ultimately, this book is about a dream . . . a dream that may be more dangerous than an addictive drug. What will you do to capture your dream? That's what you'll be asking yourself after you read The Partner.

The beginning of the book seems like an international espionage thriller. A group of private detectives track down a fugitive to a little town in Brazil near the border with Paraguay. They pounce, and the fugitive is in for his worst nightmare . . . remorseless torture aimed at getting him to tell something he doesn't know.

Soon, an unlikely intervention creates a whole new vector for the story. The fugitive has to face the music from a lot of angry lawyers . . . including his former partners.

Like many legal thrillers, you'll be getting no more information than you need to know to follow the action. Pay attention to the questions that occur to you: Thinking about what might have happened is half the fun of this book.

If you aren't interested in the ins and outs of how lawyers think about criminal issues, you won't like this book as much as I did. I was impressed at how well the legal issues were displayed without being too technical. Remember that lawyers usually spend a lot of time thinking through how the opposing attorney will respond to various probes.

Watch out for the unexpected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Partner by John Grisham, Oct. 26 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner: A Novel (Paperback)
Typical of John Grisham. Excellent story, hard to put the book down. A must read for anyone who enjoys mysteries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Surprises, Feb. 14 2004
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
Patrick Lanigan once was a well-like, well-paid young partner in a flourishing Mississippi law firm, with a pleasurable future ahead of him. Then he did the most unbelievable thing. He faked his death, watched, nearby in a tree, his own burial, then stole ninety million dollars from his own firm and vanished into the night, ran from his life and into a new one, or did he? But after four and a half years of living on the run, with shadows behind him, shadows that he couldn¡t see but only felt, shadows that kept him awake at night, they finally tracked him down. Now he is back home where it all began and where it will all eventually end, as a new story is about to emerge because Patrick knows the truth, something that no one else in the world knows he knows. The truth about money and greed, but perhaps, not enough about it to help him to the end.
The Partner, like many of Grisham¡s other books, are full of surprises and a true page-turner. As the story slowly unravels itself, I find myself unable to put the book down. Continuously throughout the book, it is full of surprises, all the way to the very end with the most startling ending. Though my initial reaction to the ending was disbelief and disappointment, nevertheless, when I thought about it, I found it wasn¡t that bad after all. How many people fake their deaths, steal ninety million dollars, get caught, then freed with thirty million dollars left and still live happily ever after? Sometimes in life, things just don¡t happen the way you expected it to. Sometimes people just aren¡t the way you expected them to be. Especially when it comes to money, large amounts of money, let¡s say, in the millions. Because sometimes, even the most trusted person, the most unexpected person, can¡t protect himself or herself from the seductive desire for more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The ending is simply baffling, Jan. 25 2004
By 
J. Grattan (Lawrenceville, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
A young smart Mississippi lawyer Patrick gets wind of a scam his law partners are involved in and turns the tables on them by absconding with their 90 million dollar financial windfall and then disappearing for four years. But Patrick, aided by his new found love, Eva, is so far ahead of his pursuers that he orchestrates his own recapture in South America.
The book essentially recapitulates Patrick's elaborate planning in undercutting his partners and in faking his own death. Interrogations and interviews by lawyers and law enforcement personnel are the mechanisms for piecing together the story.
The author at times tries to portray Patrick as a victim, but his cocky personality does not support that position. Patrick's ability to be two moves ahead of everyone else borders on the unbelievable, a good example being his certainty that he could be recaptured and beat all charges against him. The book loses tension because it becomes obvious that Patrick is bullet-proof in that he has already thought of every eventuality.
In the end, the author comes close to undermining his entire book with an ending that is simply baffling in the context of all that has transpired. You'll have to read it to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Talky, Jan. 5 2004
By 
Robert E. Olsen (McLean, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
"The Partner," John Grisham's 1997 crime novel about a superlawyer on the lam pitted against his beautiful but shallow wife, his well-connected but shallow former law partners, and the military-industrial-political-financial-legal-insurance-press complex of the entire Western world, is decent beach reading. No more, no less.
Told largely through flat, deposition-style dialogue -- a narrative technique, as old as Richardson, in which characters tell a story simply by relating to each other what happened before the novel began -- the book features a heavily diagrammed (and largely implausible) plot, morally ambiguous characters, swatches of local color (here, the Mississippi Gulf Coast and Brazil), plenty of cynicism about the motives of powerful men, and a final twist that, because of the limited character development, rings false.
Graham Greene's standard of literary criticism was defined by a question: is there anyone in this book you'd care to invite to lunch? I don't think so here. Grisham aficionados may find "The Partner" to die for. For anyone else, save this talky book for a lazy day at the beach. Robert E. Olsen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Run Away!, Nov. 2 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
A Review by Jason
One day a young lawyer from Memphis -Patrick- snaps. He fakes his own death in a car crash and disappears. Six weeks later ninety million dollars disappears from the firms account. The only person that could have taken the money was Patrick. The firm began its journey to find Patrick. It took them through the Brazilian Rainforests, France, and finally to the small Brazilian town of Ponta Pora. There is only one person who knows were the money is not who you think it is...
I like how the book holds you in your seat without wanting to get up to do anything else. It is suspenseful and exciting. John Grisham is a magical writer who makes you "see" the characters in your head. There are so many points of view here, and from many different places in the world. It brings excitement in every page as you race through the Brazilian Rainforests, the small town of Ponta Pora, and the streets of Memphis. It has theft, murder, the law, and the FBI. It has a ear-shattering climax that explodes.
I give this book a four star rating. It has a good plot and is a great story. I would recommend this book to people of all ages and who like to read big novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars u can run but u can't hide, Oct. 10 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
In the book The Partner, the author John Grisham writes " Another scream filled the cabin." This shows the horror and the pain the main character went through. The author's purpose in writing this novel is to grab the reader's attention and keep them in suspense. He does this by giving details on the setting, plot, characters, and language.
This novel is about a lawyer, Patrick Lanigan, who fakes his death so he can steal his firms money. He steals ninety million dollars, he takes the money and runs to Brazil for four years. A bunch of people the firm hired to look for him are trying to catch him. The people final catch Patrick. They take him to a cabin in the middle of nowhere so they can torture him. When the FBI finally get him from the people the firm hired to catch him they keep him in a Puerto Rican military base.
It all starts in Brazil. When the people the firm hired to catch him do, they take him to a cabin where there is no one around for miles. Eventually the feds catch him and take him to military base in Puerto Rico.
There were a variety of characters in the book. All kinds from sneaky characters, Patrick Lanigan, to scared characters, Trudy Lanigan.
The plot is explained by Grisham when Lanigan takes the money from the firm and runs off. He runs to Brazil and tells a lady to take the money and hide it and not to tell him where she has it hidden. When the antagonist finds him they torture him almost to death. The FBI trick the kidnappers into giving them Lanigan, and they torture him.
The language Grisham uses is easy to follow and easy to understand. He uses figurative language and imagery. He writes using a mixture of all kinds of alliterations and allusions. He flows smoothly. He changes scenes in every chapter and sometimes every paragraph.
All these aspect of the novel and author make this fiction novel a great book to read. Grisham keeps the suspense going throughout the book. He keeps his audience on the edge of their seats and forces them to think. This is a great novel it will keep the reader wanting never to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but Patrick needs to grow up...., July 18 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
The partner, so far, has been my least favorite Grisham book. Mostly because I found the hero, Patrick, to be insufferable for two reasons: #1, he's a thief, and #2, he is quite smug.
On Patrick's stealing: I guess, I have difficulty in sympathizing with a hero who steals regardless of whether the money is dirty or not. Patrick did not need the money, he was rich. He could buy whatever he wanted. Frankly, I felt he got what he deserved, when he got caught and tortured by the thugs in Brazil. I mean please, what did he expect them to do when they caught up with him? Give him a group hug?
Second, his attitude. SMUG . Not only is Patrick smug, he's smarter than the police, the FBI, his former attorneys, and everyone else! Patrick manipulates everyone: his girlfriend, the doctor, the judge, his attorney. While these traits are supposed to be 'admirable' and 'intelligent' instead I found them tiresome. Patrick is a user.
While I enjoyed the book, I felt Patrick was very irritating. Maybe with a more sympathetic character, this book would truly shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligently Outstanding!, June 24 2003
By 
Fawaz Shakralla (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
In my opinion, this is the most entiticng Grisham novel I've read. Non stop action that will keep you gripping the book until the last page. Its one of those that keeps getting better chapter-by-chapter!! I've read the book three times!!
The depth of the characters, the intelligent written plot, and how the events unfold is absolutely stunning! It makes you believe that anything is possible in this world.
I learned a great deal from this book, I enjoyed the Patrick Lanigan character so much that I actually took it a step further. I designed and completed a full psychological profile of Patrick Lanigan. In other words, through his behavior in the story, I analyzed his personality traits and characteristics; the decisions he made throughout the story, his approach to problems was very unique. After completing all that, I superimposed his character onto my professional life. Whenever I encountered a difficult decision, I would look at Patrick's Psych Profile and I would say, if I was Patrick Lanigan what decision would I choose! And I am very delighted with the choices I made. In a way, The Partner gave me new insight on decision-making.
I highly recommend this book.
Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, June 16 2003
By 
Robert Leveridge (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Partner (Mass Market Paperback)
Grisham has descended from the rank of sometimes-decent author to that of bland, predictable, and often obnoxious executor of 1000 cliches. The Partner is a quick read, but not because it's innovative or engrossing. Unfortunately, there is nothing here that hasn't been sampled from countless other formula-driven pieces of pop-culture.
The fact that this book was written backward is utterly transparent. Every little plot "twist" is immediately met with a convenient little solution so that we could move swiftly along to the next twist. And as the story unfolds, the writing is unbearably trite and witless, offering identical characters who all speak with unrelenting sarcasm and leaving valuable literary devices such as inference and allegory utterly out of the picture.
I'm sure many have and will enjoy this as a flippant read, but please, please, PLEASE don't call this good writing! It is the literary equivalent of a big, flashy summer movie that entertains us, but is appropriately forgotten in a year's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Partner
The Partner by John Grisham (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 7 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews